We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out for the surcharge!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watch out for the surcharge!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

2 December 2007
I spent three nights in this hotel in early November, 2007. I travel a great deal, several months a year. In my experience this hotel is marginally satisfactory but uninspiring. The room size is a bit cramped but adequate. The decor is rather tired and the furnishings eclectic. The personnel do their jobs - but they do not go much beyond that.

The most annoying aspect of this hotel is the 9% surcharge that is imposed on your bill. You are not advised of this surcharge until you arrive at the hotel. When you sign in, you must also sign a statement accepting this charge. At best, the hotel can be accused of false advertising. At worst it is a form of extortion since your only alternative is to take your bags and look for another hotel. The hotel states that the surcharge is to cover local phone calls and web access. I do not use the phone since I have a cell. As for web access, at most hotels it is free or charged at a rate that is considerably less than the cost of the surcharge. (Incidentally, the connection speed is quite slow.) The hotel, although located near the airport, does not even provide shuttle service!

Considering these factors and the relatively high room rates and remote location, you would do better looking elsewhere.

  • Disliked — Surcharge on the bill.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    833
    369
    159
    76
See reviews for
976
593
63
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

We just returned from spending the Thanksgiving holiday week at the Embassy Suites. There were three adults and three children traveling in our party so we booked a two bedroom suite. Once we arrived, our check-in was very smooth. Everything was in order and ready without delay.

Our rooms were actually a king suite with an adjoining room with two double beds. We had two bathrooms and three TV's! The rooms were very clean. The only reason I did not give the hotel five stars was that the rooms could use a new coat of paint.

We loved the huge breakfast every morning. My teenager also loved the virgin pina coladas every night and we enjoyed the adult ones! The pool was great but the water was a little cool. The kids didn't mind and swam every day. It is a beautiful free form pool surrounded by palm trees.

We never heard the planes at night and slept wonderfully. the beds were comfortable and many extra pillows were provided.

We ate in the Outback twice and once at the bar. We played in the casino which is a bit on the small side but full of nickel slots.

We also ate at the Mi Casitas restaurant and had a great meal. It is in walking distance, only two blocks. We walked to the beach which is also two blocks and had a lovely day on Thanksgiving. We thought this beach was better than the Carolina Park Beach.

We drove to Old San Juan twice without any problems and drove to the rain forest.

The staff at the Embassy was very helpful. The breakfast chef made pancakes for us even though they weren't serving them that day. The front desk clerk made us copies of various restaurant Thanksgiving Day menus in the area. Maintenance came up right away when we had a problem the first night and fixed it.

Great hotel, Great staff!

  • Liked — Great manager's reception and large rooms
  • Disliked — Bar food
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cla3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

My husband stays here on business and we decided to join him this time for a little "get away". Although we would have liked to have beach front, this was great. The morning buffet and afternoon manager's reception were great for us as we hung out awaiting my husband's return from work. The kids loved the frozen virgin pina coladas, and we all loved relaxing by the beautiful pool. John at the Waterfall's Restaurant, and Victor at the Outback, both located inside the hotel, were wonderful. They offered so much info about where to go and what to see....as we wanted not only "touristy" things, but also to enjoy local things. An Embassy staff member gave us information about visiting the bio bay...which was a big help. Our suite was clean and comfy....as much as we loved the made-to-order omelets, it was hard to get out of the comfortable beds each morning. We had a view of the pool from our suite, which was beautiful at night.

It is close to the airport, which was convenient. The planes coming in were actually incredible to see. We had a late check-out because my husband had to work that day, and they were very kind about extending our suite availability. We headed off for one last drive to Old San Juan to visit the fort, and they kept our bags for us until we headed to the airport that night.

We felt very comfortable there, and yes, we would stay again as a family. If you want great food...(other than the delicious meals at the Waterfall's and the Outback), walk down the block to Mi Casita's and try a mofongo.

  • Liked — comfortable, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — not beach front
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank teachertooPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

You get a lot for your money with the included buffet breakfast and managers welcome drinks (2 hrs of free cocktails) every day. The pool is nice and quite large with on site hot tub open between 7am and 10pm. Their are many amenities here, such as a fitness centre, free wireless internet and a small laundry (small daily charge applied). This is a suites hotel, so there are 2 rooms to the suite and includes
a fridge and microwave for storing and heating some basic food, great if you have kids !

Hotel is 2 blocks from the beach, on the Atlantic coast side of the island, which produced some fun waves to play in. Staff were professional and very friendly and eager to help.

Also if you go, make sure you check out the Barcadi factory tour. It's
free to go in and you get some free samples, but it costs you to get out there, but fun all the same !

  • Liked — The included breakfast and managers reception
  • Disliked — Paying for the parking, but that seems common as space is at a premium
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank miar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2007

I read a lot of good reviews about the Embassy and decided to risk it after reading that construction was going on at the El San Juan. Room 416 which we were assigned was a very pleasant surprise. We did not expect a suite with two televisions. Everything was impeccable, the staff helpful and courteous. We checked in on Oct. 20 thru 23, and the details were those we expect from the high end hotels. A newspaper at the door on weekdays, shower heads with several options, the huge array of choices at complimentary breakfast. I had expected something akin to a Continental breakfast. I was blown away by the breakfast choices and small details like a cherry on the plate when the omlette was returned by the cook. The hotel is in an enclave so we walked out to the main street, Ave Isla Verde, and right across the street was the A5 bus to Old San Juan. We still patronized the casino at the El San Juan which is 5 mins away because it is bigger than the casino at the Embassy. My husband said it best, "on a scale of 1 to 5, I give them a 10."

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank kimbaetiquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

Hubby, myself and another couple stayed here from Oct 3 - Oct 8. The rooms were very nice - suites- with a separate living room area. Very confortable beds, roomy bathroom and accomodating service. The pool area was enjoyable, free internet access, nice bar / lounge area and the lobby was tropical with an open atrium & lots of foliage. Free full breakfast available, including ready to order omelettes / eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, bagels, toast, cereals, oatmeal / farina, coffee, juices, etc, etc. More than enough to start the day. Free evening reception which amounted to free drinks for guests from 5:30pm - 7pm. Two blocks walking distance from the beach and other restaurants & hotels. We enjoy walking and after a full dinner, welcomed the opportunity to stroll along Isla Verde Blvd to visit other hotels. We went to two local restaurants: Barrachina & Mi Casita. Both were within walking distance and very flavorful - check them out! Also, we asked them for a recommendation for a local bakery. They gave us directions to Espana Bakery on Calle Marginal Villamar. This bakery is awesome! Only 5 minute drive from the hotel and they had everything from pastries to sandwiches to quiches to hot meals and even liquor. Delicious! We went there the day we were leaving and picked up sandwiches to eat on the airplane. The other passengers were jealous!
Down sides - they do not have an airport shuttle. The front desk said that they are not allowed to have it??? Small casino - okay for a novice, but not sure if real players would be satisfied. Daily parking fee for guests ($10 / day). You would think they wouldn't charge guests for parking. An added hotel fee of 9% (or something like that). They attribute this to providing free internet access, free local phone service and other services. Just be aware of this. Not sure if other hotels have started charging the same "fee", but the Embassy does. Regardless, we got a great package deal through Orbitz.
Over all, service was great. We enjoyed it, and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location & Accomodations
  • Disliked — Hotel "fee" & Parking fees
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Steffie326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

My husband and I just returned from five days at the Embassy Suites. Service was great. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location, not far from the strip if you are interested in having easy access to night life, as well as local resturants.
It is cost effective to rent a car. It will pay for itself, by saving you from taxi trips which can cost up to $15.00/per person, as well as from tours which can cost $25.00/pp and up.
The complimentary made to order breakfast was great as well as the manager's cocktail hour every evening. They made any drink you requested.
Although there was a casino in the hotel, we did not hear the noise, which is great. The facilities were always clean, and staff was good. There is an outback in the restuarant for convenience. Try Mi Casita, Barrachina and Yuqi's. These are all great local restuarants.

  • Liked — The location - within walking distance of the strip
  • Disliked — Not on the beach
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank reneet39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,675 reviews
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The newly renovated hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing