We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“good enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We only stayed one night here to relax & it was nice and quiet. Nothing to do at the hotel itself but a small pool area. The rooms were clean and had the basic amenities. Beds were comfy and bathrooms were nice modern and spacious. If you are looking for a quiet hotel this is the place and it is very close to the airport if you want a hotel with things to do the Hilton Casino is across the street I would stay there instead. But nothing wrong with this hotel it is just much smaller but it does include breakfast here and a cocktail our very similar to the embassy suites set up. We didn't get to utilize any of those amenities to be able to review that portion. Check in was very easy and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Many places to walk to eat as well as a and the grocery store. This hotel is not very close to old town that is about a 20 min ride away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv-2-travel-36DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    545
    147
    33
    17
See reviews for
496
504
83
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We loved the little amenities brought together with the crib to our little one (small baby lotion and bath toy) as well as a small mattress and her own little blanket. We experienced different hotels in our visit to Puerto Rico and Hampton was the only one providing what we would expect for our little one to feel like at home. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Angelica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Easy and quick to get to from airport: taxi cost is reasonable at $14 plus $1 per page. Many good places to eat just across the street or under 10 minute walk. Happy hour is pleasant around pool. Staff is very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank limestone9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 8 nights for our Anniversary get away from the cold. We had a great time and all the staff was so very nice and friendly and ready to help at all times. Stephanie was so cute and sweet and makes the best drinks at Happy Hour. Cindy was also very nice and booked us some nice tours at a decent price. Our room was a Pool Side Suite and very nice with two TV's, the beds were comfortable, and pillows to die for. The only thing I had to say was they need to update the bathrooms and replace the tiles. No hair dryers which I did not know before I got there. The breakfast every morning was very good, lots of variety and lots of room. We had fresh cookies every night and Happy Hour from 5:00-7:00. I had a massage 3 nights during Happy Hour and the Massage Person was great. The Poolside Bar had the best food, you need to have the Burgers and or the Ribeye Steak. I was so sad to leave since we had such a good experience and would stay there again . It was very close to everything and we took the City Bus all over town versus getting a car. Thank you everyone at Hampton for a very enjoyable vacation in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Our Suite was on the 2nd Floor on the Pool Side and we had no noise problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdmustang99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Close to the beach, free breakfast, nice staff, lots of fine details (complimentary afternoon snacks, happy hour, beach paraphernalia), decent pool and pool-side bar; Airport noise can be annoying if spending a lot of time in the pool outside

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after a cruise. We arrived at the hotel around 8:30am and as expected they didn't have a room available. We walked around the area for a couple of hours and just went back to the hotel. At that time, I checked again to see if by some chance they had a room, and surprisingly they did! Upon entering the room, it had a bad smell and the air conditioner was very rackety. We later realized it was the air conditioner causing the smell, and it was rackety because it wasn't working very well. One of the reasons I chose this hotel was the free breakfast. The first day we got there they had sausage gravy, but no biscuits...thought that was interesting. The pool area isn't that big, but it's nice. We had to try the burgers, since everyone raves about them, and they really were very good. The hotel is very close to the airport, but the noise didn't really bother us. We never got our room fully cleaned, because housekeeping kept coming at bad times. Once we were in the room. The next time we got to our room and the cleaning cart was outside our room. We went inside to find the room half done, but the attendant was no where to be found. She showed up like 10 min later and apologized. The hotel is located on a street with a lot of restaurants and fancier hotels. You can also walk to the beach from the hotel, which was probably like 4-5 blocks maybe. If you want to save some money, then choose this hotel. There are definitely more upscale hotels close, but you're going to pay $100 more a night. And as a side note, try Piu Bella gelato across the street. Yum!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank DrLisa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Friendly staff, good breakfast that is ideal for getting the day started for business. Needs some update to the bathroom and fixtures that seems to be breaking down. Carpets need cleaning/replacing as it looks aged and dirty. Overall a good experience...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mitul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers with a swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, weekday evening reception, free WiFi and free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Carolina Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing