We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in San Juan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
miami
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best hotel in San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here recently and I loved it, very clean,rooms are very clean and service is awesome,all is close,clubs,restaurants,the beds are awesome,definitely recommend this hotel.The ac was cold,and the food is Good,the breakfast is limited but no need to be a lot because you can walk and get anything you want nearby.I walked at night with confidence as there is heavy police presence,they are all over the place 24/7.compared to hotels nearby the price is a little high but not much higher than all other hotels in the area,for the comfort of the hotel and how clean it is I would gladly pay it.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank superkatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    546
    148
    33
    17
See reviews for
498
505
83
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel overall was much better than we expected, for the price paid. Excellent value, very nice looking and couldn't be better located for the beach in Isla Verde.

A heads up however,and why we give it a 4/5 star. The Target rental car company they had us go with turned out to be a problem. Their website has the wrong address posted on where to return the car, believe it or not. Their address listed did not pull up on google maps or GPS, and neither did the "correct" address when we called. They claim the city changed the street name two years ago, but the "correct" address that we were later given was also invalid.

After spending 1.5 hours trying to find the car return, we went back to the hotel to ask. The lady at the front desk did not even have directions on where to return the car either??????? She had US call Target again and eventually they gave us street by street directions to write down. This resulted in us being late to the airport and missing breakfast, only making our flight by last boarding call.

Hampton inn, if you read this, consider choosing a rental car for your customers that has a real address to return the car. Or, warn them their car return address location is invalid on all GPS systems, provide written return directions at time of rental. Quite a joke considering everything else in the hotel exceeded expectations.

Hotel stayers, make sure to rent your vehicle from another company than Target. Their drop off address does not exist!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Room was large, clean, and pool was in good size too. There were a lot of restaurants near by, 24/7 supermarket, and easy access to the main hwy. Beach was only 5 mins in walking distance. We love their free WiFi, free breakfast buffet from 6-10 in the morning, and friendly staffs. 10 dollars flat rate daily parking was consider a low rate. We sure will come back to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloebebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a very comfortable clean hotel in Isla Verde, conveniently located near the airport. Very family friendly, with wonderful amenities. Great breakfast, beautiful pool area (with bar/grill and swim-up bar) and outside lounge. Lovely, inviting lobby and terrific friendly staff. It was the first place we stayed on our family trip to Puerto Rico, and we had a nice roomy suite that we loved. Plenty of outlets, too! A couple of great bonuses we discovered when we got there: happy hour near the pool every afternoon and the hotel loaned us beach chairs and towels and a cooler when we took a day trip to a nearby beach (our kids are too big or they could have used the "toys" too!). Excellent property, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DakotaTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a Great find!! Hotel is updated and very comfortable! The wifi is Free, free USA today, the free breakfast has many choices and if you check out before the buffet starts, the front desk will pack a to go bag for you, just tell them the night before. The Cuban steak at the pool grill is Awesome and so reasonably priced. The hamburgers are the Best around! The pool area is nice but no beach! There is a nice bar area with managers specials on Tuesday nights! This Hotel is about a 10-15 min drive from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoLoCanGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from August 3rd-5th, it was a 2 night pre-cruise stay. I must say I truly enjoyed this hotel. The bed was a 100% comfy bed. The beach was a short 6-8 minute walk, directly across the street was a Walgreen's Pharmacy. The hotel does not offer room service, but they have a nice pool bar and grille, I had a charcoal broiled cheeseburger the first night, DE-LISH!
it's was $7 and very worth it. Down the street is Fast Food - Pizza Hut, Church's Chicken, Wendy's, Burger King, Subway, & Baskin Robbins Also there were Chili's, Outback Steak house, and Brother Jimmy's BBQ in walking distance. The staff was very friendly, free breakfast bar included make it yourself waffles, fruit, juice, muffins, pre-made egg omelets, sausage, bagels, etc. Their business center has 4 pc's, (never a wait to get on-line).
We took a local bus that ran in front of hotel to Old San Juan to tour, it was 75 cents each way.
Can't say enough about my stay at this hotel. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. Hotel was also 100 % booked and very quiet except the some jet noise from the airport which is very close.

Room Tip: Some of the even numbered rooms on the 3rd floor had a nice pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NAE418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cunupia, Trinidad
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a weekend at this hotel and to put it simply it was incredible. The lobby area modern and very aesthetic. The staff was friendly and they had us checked in very quickly. the room was clean and comfortable, the flat screen tv had a good variety of channels in HD. The bathroom was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room was equipped with a mini fridge, desk and other great amenities.
This hotel has an awesome location for those seeking the nightlife of Isla Verde. There are many resturants, bars and other activities, literally within 2 min walking distance. There are taxis parked just outside of the hotel so getting transportation to the malls etc is very easy.
The breakfast area was fantastic and the food was delicious. Despite its proximity to the airport and all the resturants etc the hotel is very quiet and relaxing. It has a great pool area with a pool bar for those who just want to kick back and relax. This hotel is a great valve and the perfect location for an action packed Isla Verde weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spemby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers with a swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, weekday evening reception, free WiFi and free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Carolina Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing