We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, snobby front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel charged me $40 over and above what Priceline did. Front desk was very snotty, wanted $40 more for beach front room across hall. Same room and they weren't even close to being full. Overall, bad experience. Food was just average. For an expensive, higher end hotel, I could have been staying at a Howard Johnson's.

Room Tip: The rooms are nothing special, the price sure is, not worth the money at all. Too many extra's...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carli w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear carli w,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review of your stay. We regret to see the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do take all of the feedback we receive from our guests very seriously to help identify areas where improvements could be made. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your candid feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,696)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,509 - 2,515 of 2,698 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

We went to PR for work and have stayed at this same hotel now 4 times in 14 years. The attitude of the InterContinental staff we found just terrific from start to finish. The greeting and all experiences at the main door circle by James & Ray were wonderful,knowing & efficient including helping sort out work transportation ahead of time for us. The hotel has a fresh feeling to it all. With an Italian restaurant also serving breakfast that we enjoyed daily(great omlets on request) as well as 1 night for dinner and pool side too. The pool bartender Joey makes the best mojiotos-ever. All you need is right there with other eating options within walking distance or an easy cab ride. The beach is great with good waves for body surfing and the pool area has multiple options all good. Came back to find a cute monkey smiling made of towels done by our excellent chamber maid-Yanilisa. What more could be asked? They made it feel like a vacation instead of a work trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbySailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Had a great time. Food and drinks pricey but it is San Juan. The most expensive city in the Caribbean. Staff could not have been nicer, beach clean, rooms clean. Room attendant, Hilton, went out of his way to may our stay comfortable. To bad we can't take him home!! Just like a cruise, Hilton made different ,Towel Animals' every day. Can't wait to see what will be tomorrow.
Food may be pricey but large portions and tasty. If you want a microwave in your room stay at Motel 6! Yes the bathroom was small but it is a bathroom you don't have to sleep in it or share it everyone on your floor. Plenty of towels and if you need more just ask. Bathrooms are there for things you need to do in the bathroom, not intended to hold wedding receptions.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I was traveling on business and we only stayed one night but it was a great experience. A gorgeous pool area and private area on the public beach are definitely highlights. The room was nice with a comfortable bed, large TV and updated bathroom. I only wish we'd had more time here to take advantage of the amenities. Hopefully I can come back and stay longer next time.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank hamletfan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over MLK weekend and had a great experience.

The entire staff from front desk to valet to wait staff was super friendly and accomodating.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The balcony overlooking the pool and ocean was incredible.

We ate at the beach side restaurant twice and while it was a bit pricey, considering the location, we were very happy with it.

The pool and hot tub were awesome as were the drinks at the pool bar.

We loved our stay and were sad to checkout. We strongly recommend the intercontinental san juan.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Johntraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed at a couple place in San Juan, and this hotel was just average. The nightly rate was just too much. Ok the lobby was grand, but when we got to the room, we were so underwhlemed. No microwave! The mini-fridge was old and needed an upgrade (rust throughout). The bathroom was somewhat small and the room just didnt do it for me. We stayed on the 8th floor, so our view was decent. There were some environmental factors that blocked our "ocean-view", wont pay for that again!
Vacation was great, but i could have done without my stay at this place. Nothing to be in awe over!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DionneSherrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear DionneSherrae,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were enjoying this beautiful hotel and beautiful weather coming from the arctic cold of the Northeast. I mistakenly left all my jewelry out on the counter and forgot to close and lock the safe. After coming back from an all day outing on a catamaran, I returned to find our room cleaned and spotless and my jewelry still in the case on the bathroom counter and everything still in the safe with all of our money for travel in tact. I commend the housekeeper Beatriz (HSKP) for her honesty and the hotel for the excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sherry M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.1 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,252 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,188 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $180 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing