We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Bargain; Good for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C., United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Bargain; Good for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

With 2 small children and a baby, we opted for the suite -- this is the best setup if traveling with kids. The room comes with a separate bedroom and living room with fold out sofa, plus a kitchen sink, fridge, and microwave. The free breakfast has something for everyone and is pretty diverse -- and excellent coffee! In the evenings they have a complimentary open bar with snacks in the pool area. My kids loved the pool, and the pool bar & grille is pretty decent and affordable. The beach is in easy walking distance, and so are numerous restaurants and a large grocery store to stock up on food, essentials, etc. My only complaints were that our couch was a bit shabby and the material was falling apart, but otherwise the room was pretty neat and clean. Also, on our last night's stay (Night #4; Friday) I was kept awake all night long by someone pounding in the room above me -- which was a real drag when I had to leave for the airport at 5AM. I called down to the front desk numerous times, and although they said they would look into it, the noises never really stopped. BUT, to compensate us, they did not charge us for that last night's stay, which I thought was pretty cool of them. The day-staff there were super friendly and helpful. All and all, I was pleased with my stay and would recommend to other families.

Room Tip: If you have children, get the suite -- great option, great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoTinaPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    493
    120
    27
    17
See reviews for
438
423
74
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very clean and comfortable and staff is attentive. I stayed only one night (layover) and wanted to be near the airport. The service to and from the airport is excellent and the hotel is really set up for this. They have a nice selection for complimentary morning breakfast beginning at 5am. The staff is friendly and helpful, there is a business center and fitness center. Since it is close to the airport, there is airport noise outside however, the rooms are well insulated from it. I did not rate the location because it is great if you want to be near the airport and have a clean room with good facilities and have easy access to the airport. If you are staying a while, you would probably want to stay near the beach and would choose a different location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hampton Inn before leaving SJ the next morning. It was a chilly evening so the hot tub felt great. Free drinks/snacks were nice (from 5-7). The burgers grilled at the outdoor snack bar were pretty decent. Nice comfy beds. Quiet. Main complaint was that we did not have any hot water. Tried taking a shower at about 7 pm and it was chilly, so tried again at 6 am, still chilly. Disappointed. Front desk not very helpful, nor did it offer a discount or anything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've stayed here 3 times in the past 6 months. The hotel Is not on the beach, but it is surrounded by everything. The beach is only 1 block away, or a cut through the San Juan Hotel, if allowed. I love the staff, the overall cleanliness, and the 2 hour all you can drink for free every week day. You have to eat at the pool grill. They make the greatest burgers and steaks you will ever taste. I keep going back mainly because of the grill. The guys that work the grill are awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
171 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Puerto Rico after a fantastic stay at Las Casitas Village. The room was clean, quiet and the beds comfortable. The pool area was nice with a hot tub and swim up pool bar. From 5 pm to 7 pm they had free cocktails and snacks which was a nice touch. They do charge a resort fee so really not exactly free I guess! Beach access from the hotel is walking through a very run down area and the beach itself is not exactly picturesque. This hotel is very close to the airport but we did not hear plane noise in our room. We had an early flight and a taxi was readily available for our trip to the airport which is only a few minutes away. This hotel is okay for a night or two but I would not want to spend an entire vacation in this area Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LONG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It was very nice, clean, had a good pool and hot tub and you could walk to the beach. Sort of pricey though. It has a swim up bar which was pretty great. They also had a little grill outside that served burgers and hot dogs and stuff. There were some amazing hotels on the beach with awesome pools with waterfalls and stuff, id check them out they might not be that much more than this one. Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast, apples/oranges, cereal, waffles, bagels, "eggs", biscuits and gravy, yogurt and juice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clt080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My future in-laws, my fiance and I, went to Puerto Rico 12/6/12-12/9/12. We had the pleasure of staying at the Hampton Inn. We were surpised by the wonderful array of breakfast options (waffles daily with fresh fruit, other options change daily). The rooms are comfortable. There is a casino a block away and a Puebla (grocery store) just up the road. You can walk approx 4 blocks to the beach. Taxis are kind of expensive in PR but I wouldn't dare risk my life driving there.

The Hampton Inn's grounds are gorgeous. My father-in-law booked the hotel and I wasn't so happy when I saw the other options, but felt like a fool once we arrived. The breakfast area is cozy and bright, the pool area is tropical and luch. We ate outside every morning. Other than being a taxi away from everything, we would most definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: We did get a room by the confrence center and were woken up by cheering and clapping one morning. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
4.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,871 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area of San Juan, Puerto Rico, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) and steps from Isla Verde beach. The hotel is located in the vibrant Isla Verde district, near Old San Juan and numerous historic sites, restaurants, nightlife, museums and shopping. Guests at this San Juan hotel can enjoy a variety of options for water recreation. Spend a day on the beach with free beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, toys and nearby sports vendors. Jet-ski in the surf or spoil yourself with a massage by the sparkling pool. Experience vibrant Puerto Rican nightlife, including live music in the resort or try your luck in the nearby casinos. Savor international cuisine, including classics, modern Caribbean dishes and delicious burgers - voted the best in San Juan - at the swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, or dance the night away in a nearby nightclub. Feel at home in a spacious and modern guest room or suite at this San Juan hotel, all with free WiFi. After a day of sightseeing or sunbathing, relax in the pool or amidst the tropical gardens and admire the San Juan skyline at sunset. Sip free Puerto Rican coffee at breakfast and unwind every weekday with a free cocktail at the hotel's evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing