We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Nearby Hotels
$289
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coral by the Sea(Isla Verde)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
ESJ Azul(Isla Verde)
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$227
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,271)
Filter reviews
3,271 results
Traveler rating
1,592
886
476
182
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,592
886
476
182
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbltil mulinothe ritz carltonclub leveltennis courtsmares restaurantsan juanlobby loungeturn down servicecity viewclose to the airportpool stafflong weekendpool viewluxury hotelfood and drinksbeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
1,562 - 1,567 of 3,271 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel was fantastic with many amenities and since it was so close to the beautiful beaches, was superb! The staff at the front desk was very helpful and even though we arrived early for our reservations, kept us informed all the time. We enjoyed brunch in the restaurant with our family. Selections were very good and the food was top notch. The prices were on par with Ritz, but not overly priced. We also had some time in the lobby bar area and enjoyed watching people coming and going with delicious drinks and appetizers to keep us occupied. We thought the rooms were great with fantastic ocean views and with a balcony that had ample room with chairs and table to enjoy the view! I would highly recommend this property when in Puerto Rico or anywhere in the immediate caribbean area! I had earlier read some reviews about how noisy the airport traffic was because of close location to the airport. I was all over this resort and not once did we even notice air traffic close by. All we could hear when outside was beautiful waves with the ocean! Fantastic and very nice pools, beach area and service was great!

Room Tip: Ask for weekend specials and comfort me packages. We got a package on our room and got $100 credit per room per night and free breakfast for 2 for each room. Great deal!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz in Puerto Rico for one evening- on our way to the St Regis Bahia Beach Resort. We got in at around 7pm and had dinner at BLT followed by a few hours of gambeling. Dinner was very good- the restaurant is nice and the food quality is well above average but the service was just OK. Try the pop-overs! The casino was small and a bit dated- not the experience I am use to with the big casion's in CT. The dealers at the craps table talked to each other all night non-stop- it was distracting. Overall the hotel was fine but not what I remember the Ritz to be in past years. I think Marriott has taken advantage of the brand name and the quality has gone down drastically. The room was fine- nothing special and the service in the hotel was fine. I can't imagine that the Ritz is lookig for a review of just fine. I would not go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here New Year's week. The facilities (pool, beach, spa) were superb and the service was way above average. When the maid saw my girlfriend's hair was curly, she supplied a new hair dryer the next day. There is limited night life for adults; we went to another hotel for New Year's eve and the guests were primarily families. One annoying thing was the daily resort fee (which in our case was more than $100 per night),

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't face the airport.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLBlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I agree with a previous reviewer that this is more like an upscale Marriott than a 5 star Ritz Carlton. The first time we stayed (within the first few years of its opening) we stayed on the concierge floor and the service and amenities were wonderful. Last time we were there, concierge floor was still there, but where were the amenities? the cocktail before dinner? Definitely not worth $555 a night for a regular room! Not in a million years

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paigekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We visited the hotel for our honeymoon and loved it. We don't understand the negative reviews
As we experienced nothing but excellent service and pristine surroundings for the full week.
Location is great and the beach setting is nice and well staffed and maintained. Feels like a private beach. Pool is gorgeous.
Food is expensive but as expected at a high end hotel property.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtciii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews