We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved everything about it!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August along with many of our family members. Everyone loved it. The hotel was much more then I expected. First, the lobby is very nicely put together with an area with some comfy chairs and a sofa. Next the pool grounds are very nice and the grill by the pool serves some really yummy food. The customer service was excellent. We had one issue with our safe and they sent someone up right away to fix it. I thought we would probably have to wait a long time like in past hotels we have stayed at. And last but not least...the breakfast. I could not believe the options they had. They really had something for everyone. This was a real money saver for us because we were traveling with 3 kids. The location of the hotel is only like five minutes from the airport which is also nice when you are ready to hurry up and start your vacation.
Next time we travel to Puerto Rico we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    562
    154
    35
    18
See reviews for
539
520
87
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I took my two college age kids for a Chrismtas vacation and this hotel was very adequate and priced great. The beach is a few blocks away and there area ton of shops and restaurants close as well as a supermarket a few blocks away. It was a very safe area and i would recommend if you have a tight budget to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsx1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed for 5 days prior to going on cruise and found this hotel to be very clean and enjoyable. The rooms were nice and staff even nicer...excellent swim up bar at the pool with great food, cold drinks and even better prices. Tuesday evenings they have a nice little welcoming event which included free bar drinks and lots of nice little snacking choices all for free. The breakfast buffet has large variety both hot & cold items with lots of coffee and beverages again for free. There was a nice beach not even a 5 minute walk from the hotel which chairs were plentiful and water was nice. Theres a Wallgreen across the street and Starbucks nearby with little shops along the way for those odds & ends. Would definitely stay there again, should we return to Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Very clean & comfortable we had a poolside suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQ-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Before I even begin to review this hotel, I have to commend the staff at this hotel. Let's be honest, we all well know that Hampton Inns are in the lower spectrum of the Hilton chain. That is no secret, and this hotel does not deviate from the obvious.
So, what separates one chain from another is its staff and the little things that people do to make your stay memorable, comfortable and in this case (with hurricane Irene in tow) bearable.
With more than a million people in Puerto Rico without electricity and some even without water, the Hampton Inn in San Juan, kept its composure and more importantly, electricity, water, food, entertainment and surprisingly enough, internet service as well.
People were fed, attended to and serviced with a smile. Rooms were clean and everything in my room was in perfect order. Remember that the people who work at the hotel are residents of the island and them too, had no power or water. They showed up and displayed their best.
The hotel offered a very nice breakfast, had DVD movies showing at the lobby and kept the small but adequate fitness room operating so that people would have a choice and avoid "cabin fever". The hotel is relatively a short walk to the beach which normally I would had checked out.
I hope this comment gets to everyone at the hotel and most importantly, to the powers to be and recognize these wonderful people that pulled it together in the face of adversity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Hotel stay was good till a storm came which knocked out the cable and forced me, my wife and 7 month old son to stay in the room and do nothing, not even internet, they say high speed online but your better off not even using it. Was forced to go to the hotel up the street were family was staying (by the way they had no problems during the 3 day storm, cough cough Embassy Suits), so we could actually keep track of the wether (found out a tornado had passed threw). On the 3rd day (today) with no cable or "internet" I asked if we could be compensated at all, their answer was they have dvd's. I know no one wants a storm to pass through and mess things up, but come on are you really not going to compensate me paying $130 a night for half a room, take some money off at lease. But thats ok I'll be calling the higher ups in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The service was great - very helpful people at the front desk gave us tips on how to get around and which restaurant to try for the type of food we wanted.

The rooms were comfortable and clean. Nice big bathrooms.

We especially loved the pool - with a swim-up bar and grill right outside. There's a hot tub too. We spent a lot of time hanging out there while waiting for our flights. The burgers were good.

The location is pretty great too. It's right by San Juan International Airport, and a short taxi ride from Isla Grande Airport. Short taxi ride to Old San Juan. The only thing is, you can really hear the planes taking off because it's so close to the main airport. But the sound wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiSteph06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Checked in 4 hours early and the room was ready. Very clean, safe and centrally located, walk to the beach, nice pool and free breakfast! Room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Would definitely return to this hotel if we go back to San Juan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couplehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers with a swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, weekday evening reception, free WiFi and free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing