We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have nothing but praise for all the employees in this particular hotel. We stayed for couple nights in March, and we felt at home the whole time.

Check in was quick and friendly. Odalya (I think that's how it's spelled) gave us a lot of additional information not only about the hotel and its restaurants but also couple places worth seeing around the hotel.

Rooms are very spacious, our view from the 15th floor was amazing. Get up for sunrise if you, and you won't regret it. Room was very nicely cleaned every day. We even received little cheese platter and bottle of wine as a courtesy of the GM. Very nice touch.

Pool area is beautiful. Pool is large enough to swim a little bit, there is a jacuzzi for those of us who feel lazy on vacations. Bar serves really good drinks, I liked the melon margarita a lot. Bartenders and all staff is very friendly as you would expect.

For breakfast you have few different options. One day we went for a buffet at $27 per person. Great selection of hot and cold items, fresh fruit, juices, cereals, you name it. Service was very good as well. William was very friendly and helpful at all times.

Another option for breakfast is a little store inside the lobby called Bodeguita. They actually sell breakfast items during the day and then it turns into little wine bar in the evening. Ariana made our morning by being very pleasant and helpful.

And finally, big thank you to the concierge, Nestor. He was able to recommend the best places to visit not only in San Juan, but also in the towns around.

Location is also very convenient, just minutes from the airport (we could actually see the Intercontinental logo from the airplane when we were landing). If you drive, you can get to Old San Juan in a few minutes on a highway.

Overall, we had amazing time in San Juan.

Room Tip: Have breakfast in La Bodeguita, I think it's better value than the buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent visit and for taking the time to share your words of appreciation. We are humbled to have received such thoughtful comments and we all look forward to the privilege of serving you on a return trip to this fabulous Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    745
    256
    117
    81
See reviews for
655
889
69
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We recently returned from a stay at the InterContinental and loved our stay. It's clean, everyone is friendly, the bellmen are TOPS! very knowledgable .. The pool / deck is great .. lovely beach .. and there are some stores across the way so you pick up snacks. Easy to grab a cab from there .. nice running routes .. In short, we're going back. Upstate Traveler

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ethicschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for staying at the InterContinental San Juan and for taking the time to review your experience with us.

We truly appreciate that you have shared your feedback with us and we are happy to read that your stay was to your entire satisfaction. As costumer service professionals it is very important to know what our guests think about us.

Thank you again for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed at the InterContinental in San Juan Puerto Rico and I have to say that my stay was flawless. From the rooms to the breakfast and everything in between. The hotel was kept in pristine condition. From the front entrance to the beach. But this does not even compare to the staff. I was always greeted with smiles. I was always taken care of. I'd like to mention Warlis Rodriguez, definetly a stand out. Even taught me how to say hello in multiple languages. I couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback about our facilities and our staff. We are delighted to read that you really had a great time at our property and that our staff, especially Warlis, exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for your valuable comments and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our stay at Intercontinental was great, the room were very clean and comfortable the service was Excellent. They have a doorman by the name of William he made our trip wonderful, he was very helpful in recommending place for us to go and things for us to do. William made us feel at home over all his hospitality was Excellent . If you want to know where to go and what to do just ask for William he's the man that will guide you in the right direction

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tee407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for recognizing William! We are fortunate to have him on our team and please rest assured that your comments will be shared with him. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Staying at the Intercontinental was a great experience. The hotel is in the middle of Isla Verde and has beautifully maintained grounds and a lovely beach. The room was large and renovated and we had a beautiful view of the ocean from the 12th floor. I definitely recommend splurging for an ocean front room if possible. Within 30 minutes of arriving at the airport, we were at the hotel, checked in, and at the beach restaurant having lunch and a pina colada.

The coffee shop on the first floor is very convenient, especially if you are heading out early for a tour. I would also recommend Happy Hour at Ruth Chris's steakhouse (located in the hotel) for the happy hour at 5:30 - 7:00 where you can get discounted drinks and appetizers.

The people at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. They definitely made us feel welcome and added to the great experience - special thanks to William (bellman) and Jesus (barista at the coffee shop), you guys are awesome!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor, ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShirlsD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for recognizing William and Jesus! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our service levels and we hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a very good hotel, attractive surrounds and great landscaping of the grounds and in the pool areas with direct access onto a really nice clean beach. Very suitable for families and the old town of San Juan is only a fairly short taxi ride with taxis located on a rank right outside the hotel

We stayed for 6 days and thoroughly enjoyed the whole time. Our room had had a great view over the grounds and the ocean, was very comfortably furnished and quiet in the evenings. The staff were very friendly and courteous, attended to all requests immediately and, basically nothing was too much trouble for them. Checking in and out was quick and efficient

Breakfast can be either buffet or a la carte, the buffet has a range of dishes both hot and cold with cereals, fresh fruits, juices etc. There are several restaurants in the hotel itself and
immediately adjacent offering a very good variety of meals. We did not use the casino.

The hotel is very attractively arranged with an attractive lobby and adjacent areas all resulting in a very pleasant atmosphere. Definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank your for writing a review about your last stay with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments about our location and facilities. We are happy to know that you liked our property and we look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to the Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I spent 2 days/nights at this hotel and highly suggest anyone visiting San Juan to stay at the Intercontinental. The entire staff from the bell hops to the valet to the front desk were beyond friendly and professional. I felt like a VIP the entire time and was amazed by how warmly I was treated. Two thumbs up and they have a guest for life in me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the InterContinental San Juan! We are glad to read that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our service levels. We greatly appreciate your positive comments about our staff and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
4.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.2 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
3.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Property: InterContinental San Juan
Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing