We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the Intercontinental San Juan in Isla Verde from February 6-February 9, 2014 and I had a blast! My husband and I had room #1108 and it was a deluxe Ocean View Room. The amenities included:

Complimentary in-room coffee and tea service* Chaise lounges and towels at pool and beach* Use of oceanfront spa and health club fitness center * Complimentary wireless internet service in rooms*

The resort is beautiful and it is located on the strip so you can easily walk to other resorts/casinos and local restaurants. The staff are knowledgeable and the pool area is a great place to enjoy the day. The beach is beautiful and the resort has an open air cafe with waitstaff so that you can order drinks and food. The beach is great for people watching, running or having a stroll.

Location, Location, Location

-Across the street you will find a mini mart that sells liquor,snacks etc. Because of the resorts prime location if you have a late night craving Pizza Hut or Starbuck's you are in luck. There is even a great place called Bajuice that serves up great fresh pressed juices, smoothies and a wonderful daily menu. The resort is also a 5-10 minute drive to the airport allowing for you to begin your vacation as soon as you get off the plane!

Safety:
-I felt completely safe walking on the strip at night and during the day.

Family Atmosphere:

Although this trip was just my husband and I the resort is a great place for families or even a girls weekend getaway.

Cons:

*check-in time (4pm). Unfortunately, we did not check in until almost 6pm because the room was not finished. The bell staff were very accommodating (and friendly) with my husband and I when we had to keep getting items out of our luggage bags.

*resort fee (which we didn't mind because it was included in our package, but it maybe a con for some travelers)

San Juan is a beautiful place and I thoroughly enjoyed my time at this resort. I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Safe and Happy Travels,

Sevilla0787

Room Tip: Make sure to get rooms in the higher floors to enjoy the beautiful views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sevilla0787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. But, most importantly, we would like to apologize for the delay in giving you your room. Your comments concern us deeply and please rest assured that corrective actions will be taken.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,301 - 2,307 of 2,703 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here October 2013, 3 days prior to cruise and 2 days after cruise. Hotel was under renovation but this did not interfere with our stay. The rooms we had were both newly furnished and were beautiful. The bed was so so comfortable. Breakfast was very good taken outside. Used the gym few times which was very good. Beach was lovely and clean and plenty of beds and umbrellas. Staff were great. Had a wonderful stay. Pool area very nice. Could not fault hotel at all

Room Tip: We stayed 10th floor facing inland and 7th floor sea view both fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zookoo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are glad to see that your stay was to your entire satisfaction and that you enjoyed our rooms, facilities and Service levels. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to the Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I'll start with good things. Location (close to airport, Old San Juan, Farjado is a bit far), pool area, breakfast, rooms, room service, small shop, tour desk, spa. Beach is good, but don't expect crystal clear water. Not good things are: laundry service (we got stuff back in 1,5d); beds are so soft and so uncomfortable. The biggest issue for us was... There is no was you can get your stuff dry. No ventilation in the bathroom, it is not allowed to put things on the balcony, which is normal, but this is the only place where you can dry stuff. They should think of proper utilities for that. Of course people keep putting things on balcony, and hotel staff are calling right away and every single minute. Ok, provide the solution then. All leather pieces change the shape, that's how high humidity is. In general we enjoyed our stay. But next time we will try to find another hotel. Possibly we will go back to this one.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We are glad to read that you liked our location, facilities and the food and beverage Service. Nevertheless, we have noticed that not having where to dry your clothes impacted your experience negatively. Please note that we have a clothes line inside the bathroom and we apologize if you were not provided with this information at the appropriate time. Your comments to this respect have been share with our team which always welcomes suggestions for improvement.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was my first time in Puerto Rico and i must say that i loved every minute of it !! The hotel grounds are so beautiful and flawless. The service was excellent and everyone was so sweet and warming. Jaders the bartender was one of the best bartenders I've ever Experienced. Pedro , Monica and Mara made us feel so welcomed and comfortable like we have been friends for years! Excellent service throughout the entire hotel staff. Looking forward to booking with you again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theresa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your great review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed the Service delivered by our Akua Bar staff and that your stay with us was a great one! We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

went to this hotel for a long weekend in early May 2014 to celebrate my birthday. mentioned my birthday at check-in hoping for a upgrade but "nothing was available" - however, that evening i received a surprise knock at the door with a slice of delicious chocolate cake from room service.

all employees were VERY friendly and accomodating - with the exception of one bartender at the pool bar, he wasnt my favorite person.

our room was not available when we arrived (noon) but we were given access to the pool/beach area with a promise of a phone call when we could finish check-in...got a call around 3pm that the room was ready.

pool and surrounding area was very clean, tons of places to sit - both in the sun and under umbrellas. beach area was great - not too big, not too small; very clean; chairs are free and umbrellas are $10 for the day... but there are shaded areas in the back if you wanted to avoid the sun.

drinks at all the bars are pricey - but that was expected...

there are some places to eat in walking distance; there's a walgreens close by as well if you forgot anything or need some snacks/drinks for the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kv_and_sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you found our staff friendly and accommodating. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Puerto Rico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I just recently returned from my San Juan vacation and I must say the hotel exceeded all of my expectations. I have been to San Juan multiple times in the past but never visited this particular hotel. Although it is a little far from Old San Juan and Condado, it was well worth the stay.Transportation is easily accessible so it makes going into the town effortless. The bellmen were so attentive and very knowledgeable. The grounds are breathtaking with one of the best ambiances in town. The pool and beach are flawless with impeccable service. The staff at the Akuah bar are so attentive and friendly which made us feel right at home. They made us feel so comfortable you would have thought we had known them for years!! Jaders, the bartender, is exceptional. Not only does he make the best drinks in town, but he's very welcoming, attentive, and had such an amiable personality. Pedro, also at Akuah bar, was a delight. He has such a great personality and always made sure we being taken care of. Monica and Mara were also a pleasure to be around. They were always smiling and were so easy to talk to. Everyone was also very knowledgeable when it came to restaurants, nightlife, etc. Overall, the hotel was beautiful but the staff really made our trip. Of all the hotels I have stayed at in San Juan, this one was, by far, my favorite. To say the least, I couldn't have asked for a better vacation!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for staying at the InterContinental San Juan and for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to know that we exceded your expectations and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The moment I stepped into the spa I started to feel relaxed. The receptionist Kenia welcomed me with a great smile and showed me around the spa. Maria was also very helpful and attentive to everything I needed from fruits to towels. She was very kind. Gloria was my massage therapist and she was awesome. She has great hands and was able to remove all of the stress I had. I had a great time at the spa deffinetely recommended to relax and being treated by a great staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiquinquina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you very much for such a great review about our Spa. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your massage but, most importantly, our service levels. Thank you for recognizing María, Kenia and Gloria. Please rest assured that your positive comments will be shared with them and all our team. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Spa and our Hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.1 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $173 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing