We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and the service was great. We had everything we needed except good weather! But no one can be blamed for that. The room was absolutely beautiful, and you really do get your money's worth. However, the hotel is very closely located to the airport. When we would go outside, the sound of the plane was almost deafening. I made a couple of phone calls outside by the main entrance and had to either divert back inside or call the person back. We were able to laugh the situation off, but it was a minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyzia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    856
    460
    177
    132
See reviews for
772
1,195
71
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the lobby to the pool to the rooms all gorgeous. The interior and the grounds are immaculate. The staff attentive. I would spend the mornings on the beach and the afternoons at the huge pool. The staff were extremely friendly. Only down was it was near the airport, but wasn't too bad. I would recommend, The Ritz Carltons are always top notch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rls24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Thank you Cynthia Colon for making my family's visit to San Juan and the Ritz Carlton amazing. They had a great time and loved the hotel and rooms. You personal touch and going extra mile was much appreciated. Thank you for everything and you are a true asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo/NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Overall, i had a nice stay and would go back. I stayed in room 624. The view was of the airport, and I was fine with that because 1. that's what i paid for and 2. it was the right cost for me. The windows are sufficiently think enough so you don't hear the airport at all in the room.

Checkin was a breeze, staff was friendly and rooms were ok.

But the little things were off. Like chocolates weren't given out every night. There were no slippers at turndown service like at other ritz or high end hotels. Are these things worth not staying there? no. Would you hope they lowered the price a little to reflect that it's more in line with a JW marriott or high end hotel chain? Yes. I wouldn't let this affect coming back again when the price is right. I also had a big mistake on my bill. if i didn't catch it, i would have paid $500 unnecessarily. they fixed it right away and apologized, but still, that's a big mistake. Lastly, we asked about late check out. if you want to stay in room from 12-2, it's half rate. which seems quite expensive. luckily, they are very accomodating with the spa, so you can check your bags in, and use the beach and shower at the spa ifyou have a later flight.

Pros:
close to a walgreens. that walgreens sells cheap boogie boards and beach stuff. it's walkable.
walgreens also validates your parking. so if you park there for a few hours instead of at the hotel, you can save some money. parking is $5 an hour in the ritz garage.

staff is very helpful - beach guys set up umbrella and chairs quickly. almost no wait time when the beach is full.

location on beach is good- beach infront of water is very calm and easy for kids ot play in. a few hundred feet to the right, the beach has bigger waves were the surfers congregate. so you can do both and leave your stuff at your chair and get calm water or bigger waves. ideal location.

restaurants are good - i didn't eat at il mulino. but BLT, the restaurant next to it and the beach restaurant were very good. beach service was a bit spotty.

room service was good- my GF had a gift to be delivered to the room on arrival. it was nicely laid out and in the room when we got there. and room service was always prompt.

Rental car- i rented from hertz on the second day. i had to pay$18 to airport and $18 back via cab. enterprise rentacar is on site. so if you only want a one day rental, that might be your best bet. Also gas is really cheap in san juan. it's like $0.90 a gallon. so don't take the prepaid. you are better shopping around near by.

Casino was nice but not very lively - I won money at the casino at black jack. they don't have a real crowd on weekends. its locals, so it feels kind of sad. but they still offered $10-$15 table black jack at night. just one table, but they only have 3-4, so it's nice. No poker machines or roulette machines. its all just slots and in the middle a handful of table games. the El San Juan is a short walk and has a more vibrant casino atmosphere.

Pool is cold- your best bet for nice water is the ocean. that's refreshing to get in and comfortable to stay in. the pool is chillier. and the VIP section is a turnoff. and frankly everyone gets chairs set up from 8-9am. if you don't set up then, you won't get a chair. so plan accordingly and you won't be disappointed.

Spa- you can use their showers whenever you want. so if you have a flight after checkout, go use the pool and beach, and shower there without worries. they are very accomodating.

Tennis - nice courts, and free. just need to buy balls if you think the ones provided are dead. we had no issues. a nice change of pace.

Again, it's a nice place to stay and a short distance from airport, soyou can get right into vacation mode.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binaural02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Outstanding views and location. It wasn't as nice as some of the continental U.S. Ritz Carlton hotels, but it was nice nonetheless. The rooms could be a little better for the price, but the views were very pretty of the ocean. The grounds of the hotel are very pretty as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and from the minute we entered the property, the people were very friendly and more than willing to accomodate us. We reserved two rooms and were hoping they were able to have us connecting or at least close to each other. Unforutnately, the hotel was very full so they were only able to have us on the same floor. Not a deal breaker. We reserved ocean view with balcony. For whatever reason, there are not alot of rooms with balconies which being on the beach, i can't understand why most rooms would not have balconies. It only makes sense to be able to sit outside when one wants without going to the pool area or beach. Poor design in my view. the rooms were fine and clean however we could hear the child in the next room crying as the father yelled at him; thankfully it didn't last long. That was the only time it really got noisy.

The staff at the hotel was fabulous from the doorman to the people on the beach helping with food or an umbrella. They were pleasant and polite and the best part was that we didn't have to pay extra for an umbrella unlike other hotels. Something that should be like that in all hotels. Staff also came around with small snacks such as plantain chips or nuts. The area was great for surfing and many took advantage of this.

While i was there, i had a health issue and needed to call the hotel doctor; Dr. Seda. He was very good and stayed with me for awhile since he had to give me medication. He also ordered some medicine fromt he local Walgreens. It was so good that one was within a short walking distance and the staff took care of getting everything for me. For this I was truly grateful.

We had access to the club floor which in my opinion is well worth the extra money and the convenience. When one weighs out the cost of non club versus club, i think the club is worth it.

Overall, I would stay here again. The person, Jaime (Jorge) who was cleaning my room when the doctor arrived made sure i had everything i needed. He was kind and respectful to my needs. When we were leaving, he left a note for me saying that he hoped I was feeling better and to have a safe trip home. In my opinion, this was over and above his job. For this, he deserves recognition. Also, Patricia who also helped with my room was extremely nice and helpful.

The fact that the hotel in near the airport was a bonus. It was only 15 minutes away. We ordered a car to meet us at the airport and in the future i would take a taxi instead which would cost a lost less. I will add the there was no issue with noise from planes.

The food was very good, highly priced which was not a surprise. Again, this is the Ritz and vacation time.

Old San Juan was fun, Senor Frog was a blast for our 20 year old girls and Dad to keep an eye on the place. They laughed and had a good time. They sent me pictures since i was unable to go.

As is say, i would stay here again without any doubts. Everyone had a good time and the weather was great. It was crowded but not over crowede so that pople were on top of each other. Gracias to all at The Ritz. see you again.

Room Tip: get ocean view room on a high floor, There are palm trees that block the view of the ocean on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yprrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is ok,,, i noticed allot of people gave it a 5 rating, but i don't think if your staying at the Ritz you should pay an extra 200 a night for a balcony.. not a big deal but if your paying over 400 a night you'd think the room would be bigger than most hotels and at least have a balcony... also the pool was "covered" with beach unbrella's...really i wanted to sit by the pool and get some sun, only problem could not find an area where there wasn't a beach unbrella shading me..also no snack or late night coffee shop available.. i stayed at the Ritz in St Thomas which was around the same price and the rooms and the pool area where allot better..for my money i would go to the Ritz in St Thomas, the Ritz in SJU is just an upscale hotel.

Room Tip: if you don't mind spending double the amount of money for a room, get one with a balcony otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbruno33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,873 reviews
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.4 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#5 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing