We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Appointments, Great Staff and Beachside Location Make This a Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Appointments, Great Staff and Beachside Location Make This a Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The warm staff at this beautiful hotel tip the scales of classy accommodations. The hotel is nicely appointed with beachside bar, swim up pool bar and grill, breakfast buffet and wonderful full service restaurants. Every detail is taken into account, you will frequently see housekeeping polishing and cleaning every meticulous nook. The pool is magnificent and you can rest peacefully on the beach. Their beach staff is great, fluffing beach chairs, raising umbrellas all while providing a watchful eye for your belongings. Rooms are spacious and frequently have balconies, adding to your enjoyment and appreciation of the view. I would highly recommend your stay at the Intercontinental San Juan.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheBurrowsFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are happy to see that your stay with us was a successful one and that you would recommend our property. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    745
    256
    117
    81
See reviews for
655
889
69
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

After having visited this hotel twice in the past 3 months I realize it is the people that make this affordable hotel a great place to stay. From the moment you get there the valet's, door man, and check in are ensuring that your stay is pleasurable. As you make your way through your days, each bar, restaurant, and even the gift shop employees are pleasant and greet you with a smile and conversation that revolves around how they can better serve you. Love this place! Look for William at the Front Door, he took excellent care of us twice now :)

Room Tip: Ocean View is worth the little bit of extra you pay, plus it's a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for such a great review! We are happy to know that you love our hotel and that you really enjoyed the service delivered by our staff! Thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have been visiting PR for the past 5 years, our numbers grow every year! We have always chosen the Intercontinental for the close proximity to the airport, the beach (some other areas/beaches are REALLY rough...and tough to swim....many have "red flag" days, indicating the surf is very dangerous). The pool area is beautiful and none of the nonsense of not having access to a beach / pool chair! The swim up bar area restaurant is the BEST! Great bartenders, and the food is reasonable and very good. We joined the Ambassador Club to take advantage of all that has to offer (4pm checkout, automatic room upgrade, and free weekend night when you stay more than 3? days). With that membership, you can check in with the Concierge (Nestor), and he takes care of everything! My only negative comment would be about the lobby bar. The hotel invested a lot of money to renovate the lobby (it is beautiful), unfortunately, that bar staff...has consistently been irritating. I avoided it in the past...and was happy to see the new bar /lobby...unfortunately that crew is still the same.....dismissive, slow, attitude-a-plenty...and they don't even make a good cocktail. I kept giving them the benefit of the doubt....(hey, it's vacation.....), but at some point....the service is THAT poor that enough is enough (shared by most guests....) Avoid that bar...(the rest are awesome....makes no sense, right??), and your vacation will be first-class!

Room Tip: HIgher floors have the better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the service delivered by our concierge and our bartenders at the pool bar. Please rest assured that your positive comments were shared with them and that you concerns regarding the service provided at the lobby bar will be addressed by our management team in order to make your next stay with us even greater.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here in in 2006 (awhile back but Trip Advisor won't let me go that far back) and have to say it was first class. We were upgraded to a beachfront view when we checked in, the staff was very professional and the premises were impeccable and felt very safe. The pool was super nice, (with a swim up bar!) and at every turn, there was a staff member looking to assist with any needs. I would love to stay here again, and after my last stay in Playa Isla Verde at the ESJ towers I would spend the extra $$ to ensure my trip was good by staying at the Intercontinental. My wife and I had a wonderful time. The beach was clean and secure, plenty of chaise lounges supplied by the hotel, towels whenever needed and we rented jet skis and had a great time. Have to recommend some super SPF sun protection, as PR is so close to the equator it doesn't take any time to sunburn at the beach. We walked down the beach at night, but I wouldn't recommend walking too far to the left along the beach at night as we were approached by a couple guys that made my spidey senses tingle and put me on guard. No issue, but I felt we were sized up. Also I rented a mountainbike and rode down the left side of the beach into the city and wound up in the barrio before too long. Stay in the tourist zone.....I've travelled all over PR, but the outskirts of the tourist zone was the only area I felt like perhaps I was out of place. (sort of like stepping one street off bourbon street in NOLA but actually not nearly as dangerous, from experience.) I can't wait to stay here again.
We ate at Ruth's Chris in the hotel and it was memorable. Expensive, but definitely something to look forward to again. LOVE the InterContinental. Treat yourself!

Room Tip: Go for the beach side of he hotel and eat at Mia Casita restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Best fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for such a great review! We are glad to hear from satisfied guests like you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Although we had stayed in this hotel for many years, we had not been there since 2012. We found the hotel to have done some major upgrades including the rooms, the exterior and the new bar which is part of the lobby and part of the terrace.
The gentlemen attending to our room, whose name is Hilton, surprised us each day with towel sculptures which were very clever. It was an added treat for us.
The entire staff of this hotel is friendly, courteous and very helpful. We enjoyed every moment.

Room Tip: We prefer the water view with a room high enough to see the ocean when one enters the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy1702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about our staff and our enhancements to the property. We are glad that you liked it and that you enjoyed our service levels.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and spectacular inside. The grounds are even more fantastic in person. My primary complaint is the slowness of the service... they are island time so keep that in mind...The food at the beach cafe at first was surprisingly high.... until you saw the size of the plate.... and delicious! The drinks are cheaper than at the swim up bar... I recommend the Mango Sunrise highly.

We requested the highest floor possible due to the other reviews advise but only got to the 7th... definitely not high enough to escape the loudness of the outside bar... Even so, I'm not sure it would have mattered since the other hotels around were apparently louder since they competed with the bar below... No hope of sleeping to the soothing sounds of the ocean since even with the patio door closed, the party was still almost in our room... or even hearing the ocean except between 4 and 8 AM which we did.

The Italian restaurant is disappointing... Ruth Chris's was fantastic! When we weren't trying to sleep the atmosphere was wonderful.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can to escape the bar... the 7th floor wasn't high enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purchgdss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to know that in overall you had a great stay. However we noticed that your expectations were not met completly and that there are áreas of imrpovement. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us and please rest assured that we have taken special not of theme in order to take corrective actions so we can make your next stay with us even better. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

A gorgeous hotel in a lovely beach side location. All the staff went out of their way to offer exceptional and very friendly service. We have stayed here on three separate occasions and have never been anything other than very pleased with our stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JJBParkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are happy to know that your three stays at our property have been to your entire satisfaction. Thank you for being a loyal Guest and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
4.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.2 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
3.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Property: InterContinental San Juan
Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing