We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honesty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honesty”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were enjoying this beautiful hotel and beautiful weather coming from the arctic cold of the Northeast. I mistakenly left all my jewelry out on the counter and forgot to close and lock the safe. After coming back from an all day outing on a catamaran, I returned to find our room cleaned and spotless and my jewelry still in the case on the bathroom counter and everything still in the safe with all of our money for travel in tact. I commend the housekeeper Beatriz (HSKP) for her honesty and the hotel for the excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sherry M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    793
    271
    125
    87
See reviews for
710
959
76
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a club room with pool view Jan 20-25th. Our room was well appointed, had a comfortable bed, and most of all was spotlessly clean. The housekeepers do a great job. Although the hotel was full there was still plenty of room available at the hotel, beach and restaurants. The staff was great. We asked for a late checkout as my wife was coming down with a severe cold and our plane did not leave until 6:40 p.m. Although the hotel was overbooked the Manager was kind enough to grant our request. We definitely will be going back soon

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rad1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Good location, beach, close to airport. Food average, drinks expensive. No hot water one night, and staff defensive and unhelpful. No offer of credit on a $350 per night room. Safe inconveniently located on top shelf of wardrobe, difficult to access. Thermostat also inconveniently located high on wall, behind an armchair. Thermostat lowered to freezing unnecessarily by cleaning staff. Noisy hallway outside room, near elevator. Elevators very slow.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelsleuth1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear travelsleuth1961, thank you very much for sharing your comments about your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize for your last experience with us. It is our goal to provide our guests with unmatched accommodations and service and it is very disappointing to learn that in some point we failed in doing so.

Your comments have been discussed with our team in order to address your concerns and avoid others guests face the same challenges.

Thank you again for your feedback and we would love you give us a second chance to show you that this is not usual for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights. No issues at all - was a very good stay. The staff service is excellent. As you approach a door to enter or exit the lobby from the front or from the poolside, even when it looks like there's no one there to open the door for you, somehow there is one by the time you reach the door and a staff person is there to hold the door and give you a friendly greeting. The front desk staff was very accomodating. My plans were for 2 nights but they extended me 1 night even though it was heading toward the busy weekend. The breakfast ($28) includes hot and cold selections and also a cooked to order omelette. They have a color coded bracelet system and the color changes each day to give you access to the pools and beachfront. Head outside to the towel booth, give your name and room number and when they verify the information, you get the towel and bracelet. Once at the beach, it can get crowded. But they have beach staff who also work very hard and are friendly. On one day, all of the chaise lounges were taken. The beach attendant went into the pool area and got me a chaise and carried iit/setup where I wanted to sit. There is no charge for the chaise's. The casino opens at 12noon. I found it to be a little dated and small, but it was fine. The rooms were clean and the bedding comfortable. Just one negative - they are not very soundproof from the hallway noise. The hotel has a welcoming feel to it and I actually preferred it overall to the El San Juan Resort and Casino.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCTraveler3716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't stay at that hotel again. Even though staff is friendly, service is slow. Elevators did not work causing people to wait 15-30 minutes at a time! Rooms are OK but bathrooms are ran down. It's not worth the money. Food is OK but not great. Breakfast that was included with the room but it was basic and they would serve the leftovers of some food the next day like their local dish fried plantains with sausage. I stayed at Intercontinental hotels overseas before and they were nice. This hotel isn't.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our property. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay and we sincerely regret that you have been affected for the upgrades we are making to our elevators. I extend my apologies also for not meeting your expectations regarding the breakfast and please rest assured that your comments were discussed with our Food and Beverage Managers to identify opportunity areas.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for my first trip to PR. Clean with basic amenities. Being with fun friends makes any trip worthwhile. However for $300+ a night I expected more. Lobby lounge staff was inconsistent. A few times I has to stand at bar and ask for service. Beach and pool are nice, however can be crowded. Umbrellas on the beach are $10/ day which is pricey. Breakfast was included with my room. Ok but nothing authentic for the region and basic food. I would
Pay $30 for the buffet. While there the elevators were not working property causing long waits and crowded elevators. The staff didn't post signs or notify guests. People were walking down 10 flights of stairs or waiting 45 minutes for an elevator. A simple sign under the doors would have eased tension. Rooms ok, bathrooms were dingy. Rust and appeared dirty. Restaurants ok. I suggest eating outside the resort. Again, nothing authentic. Service at the Italian restaurant slow. Casino very basic and wouldn't recommend unless penny slots are your thing. For the flight time and $$ I would choose an alternate location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Ginger D thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us and we sincerely regret that you have not felt connected with your destination through an authentic experience. I extend our apologies for the challenges you faced with the elevators and if you felt that there was a lack of communication regarding this situation. We are currently upgrading them and we sincerely hope you give us another chance for you to experience these upgrades.

Please rest assured that your concerns about the breakfast options were discussed with our Food and Beverage team , so they can take corrective actions to improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is right on a beautiful beach in Isla Verde. First I will start with the staff- Nestor, the concierge is so nice and helpful! The front desk check in was a breeze-room was ready and they were so friendly. William the bellhop was unbelievable -his spirit, demeanor, helpfulness was amazing. Restaurants- Our two waitresses at the Mediterranean Cafe were so nice and friendly as well! We ate breakfast at the hotel one day which was great- a little on the pricey side-but our waitress there was awesome too. We ate at the Japanese restaurant in the hotel-also pricey-but was not impressed with the food for the prices. Staff there was very nice as well. Can't say enough about the staff throughout the hotel. There was a little place inside the hotel where you can get muffins, fruit, bagels or coffee -convenient for a quick something before a nice walk on the beach.
Rooms were nice -roomy could use a little updating but all and all nice , clean comfortable. We had a room on the 10th floor and the view to the beach was magnificent! The grounds outside were beautiful and spotless. They cleaned up every night and took chairs back in from the beach -always ready outside the next morning.
They have desks set up to book tours if you want. We booked a rainforest tour and it was awesome. Our guide Michelle was outstanding and funny. The two women at the tour desks were helpful but not as friendly as the staff in the hotel.
There is a small casino and gift shop downstairs. Pools were beautiful.
I felt completely safe there as a lot of reviews stated. Whoever writes about the airport noise -I don't understand - maybe just irritated easily-because it is infrequent and not at all bothersome! Our stay was wonderful...Thank you for making our visit to Puerto Rico memorable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jom257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,947 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
3.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
17.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Property: InterContinental San Juan
Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing