We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Pool, Not great event planning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
indy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Pool, Not great event planning”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel has unreal views, great pool and awesome service. Rooms were good not great but the service was really good. However if you want to do any sightseeing, tours etc. DO NOT utilize the hotel services. The office is in a shoe box office and the people running it have zero motivation to help. They basically said everything is full better luck next trip. They offered no solutions and were not helpful at all. Go to the El San Jaun hotel for any execursions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,567
    877
    472
    182
    134
See reviews for
805
1,230
74
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

During our stay at the Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico we encountered a disturbing event concerning the theft of a cell phone poolside. We are not sure if it was stolen from a local resident or a guest. However, it should be noted that security in both the pool and beach area are inadequate. Anyone can access those areas without verifying that they are guests of the hotel. Increased security must be implemented at both means of access to more fully protect the guests. We have notified the Ritz in PR of this circumstance and they will share this with their management team using it as a tool to improve their services.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After pouring over resort reviews to pick a place for our March 2013 trip to Puerto Rico, I finally settled on The Ritz in San Juan. I am so glad that I picked this hotel! The room was comfortable and beautiful, as well as quiet. We picked a "pool view," but it included a nice ocean view as well. Everything about the hotel was wonderful - the beach, the pool, the room, the food, the spa, the service, the casino. The staff took incredibly good care of us, and every person was friendly. The casino was fun and our money lasted a very long time. We had a little trouble with our bathroom when we first checked in, but the hotel fixed the problem right away and offered us a free dining credit to make up for any inconvenience. Our stay at The Ritz could not have been more wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarKettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay! Included breakfast was delicious every morning. Food was great every where actually! Service on the beach was good. Our "suite" was small in comparison to other RC ones we have stayed in. Casino is off to one side, so was not a main part of the hotel. Security was also very good.
Wish we would have island hopped a bit, but it was a great trip. Would go back!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodyhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in march 2013. Hotel was beautiful very clean. Rooms are very nice. Service is great.. Very nice beach area and pool area. Decent casino for a hotel. Pricey but you get what you pay for. 5 minutes from airport but you don't hear a thing.. Overal very nice hotel..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jemilio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is 5' away from the airport. Not a lot of activity around the property itself, you would need a car to go just about anywhere. Nice lobby area. The rooms are standard Ritz Carlton, on the old fashioned side of decor, kind of 'stuffy' in overall. The bed was absolutely outstanding, though.

The hotel has a small beach, but it's nothing to write home about. The water is not particularly clear and the sand on the dark side. There is a massive pool that was very busy during the two days of my stay. Mostly young families with a sprinkling of an older crowd.

There is a 24/7 casino which I didn't visit and which didn't seem very busy. There are also several restaurants on site.

I ordered a chicken salad and a bottle of water via the room service. The total bill including grautity amounted to $42.00. I thought that was excessive, even for a Ritz Carlton.

Had a fairly large group and we spent some time at the lobby bar. Friendly staff but incredibly, just incredibly slow service. Very frustrating. Friendly reminders did nothing to expedite the service. They were just moving very, very slow. No apologies were ever given.

Front desk seemed understaffed. I observed long lines a few times during the day. I had to wait a few minutes for check-in and check-out was quick, although I had to ring the bell a few times to get a clerk to show up.

If you are in San Juan on a short trip and need to be close to the airport, this hotel is a good option. I can't imagine staying there for anything other than a hotel layover. Not a great beach, expensive and nothing special.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool or the beach. To keep things quiet, try to get a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. This is among the nicer hotesl in Isla Verde and probably stacks up well agains the greater San Juan market. However, that is all that this hotel seems to reach for. That makes this Ritz different, in that it is just good enough to appeal to travelers relative to the other luxury hotels in the market. The other RCs I have enjoyed didn't simply pursue this 'good enough' standard; they all wanted to hold up to the global Ritz standards, and this property, while pleasant enough, falls short in that regard. The staff was friendly across the board (I found this to be the case all around SJ, really friendly folks). The room was quiet and comfortable, although furnishings were a bit spartan for a Ritz. The mojitos are refreshing and lethal if enjoyed in multiples. What was noticeable were numerous examples of deferred manitenance at the property. Gates to the beach were unattractive and the pool area not as spotless as you find at the normal Ritz. The beach area seemed a bit crowded, but this may not be the hotel's fault. Stained awnings, and several unrepaired external defects that are common in tropical climates, but the kind of thing that Ritz generally doesn't let slide at one of their properties, regardless of location or climate.

None of this was a real issue since I was there briefly and on business, but it would be if I had brought wife or family here for an extended stay. The rates here aren't as steep as at nicer Ritz locations, so it seems that Ritz knows it cannot charge a normal luxury premium for a property with these limitations. I haven't made it to the Ritz Dorado which is west of SJ, but I understand it is beautiful, new and the rates reflect the higher standard of luxury. The TA reviews on Dorado suggest some growing pains for the new property also.

Hard to say if this property's issues are specific to the hotel, management or are just a result of the limitations on how to profitably run a hotel in PR. This island could be so much more, but it needs to wake up, improve traveler awareness and make itself more attractive amongst a very competitive Caribbean tourism market.

Strictly compared vs other RC properties, this would earn a 'two', but I've added a third because this remains a good alternative among its local competition.

Room Tip: Direct ocean view rooms are few. Standard rooms are indistinguishable from a typical Marriott, exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoonPieOnI-20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
26.0 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing