We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental San Juan
Nearby Hotels
$334
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coral by the Sea(Isla Verde)
$96
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$250
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
ESJ Azul(Isla Verde)
$167
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Verdanza Hotel(Isla Verde)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,857)
Filter reviews
2,857 results
Traveler rating
1,512
838
282
128
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,512
838
282
128
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnestor colonsan juanpool arearuth chrisswim up barmini barocean viewclub roomfood and drinksan umbrellagreat poolclose to the airportbeautiful propertybeach accessthe entire staffmi casitalocal restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,544 - 2,549 of 2,857 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just got back from a glorious six days with my daughter. From the moment you arrive, the bell hops, the front desk.. Everyone is friendly, helpful.. The hotel is SPECTACULAR.. Conrad, the concierge, can't help you enough. Definately ask him for dining advice, and he will even make the reservations! Relax by the Akua Bar with the two best bartenders Pedro and Ded. The beach is amazing. Umbrella is 10 $ but a necessity and Ephran will bring it to you with a smile! Can't wait to come back!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Nickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your great review! We are happy to read that you had a wonderful time at our property and that the service delivered by our staff exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Vacationed from Mar 14-19

Hotel: Everyone really is friendly and has a smile on their face when they talk to you. We got upgraded to an ocean view (even numbered rooms get the view). Like many have said, the higher the floor, the better. There is a balcony, but no chairs or tables to sit outside. My only complaint about the rooms is how low the ceiling was in the bathroom. Someone over 6'0 probably wouldn't shower comfortably in the tub. Other than that, I thought the rooms were pleasant and just fine for me. I came to PR to be on the beach, not sit in my hotel room all day. For the size of the hotel, there are only 3 elevators so be prepared to wait a while sometimes.

Restaurants: Trattoria Italiana in the hotel was excellent but the service was extremely slow considering there were maybe 7 other people dining in the restaurant. It is also on the pricier side. Poolside cafe also had really slow service and the menu is not as large as the beachside cafe. The beachside cafe is quicker but both just had your average burgers, pizzas, salads, etc.

Beach: The beach was nice, but for most of our time there, there was a LOT of seaweed in the water and on the shore. I mean its out of anyone's control, but hotel employees and locals have noted that it was never like that before. They do charge $10 for an umbrella which was a little bit of a surprise and unavoidable considering how hot it got.

Car rental: I probably would not reccomend renting a car out here. Driving is quite aggressive and roads/signs are not clear. Taxi cabs can take you for a flat rate around this area between $10-12 according to what concierge told us. Taxi to airport was $15. If you do decide to rent a car, keep in mind that parking for the Intercontinental per night is $20 for self park and $25 for valet. We ended up returning our car early because we didn't find much use of it (and it was expensive!)

Overall it is a relatively good hotel, and if we were to return to PR, we would certainly come back to the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and that you liked the service provided by our staff.

We greatly appreciate that you have shared with us your concerns about the bathrooms and the service at our restaurant. Please rest assured that your comments were shared with our team in order to improve the experience we deliver to our guests.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay. Our group of 20 went down for a short conference and the staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The service from all staff was sincere and helpful. All the food was delicious. Thank you so much Rosa, Willie and Ney you made our event a success and we can't wait to see you again next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms were a good size but the ocean view is worth waking up to in the morning
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for giving us the opportunity to host your event. We value your patronage and certainly hope to host you again so that we may continue to amaze you with our unmatched service standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Enjoyed my stay. Room with ocean view. Ultimate relaxation. Beds comfortable, no outside noise. bathrooms just standard. Loved location. Ruth Chris happy hour - great food/ small bar. Pool lovely, beach fantastic with calm waters. Lobby Bar nice place to hang out late night. Hotel is a little quiet in comparison to one next door. but I enjoyed the tranquil environment -- you can always walk for party and food outside the hotel! Would definitely go back. Gave it a 4 due to bathroom.

Room Tip: OCEAN VIEW is the way to go!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Applebee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We are happy to read that you found our location convenient and that you enjoyed our pool area. We greatly appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

As a resort you should train your staff to be more attentive to the guests needs and not act with an attitude or like a robot behind the front desk.
My first impression was: what a nice hotel!
After talking to Odalys I don't think I will return.
There is no charisma, friendliness or even a remote chance of a real smile from someone that says they will help you.
It's a great location and great area!
I could deal with the room prices and expensive drinks, but when it come to "one on one" with the staff is all down the drain.
Train your staff to accept the tourist and truly thank them for bringing their business to your hotel.
A men wearing a grey suit by the pool area (which I think is some sort of boos to the pool or restaurant staff ) he should at least wear a smile and not an attitude face like he's not happy being there.
Being friendly come from the heart and you cannot fake it.
Hose keeping have a real sense of what it is to be friendly and should work behind the desk and the other staff should clean the rooms.
Try that: "learn from house keeping" they are really there to help, unlike the others, unhappy and with an attitude problem.

Stayed: February 2014
4  Thank Praia2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Tahnk you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience at our property. We are very dissapointed to learn that your stay was not to your entire satisfaction and that you faced some challenges with the service delivered. Please rest assured that corrective action will be taken.

We are disappointed to read that your expectations were not met. Earning each and every guest’s future loyalty by providing them with unmatched accommodations and service is of paramount importance to the InterContinental San Juan, therefore, if there is anything we can do to earn your loyalty please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly at icsanjuan@ihg.com.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews