We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Ammentities and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Business brings us to the San Juan area every two months or so for usually no more then an evening, this visit we decided to splurge and booked a room at the Ritz through our Amex Platinum. We were greeted with champagne on arrival, upgraded to a lovely, oceanfront front well appointed room, and received a $100 credit to enjoy cocktails and snacks poolside, along with a delicious complimentary breakfast buffet. From the moment we dropped our car with the valet, to the kind gentleman that checked us in, our lovely conversations with the pool staff and pool cocktail waitress Stephanie who spoke with us in French, Spanish and English, with the staff of the spa who provided us with towels and robes to enjoy the complimentary steam sauna and whirlpool, we were treated with exemplary service. The managent of this hotel deserve accolades for the traing of their staff, not an easy task in this region. Well done, we will be back for another 24 hours of complete tropical blis. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,252)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,871 - 1,877 of 3,252 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the RCSJ for 4 nights in March 2013. The rooms are standard / what you would expect from a Ritz. We had one of the few balcony rooms - wouldn't have it any other way. The rooms have been redecorated (nice) and beds are comfortable (as your would expect from RC). The only thumbs down on the room was the bathroom - it has an old-style tub/shower (with a shower curtain - yuck) vs shower stall.
The public space - especially lobby bar - was nice.
We had dinner at BLT - very good.
The pool area needs a facelift (cracked stone and older chairs).
Pool area was very very crowded (they pack in the chairs like a traffic jam).
We spent our time enjoying the sun at the beach. You have to wait for the attendant to get chairs/table/umbrella and set-up for you (so remember to bring a little tip $). We picked quiet areas to the far side of the crowds each day, and it was perfect. The were short staffed with servers, so we just ordered a bucket of beer vs waiting for cocktails which would arrive almost melted.
Beach food was what you would expect: salads, burgers, Cuban sandwich, etc. and totally edible but nothing to knock your socks off.
The beach is nice (clean sand) and water is smooth, clear and shallow - you can wade out to cool off without stepping on rocks or getting knocked over by waves.
Hotel is about 15 minutes from Old San Juan and 5 minutes (or less) from airport - GREAT LOCATION.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longbeachCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel has unreal views, great pool and awesome service. Rooms were good not great but the service was really good. However if you want to do any sightseeing, tours etc. DO NOT utilize the hotel services. The office is in a shoe box office and the people running it have zero motivation to help. They basically said everything is full better luck next trip. They offered no solutions and were not helpful at all. Go to the El San Jaun hotel for any execursions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

During our stay at the Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico we encountered a disturbing event concerning the theft of a cell phone poolside. We are not sure if it was stolen from a local resident or a guest. However, it should be noted that security in both the pool and beach area are inadequate. Anyone can access those areas without verifying that they are guests of the hotel. Increased security must be implemented at both means of access to more fully protect the guests. We have notified the Ritz in PR of this circumstance and they will share this with their management team using it as a tool to improve their services.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After pouring over resort reviews to pick a place for our March 2013 trip to Puerto Rico, I finally settled on The Ritz in San Juan. I am so glad that I picked this hotel! The room was comfortable and beautiful, as well as quiet. We picked a "pool view," but it included a nice ocean view as well. Everything about the hotel was wonderful - the beach, the pool, the room, the food, the spa, the service, the casino. The staff took incredibly good care of us, and every person was friendly. The casino was fun and our money lasted a very long time. We had a little trouble with our bathroom when we first checked in, but the hotel fixed the problem right away and offered us a free dining credit to make up for any inconvenience. Our stay at The Ritz could not have been more wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarKettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay! Included breakfast was delicious every morning. Food was great every where actually! Service on the beach was good. Our "suite" was small in comparison to other RC ones we have stayed in. Casino is off to one side, so was not a main part of the hotel. Security was also very good.
Wish we would have island hopped a bit, but it was a great trip. Would go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodyhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in march 2013. Hotel was beautiful very clean. Rooms are very nice. Service is great.. Very nice beach area and pool area. Decent casino for a hotel. Pricey but you get what you pay for. 5 minutes from airport but you don't hear a thing.. Overal very nice hotel..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jemilio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
3.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $289 - $1,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing