We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay when in San Juan” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
erie
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when in San Juan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suit with our 4 year old daughter in December. The hotel was very clean and staff friendly. THe breakfasts were enormous and they had coffee out all day as well as water.
Once a week there is a Happy hour at N/C - it was not advertised so we stumbled upon it - nice!
It is located right across from the beach - however, the beaches were very windy. also, the pool is nice but it is not heated SO it was very cold.
The price was spectacular. It is not as POSH as the resorts across the street, but it is affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    535
    145
    32
    17
See reviews for
488
491
80
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Although this hotel costs more than I usually pay for Hampton, it is worth it. It is modern and clean as a pin. The location is excellent. It is a few steps from the beach and near many restaurants. The rooms have large flat screen tvs with adequate cable. There is free wifi and wired internet. They have a good breakfast with some hot items changing daily. What really makes this place special is the people running it. Although there is no conscierge, the front desk fills in admirably. They are anxious to make your stay pleasant and productive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huaschalocro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very nice comfortable rooms. Service was great. We enjoyed the pool and the swim up pool bar-great burgers. The breakfast offered a nice selection with plenty of seating. We only stayed one night, but would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We flew from Vieques to San Juan the day before our flight home to the US and stayed in the Hampton Inn while in San Juan. The hotel was great!! The room was clean and comfy, the breakfast and dining area was lovely and the pool was fantastic! Also having the pool bar and grill was a nice relaxing end to our vacation before an early flight home the next day. It is close to SJU airport so you do hear the planes when outside but not from the rooms. I slept great! Also is very close to everything so we walked to dinner and around downtown.

Will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HattieMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for our pre cruise stay for 2 nights. Excellent location with a good selection of bars and restaurants. The hotel room was great and very clean. Breakfast was good and the pool bar staff were amazing make the bext mojitos ever!! Had a great day drinking cocktails and listening to Elton John. Will definatelty be staying here again. Taxi to shopping mall from here was $40 return. Lots of guests rated the food at the pool bar too.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooke376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten-st Martin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Went to the Heineken Jazz Fest and choose to stay here for the good price. Hotel is in a excellent location with Denny's and a CVS across the street. The food from the pool bar was grilled and great.

The only complaint I have was that the maid came early in the morning twice and opened the door with a fast knock while we were sleeping. The 2nd time she came back I told her to come back in a half hour. When I left the room all of the clean ladies where in the hallway still working and said hi to us. When we came back to the room 4 hours later the room wasn't cleaned. We had to call the front desk for soap and clean towels. The next day was our check out day and the maid still came knocking on the door early in the morning. Other than that the staff was very friendly!

The room we had (453) had water stains on the wall by the door from an apparent leak from the ceiling, but it didn't effect our stay at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mrgeemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Would definitely stay here again. Great linens and bed! You can eat your complimentary (nice, large selection of items) breakfast outside by the pool if you like. Fairly expensive, but all the hotels are.
A selection of restaurants within a few blocks that you can walk to. Good beach also within walking distance.
You can walk to a bustop that will take you to Old San Juan (about 45 minutes) for $.75 exact change.
Taxi to airport was about $16.00+ - seem to have a standard rate, same each way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SailingTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area of San Juan, Puerto Rico, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) and steps from Isla Verde beach. The hotel is located in the vibrant Isla Verde district, near Old San Juan and numerous historic sites, restaurants, nightlife, museums and shopping. Guests at this San Juan hotel can enjoy a variety of options for water recreation. Spend a day on the beach with free beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, toys and nearby sports vendors. Jet-ski in the surf or spoil yourself with a massage by the sparkling pool. Experience vibrant Puerto Rican nightlife, including live music in the resort or try your luck in the nearby casinos. Savor international cuisine, including classics, modern Caribbean dishes and delicious burgers - voted the best in San Juan - at the swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, or dance the night away in a nearby nightclub. Feel at home in a spacious and modern guest room or suite at this San Juan hotel, all with free WiFi. After a day of sightseeing or sunbathing, relax in the pool or amidst the tropical gardens and admire the San Juan skyline at sunset. Sip free Puerto Rican coffee at breakfast and unwind every weekday with a free cocktail at the hotel's evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Carolina Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing