We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“June 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
NY, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“June 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my second time staying at this hotel. The staff are very polite. The rooms are clean. It's family friendly. My 5 year old son loves the pool. Oh I want to give Rebecca a shout out for her excellent service, " Hi Rebecca" . Also you have to meet Edgardo. He works at the kitchen and the greatest person you can meet. The beach is two blocks away but it's not an issue. The hotel accommodates beach chairs and sand toys for the kids. It's a great little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    489
    119
    27
    17
See reviews for
431
413
71
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
providence, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I left a bad B&B as it was not clean and it was buggy and needed a place to stay. Hampton Inn fit the bill. Quiet, friendly, beautiful and I was able to do my work there and relax a bit. They arranged tours, I was a happy camper 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Facility is clean and breakfast was the usual eggs , cereal coffee. Staff was friendly. I used combination of points and dollars for stay. There were excessive charges for parking and 3 months after my stay they are still charging my credit card. I hope to have this mess cleared up soon. I doubt if I will over stay there again.

Room Tip: stay away from elevator and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed only 1 night at this property for an early flight out of SJU airport. The location for the airport is great ; its not even a 5-minute taxi ride from the terminal exit. The rooms are modern and clean. Facing the hotel there is a very good Puerto Rican restaurant that the front desk staff kindly recommended to me. Also, since I had to leave before the time of the free breakfast, I has given a small "care package" that contained a bottle of water, an apple and a muffin. A very nice touch. Would stay here again if I needed to stay near SJU airport.

A word of the wise: With the USDA inspection at the airport, get there at least 2h before your flight on busy travel days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roombaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton in Isla Verde for 4 nights this June. The room was clean and afforded plenty of room for the two of us. A good sized chair and ottoman, and a desk and comfortable chair provided ample places to sit and view TV or use the WiFi provided to each room. The bathroom could have used some updating, but was clean and well equipped with supplies. The hotel was close to American eateries such as Wendy's, Denny's, Burger King, Ponderosa and Pizza Hut, as well as the Outback Steakhouse located in the close by Embassy Suites Hotel. Also a nearby Walgreens for any needed items. The staff was extremely helpful in assisting us locate tourist attractions and arranging tours for places of interest. We were across the street from the beach, but, in reality, we were about a block's length away as you had to walk between hotels located across the street to get to the beaches. Not a problem. We managed without a car. We were about 5 minutes from the airport - very convenient. It seems there should have been a "set" cab fare of ten dollars, but extra is charged for luggage. We only had two carry on bags, but were charged 14 dollars upon arrival, and 17 dollars for our return visit. I suppose we could have argued with the cab driver for our return to the airport, but we were pleased at how quickly we were driven to the airport, so we just let it go. No fault of the Hampton Inn, of course. We did visit nearby Condado, closer to Old San Juan, and it looked like there were more places to walk around there than in Isla Verde. We enjoy doing a lot of walking, and found Isla Verde somewhat limited unless you did most of your walking on the beach. No boardwalks right nearby. Just sand beaches. Elevators were always available - hardly ever waited. That was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandGinny2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked our cruise out of San Juan and flew in a day early to take in some of the sights in San Juan. We stayed at the Hampton Inn and could not have been happier with the hotel! Very nice pool and very close to restaurants and shopping. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the free breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank titanfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

very nice hotel, close to the beach in a very nice zone of San Juan, the crew is so friendly and helpful, the rooms are super clean and comfortable, the pool are very nice,, the free drinks, free snacks and free massages in the afternoon are just GREAT!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleks_mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area of San Juan, Puerto Rico, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) and steps from Isla Verde beach. The hotel is located in the vibrant Isla Verde district, near Old San Juan and numerous historic sites, restaurants, nightlife, museums and shopping. Guests at this San Juan hotel can enjoy a variety of options for water recreation. Spend a day on the beach with free beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, toys and nearby sports vendors. Jet-ski in the surf or spoil yourself with a massage by the sparkling pool. Experience vibrant Puerto Rican nightlife, including live music in the resort or try your luck in the nearby casinos. Savor international cuisine, including classics, modern Caribbean dishes and delicious burgers - voted the best in San Juan - at the swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, or dance the night away in a nearby nightclub. Feel at home in a spacious and modern guest room or suite at this San Juan hotel, all with free WiFi. After a day of sightseeing or sunbathing, relax in the pool or amidst the tropical gardens and admire the San Juan skyline at sunset. Sip free Puerto Rican coffee at breakfast and unwind every weekday with a free cocktail at the hotel's evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing