We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right for layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just Right for layover”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

You usually know what to expect at the Hampton Inn's - this was everything plus the evening cocktail presentation. Pina Coladas were great, crepes to your specification and other munchies.
It's a 3 minutes walk to the beach but the pool area is very large and confortable.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayF237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    560
    151
    34
    18
See reviews for
531
516
87
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Elgin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is without a doubt the best Hilton brand hotel in Puerto Rico. And to top it off the lowest nightly rate of all of them.

The room was super clean, all the lights work, the food from the grill was outstanding. The $16 steak was one of the best I have ever eaten. The free breakfast perfect with a great selection of item and the food was warm. The staff was there ready to help out in any way.

Parking was FREE! Where do you find free parking at any other hotel in PR?

I stay in Hamptons on business travel 75% of the time. This one is hands down the best of all them.

My wife and I agree from now on we are staying at this Hampton each time we visit the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEMojica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I went with my husband and 3 children and the experience was excellent, everyone was diligent and very polite. The breakfast was incredible healthy and great quality. Even if they dont have what you ask, they try to get you one.... I love it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am not sure about this one if you go to San Juan for the beaches, but for business - could not ask for anything better. Great free breakfast every day. Great attentive courteous staff. While there a power failure for about 8 hours occured. The emergency generator offered only elevator service and minimum lighting (zero in the room). Fairly common in San Juan. If you are a gambler, Casino almost across the street and several good restaurants within walking distance. Like any other hotel room in Puerto Rico - get ready to be hosed on the room taxes.....so even if you get a great rate you will still be paying and paying.

Room Tip: Sign up for Hilton Honors and they will treat you like a king !!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Compared to staying at the Intercontinental that was more expensive because of their big pool, on beach location and room views. It offered no amenities. Hamptons small property offers a free breakfast, free iced lemon water and assorted hot beverages 24/7 in the lobby, happy hour and free afternoon snacks on weekdays. The front desk is very friendly, rooms are nice and comfy. It offers a cute pool with swim-up bar and a grill that offers your typical american food and live music in the afternoon. I only wanted puertorican food and Don Jose across the street served it best with all the mofongos and tostones and rice and beans you could want. Great food! There are other restaurants/bars across the street with a wallgreens as well. Your typicall American like Chilli's, Ruth Chriss, or burgerking, wendy's, etc all near by. The only cons about the property is that the beach is a block away where the locals are and walking is safe. I am a well rounded budget traveler who looks for decent accommodations the location/city provides by their standards with more for your buck in mind. If you are high maintenance, this would not be your style.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atraveler619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A very friendly front desk greeted us on arrival for a 2-night pre-cruise stay and we were able to check in a couple of hours early. Minutes after we settled into our comfortable, clean, well-appointed room they called to make sure everything was OK. When we asked for some change for the bus to Old San Juan, they went the extra mile and pointed out the bus stop to us, gave us transit maps and maps of OSJ, explained about the free Trolley, etc.

The pool area was very relaxing, pool bar and grill excellent for drinks, and the burgers were as good as the reviews I’d read. It was almost too relaxing – we never made it to the beach as we had planned!

The breakfast buffet was typical Hampton Inn (OK). I don’t care for the waffle iron – people line up to use it and stand and wait creating a traffic jam in the corner. We found plenty of comfortable seating.

There is a Walgreens diagonally across the street – handy for picking up last minute items. They have a mediocre wine selection (for the now-allowed carry on wine for the cruise), but not much worse than the liquor store at the Pan-American Terminal.

I'd definitely return here on another visit to San Juan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delacruzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This Hampton was a nice welcome for regular travelers. From the first contact at the desk the employees were wonderful and helpful. We enjoyed a very nice evening and morning here. They recommended a very good restaurant down the street which we enjoyed very much. Since our flight to our final destination was in the early afternoon they gladly allowed us to stay in our room until 1:00. The breakfast was excellent also. Really busy but the staff did not miss a beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1NODAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
334 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers with a swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, weekday evening reception, free WiFi and free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing