We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Kelowna B.C.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed at Embassy Suites only one night on return from a cruise. It was by far the best deal in an area where hotels are expensive. Wonderful facilities for children, many families here. we paid $125 plus 15% tax. Excellent beds with duvets. Grand swimming pools. coffee micro and frig. Big plus is free happy hour with snacks. A very nice breakfast buffet. Gorgeous lobby surreounded by tiers of balconied rooms. Husband had rare treat of option for a smoking room. 3 blocks from a great beach/ 10 minutes from the airport. food is limited a steak house, reasonable $20, and a patio cafe with very limited menu. Other places within 2 blocks. Isla Verde is heavy traffic and impossible to park . For this reason, hotel parking is $16 per day. We did rent a car in earlier visit, (pre cruise) at U save, a local place that delivers to and from airport. an older car but adequate and $25 per day. be sure to have insurance documentation with you or you will pay $10 a day for liability. (this is a foreign country), We were very pleased with this place, only down side was the bath tub which seemed to have survived some trauma.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear borg2:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review in Tripadvisor! We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed our facilities for children and had a great time.

Please stay with us again during your next visit to Puerto Rico!

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    833
    369
    159
    76
See reviews for
976
593
63
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Puerto Rico is near and dear to my heart...we have been at this hotel twice before and have had wonderful experiences. The made to order breakfast is a treat for the kids and a break for me : ) The happy hour is a treat for papa and the kids get to enjoy some snacks as well. The pool area is lovely and the new little kids area is adorable. The location is across from the beach so we enjoyed walking there every day stopping for lunch at times in the shopping mall in between. I would highly recommend this hotel for its reasonable rates and comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a view ; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmgrayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear cmgrayh:

Thank you for staying with us for the third time! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Please let us know how things go during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLYMPIA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We had a enjoyable stay at the Embassy Suites near the airport in San Juan, Puerto Rico (Nov-2011). Room was spacious, clean and nicely appointed, although it may need updating in a year or so. Hotel had good restaurants inside, including a pizza cafe, Outback Steakhouse and El Patio grill (great food). The beach was about three blocks or so away, but easy walk. Grocery store and Walgreens nearby for necessities and snacks. Price was fair for this area, but the free breakfast every morning makes it a good deal (full buffet with short-order pancakes and omelets!).

Room Tip: Upper floors are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSOLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Hello KSOLY:

Thank you so much for your positive comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and our breakfast!!! Please come back soon,

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

this hotel is off the beach, so is really only a good option if you get a good price, so shop around. It's a nice hotel in typical Embassy fashion with the free breakfast and evening happy hour, which can same some buck in pricey San Juan. there are a few other eating option right on site, and it's only a block to the main street with more option. if you walk out the front door, go all the way to beach (2 blocks) and there area couple beach joints that I like for a change of pace and to watch the sea. Rooms were good too. As far as I could tell, they include the resort charge of 14% in the price, as opposed to other higher end hotels that add it. Make sure you are aware of this San Juan practice when pricing out hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSMinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Hello JSMinM:

Thank you so much for posting your review on tripadvisor.com regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed our breakfast and manager's reception and the convenience of our beach services.

I hope you visit us again soon!

Cordially,

Aixa Berrios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, KY
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

I booked this hotel for myself and 2 friends for an overnight, awaiting for a friend to arrive the next day and then we were going to drive to the western part of the island. My 2 friends did not make it that night due to flight delays, so I stayed the night solo. When I booked the reservation, the rate for a single person was $179 and for 3 people $194. When I checked in at the hotel, I advised the agent my 2 friends would not be staying and since it was just me, could the rate be adjusted to the single rate of $179. His reply was "you have the best rate for the night". However, in talking to another hotel employee, the hotel was only 1/4 full!
It is a basic Embassy design with a great atrium, evening reception and breakfast. I did not arrive for the reception, but the breakfast was disappointing. All of the hot food was cold, the toaster's were not working, but the coffee was good. There is a lobby restaurant serving "local" cuisine (go out and get better food at a cheaper price). And there is an Outback Steakhouse that is attached, a great pool area and a very small casino. And because of the casino, your bill is smacked with a resort fee. So for the $194 I was quoted, with tax and the "resort fee", my total was $245 for 1 night, which I believe is a big rip off.
The hotel is one block from Isla Verde avenue where you can get a bus into San Juan and also another 1/2 block to some great Isla Verde beaches.
Check the area out, there are better hotels you can find.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Joseph T:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review.

I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our product and services, your feedback is very important to us.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail or if I can be of assistance in a future stay.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

This was the only hotel I stayed in at San Juan, and the first one at Embassy Suites in a long time, so I don’t have a great point of comparison. I primarily chose it because I was able to use points, and they had a 2 bedroom /2 bathroom suite available (which was essentially just two adjoining rooms, one with a living area and the other not).

It is located about a 5 minute walk to the beach, which was a decent beach – fun waves, wide & long and not too crowded. Beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas included (although chairs were a little old looking and lacked the added padding of the nearby Ritz Carlton). Note that the Embassy Suites portion of the beach enters the shade around 4 (at least in November), although you could move to another area.

Included breakfast was ok. It did include custom-order omelets and pancakes. Was a little chaotic and not replenished that well.

Included Happy Hour is a nice touch, with a few drinks, popcorn, chips/salsa. The margarita was particularly tasty. Some sort of menu would have been helpful, though.

Rooms were standard, but a bit worn (rug coming apart, furniture showing tear), at least room 830. Bathroom was good (loads of counter space), but weird how there was no towel racks, except some small hooks at the back of the door (awkward). The electronic key function on one of the doors also did not work.

Annoyed when had to take $13 taxi from airport (when less than a mile away), but Embassy Suites said they cannot provide a shuttle due to government regulation. Would recommend trying to share taxi with others to not feel like being ripped off.

Also, housekeeping seemed confused. They came into our room early in the morning, sometimes just walking in or knocking but not waiting for an answer before coming in. Even though we requested no service…weird.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear tszabo:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

I shared your comments about the condition of the suite and the suite service with the Housekeeping Director. I also wanted to mention that the hotels in this area are not allowed to provide shuttle service to or from the airport.

We really appreciate your feedback, we are continuously working to improve our operations and service.

I hope you visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights over Thanksgiving week. Everyone was very friendly. Great location to beach...only 1 block away. We felt very safe walking around with our 7 & 9 year olds. Concierge was very knowledgable. We ended up taking the bus to Old San Juan for a total of $3, which saved us a $20 taxi ride. The bus was easy, but was about a 45 minute ride, so we took a cab home, which was a much faster 20 minute ride. Breakfast buffet was excellent, just as they all are at Embassy Suites. For a holiday week, the lines were sometimes longer, but nothing that was unbearable. The kids loved the pool and the hotel was very clean. Even though the airport is only 5 minutes away, we never heard the planes at night. We only heard them while sitting at the pool. In the lobby is a phone that goes directly to a rental car company and that's what we used to go to El Yunque. The rental company (VIAS) picked us up at the hotel within 5 minutes at no extra charge, althought it was only about 1/4 mile away so we could have walked. They were very inexpensive and driving in Puerto Rico was no problem at all (just like driving in the US). Embassy Suites gave us great directions to El Yunque. I would recommend avoiding rush hour though. The hotel was very easy to get to the expressway to go to El Yunque.

If you've never stayed at an Embassy Suites, it has 2 rooms with 2 TVs, microwave, fridge. This is nice in the evening when winding down because the kids can be in one room watching kids shows while adults are in the other room watching our shows. Great place to stay and would do it again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler11196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Hello traveler11196:

What a wonderful review! We are glad that you had such a great experience during your recent stay with us.

Please come back soon!

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,677 reviews
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The newly renovated hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing