We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Good place for family. Breakfast is tasty and varies from day to day. The building and grounds are kept clean. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Décor was colorful. I especially enjoyed the relaxing furniture. Chocolate chip cookies were available in the evening. The evening reception allowed a time for adults and kids to unwind. Good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

I really liked our stay here. We went to PR to celebrate New Years. We knew that it would be very crowded since it's winter in most other places. We planned a little far ahead to make sure we got to do the things we wanted.

The rooms are your standard modern Hampton hotel chain. Clean, and updated.

The pool is pretty small when they are at capacity. So, keep that in mind. The poolside bar is wonderful. It will take a little bit of time to get your food as they grill it on site. Many people failed to grasp that when we were there. It wasn't McDonald's, so it's not fast food.

The front desk staff are EXTREMELY helpful. They helped us call and schedule a few excursions. Also when our flights were delayed due to all the ice storms/polar vortex they helped us with a late checkout, and even gave us a list of local hotels just in case we wanted to be closer to the airport. (Which they already are, but some like to be walking distance in those cases.)

The Negatives - small pool, only 2 elevators on each building. So, when they are capacity it can take a while. The stairs are very assessable, but I know if you have a disability you should want to know this. They are right next to a 'Cockfighting Ring". We had no issues with this, but I have heard it can be a problem.

You have a lot of food places near by to walk. The beach is a 10 minute walk if that away. Also, Walgreen's is across the street if you forget anything.

Overall I really liked this place. I feel if they expanded the pool, and maybe adjusted the elevators it would be even better.

Room Tip: We were on level 5. We couldn't see the water, but it's nice to be up in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brittani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was stranded in San Juan during the bad weather in New York after New Year's Day. I choose the Hampton Inn because it was close by the airport. I was greeted by friendly staff and my room was so comfortable. I enjoyed my stay and would choose the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ronena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our disappointing stay was partly our fault. Our failure to plan ahead over the holidays in high season left us with little choice but to accept the exorbitantly high prices charged by Hampton Inn & Suites. At the end of the day we paid a little over $800 for three days in a standard double room. (Don't forget the resort fee, the state tax, the use tax, etc...) This goes for most hotels but when they are already charging you an arm and a leg these additions really do add up. Our final price increased almost $200 with these expenses factored in.

After forking over our savings our experience here was a real letdown. There is nothing wrong with the place - it is clean, spacious, well designed, with a range of amenities. However, everything speaks of chain hotel with cookie cutter everything. For some this may be just what they are looking for but if you want to discover San Juan, have a personalised experience, meet friendly people this is not for you. Staff were always polite but almost always frosty. They seemed to know next to nothing about ways to get about, cool tours, festivals, etc. It was the Starbucks experience. Standardised, comfortable, overpriced and boring. If you have been to one Hampton you have been to them all. You could stay here and quite easily forget that you are in Puerto Rico.

The location of the hotel is unfortunate. While conveniently close to the airport this convenience becomes a nuisance when you hear roaring jets flying overhead every twenty minutes. Nothing of note or interest is in walking distance. Taxis are necessary to get just about anywhere. (There is however a bus stop across the road but the Hampton Inn & Suites concierge recommends against using it).

If you do venture on foot from the hotel there is a beach about ten minutes walk away.

Wifi reception in the room is poor so you have to sit in the lobby or stand close to your room door to get a good signal.

I'd recommend if you've got the money, pay for a fancy suite in a nearby guest house. You'll feel the luxury and get your money's worth.

Silver lining: Beds are deliciously comfortable. Sink away into good night's slumber.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor if you're afraid of tsunamis... :) Choose a lower floor if you want to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family of five enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn. The rooms and lobby, as well as other areas, were clean. The perks were great...free drinks during happy hour, free snacks, and other amenities. The fitness room was clean and had nice equipment. The pool area was very nice, although the kids said the water was a bit cold. I was happy to see they had a laundry room so we could wash clothes before leaving on cruise. Breakfast was very good. If we return to San Juan, we will stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harveymomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel after my cruise ended because I wanted to stay close to the beach and the airport. I was very pleased. The staff was friendly, the pool area was wonderful, the breakfast was great, the rooms were perfect. This hotel exceeds it rating. Although there is an added resort fee, it is justified as this hotel offers many free amenities i.e. beach chairs, towels, bottled water in your room, evening snack and a great breakfast. On certain nights they offer free cocktails and even better snacks and free 10 min massage by the pool. They seem to do a lot to get people out at the pool area, which is good. The airplanes are loud but you have to expect that if you are by the airport. The cost of the taxi to the airport is outrageous but it isn't the hotel's fault and it would be the same price no matter where you stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoglobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very clean, nice hotel. Pool and rooms were clean. Hotel staff was nice. Only negative is the close proximity to the airport, you hear the planes take off as if you were staining on the runway. After a few hours though, I totally blocked the sound out and forgot about the airplanes. Would definitely stay there again. Several places near by for meals and a nice beach across the street.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $236 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers with a swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, weekday evening reception, free WiFi and free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing