We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I made a recent visit to San Juan this past May. We stayed across the street at the El San Juan hotel for the first leg of our trip and the staff was horrible and everything was extremely overpriced so we decided to switch to the Hampton. Although there is no ocean view the beach was a quick 3-5 walk.They offer a manager reception from 4-7 with free snacks and beverages. The staff was great especially bar staff at the pool. Would recommend over any of the beach front hotels. Only downfall is the nose from the airport that is located across the highway and resort fees!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    562
    154
    35
    18
See reviews for
539
520
87
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The resort fee ($29.13) was ridiculous! This is a Hampton Inn and not a resort! When you check in, a summary is provided for what the “resort fee” covers, most of which is standard at Hampton Inns; however, it does include some items (beach chairs, etc.) that are typically not included. I was worried that the hotel would be noisy since it is near the airport - the room was very quiet. The room was nice and the property was well maintained. The front desk staff seemed a little over worked and one had to wait to speak with someone (5 minutes or so.)

There are many restaurants, a pharmacy, and a grocery store within walking distance of the hotel. I would stay here again if this was the only option - the “resort fee” really annoyed me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jungbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This Hampton Inn is way beyond any other hotel on Isla Verde. The level of service you will receive here is above any 4 diamond hotel in PR. My family enjoyed every single moment in this hotel. I would recommend this hotel with out hesitating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
5 Thank Omarivonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Unfortunately, we only enjoyed a one night stop over at this great hotel, but if we're ever in Puerto Rico again, we'll be sure to stay here. The rooms and facility in general were very clean and modern, and the service and 'extras' were exceptional. At check in, we were informed that free drinks, snacks and massages were served poolside from 5-7 every day - a great welcome to the facility! Breakfast is also included, but because we had an early 5 am flight, we would miss this. However, the fellow at the front desk ensured that we had a breakfast bag to take along with us to the airport. All in all, exceptional service and value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheaj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Overall this was a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back if we are in the area. The location is great as it is located within a five minute walk to a nice beach area. A little longer walk to some of the resort beach area but doable on foot. The hotel provides (as part of its "resort fee") beach chairs, umbrellas and beach coolers as well as towels from the pool area. This is a great service that we took advantage of during our visit. On the particular night of our visit, they were hosting a manager's reception poolside which featured live kettle drum music, food and drinks. The food offered was snack foods consisting of nachos, potato chips and pretzels. The drinks offered were water, soda, beer, wine, daiquiris (with our without alcohol) and pina coladas (with or without alcohol). The pool area was nice but possibly a little small for the size of the hotel especially during the manager's reception. I would recommend the hotel enforcing a no food or drink in the pool/hot tub but it was a minor issue. The pool also has a bar that also serves typical bar food such as burgers and dogs. The hotel itself is very nice and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was well equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, etc. For the most part it was clean and the only negative I have with the room is that the AC seemed to have a hard time cooling the room and the grill covering the vent was dirty and separated from the wall as opposed to being flush with the wall. The biggest issue I have is also one of its biggest assets and that is its proximity to the airport. It is an easy 5 minute cab ride to/from the airport but with it you have the sound of planes taking off and landing constantly and these could clearly be heard from our room. Between the AC and the TV we were able to at least partially neutralize the sound. To top off our experience, we had a very early flight the next morning and the hotel had a cab waiting for us a 4:30 am. Awesome hotel and I highly recommend it if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magicandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have a good experience for my aniversary night. Good service,everything was clean and funtionally, Beatyfull suite. Ultra comfortable bed and furniture. Have a lot of restaurant near to the Hotel. The beach is near to the hotel and the pool is nice too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Xadier13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed for 6 days while moving out of Puerto Rico. Good value hotel. Very busy on weekends but quiet during the week. Food was decent although the line for waffles was longest. For prices in San Juan its a good deal for the family

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers with a swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, weekday evening reception, free WiFi and free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing