We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway for 50th”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway for 50th”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel to get away for his 50th. We had a wonderful time, first off we arrived around 5:30 in the morning and they were able to give us a room until ours was ready which was very nice, it is very convenient from the airport and we found the neighborhood safe for venturing out, we usually went out to breakfast and would walk around early in the morning and people in the neighborhood were friendly, we also went out one evening and I didn't feel unsafe walking to a nearby restaurant. At the resort itself, yes the food, drinks, etc are expensive but honestly even at other nearby less expensive resorts it is about the same. Not a huge fan of the additional hotel fee $90 per day they should just roll that into the price instead of surprising people with it at the end, I knew about it in advance so not a shock but it did keep me from upgrading my room knowing about it ahead of time. BLT steakhouse was top notch. The employees we encountered were always polite, willing to help and each was nicer then the last. We walked the beach and it is immediately noticeable that the beachfront on the Ritz property is well cared for in comparison to the surrounding resorts. Only two things that are by no means a complaint but more of something that would have enhanced my personal experience, I wish they had some nice tropical music or maybe even some live music on the beach for a few hours in the afternoon, its lovely and peaceful but some soft music would have been a nice addition and some sort of nightlife at the resort aside from the lobby band and casino, there was a private function going on near the beach one night and had that been a night club I think it would have been filled with people like us looking for something fun to do without having to leave to go find it. Beach fare food was tasty and not having to leave the beach to eat or get drinks was exactly what we wanted, nothing like relaxing in the sun and having it delivered to you, it was busier on Saturday and they could probably use a few more waiters, our waiter on Friday Will was a gem, such a great guy and on Saturday Juan was also so calm and nice despite trying to accommodate a packed beach. Another great perk is that you can order food from any of the restaurants on site and they would deliver where-ever you choose to eat, meaning if we wanted to eat from BLT by the pool we could. We only stayed for a weekend but I would absolutely love to return and stay at the Ritz again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 9th floor with a pool view and partial ocean view, nothing special really but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    865
    465
    179
    133
See reviews for
782
1,210
73
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We recently spent 7 nights at the Ritz San Juan and really enjoyed ourselves. The service is first rate and every member of the staff is welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had a city view room on a high floor - the room was beautiful and had a great view of the city and mountains beyond. The pool area is spectacular with plenty of chairs and towels, the beach is wide, clean, semi private - the water is blue/green and although it isn't like beaches you would find in Aruba or Grand Cayman it gets a 9 out of 10.
We did the 1/2 day rainforest hike through Castillo Tours and spent one day wandering around el morro (fort) and Old San Juan. The rest of the time we hung out at the resort and our biggest decision of the day was beach or pool?
The restaurants are superb and expensive - we had dinner at Il Molino and it was a dining experience I will never forget. The breakfast buffet at Mares is excellent ($30). If you want a good breakfast for less try Candalaria Bakery down the block. We also ate ate at Chilis, Outback, Jimmy's BBQ, Soleil Beach Club [they will pick you up if you call], Metropol [try and stay away from the fried options]

Skip Mi Casita - awful

In Old San Juan - go to Cafe Puerto Rico and taste a real Mofongo!

Be prepared for less than stellar wait service after you leave the Ritz - I have never had so many lousy waiters who don't think returning to the table after food is served to ask if everything is o.k. is necessary. Tip appropriately or they will never learn!

And yes, the some of the area surrounding the hotel is a bit run down but folks this is San Juan, a big city and like most big cities are a mixture of progress and decay. We never felt unsafe walking around Isla Verde though.

When you come back to room in the evening and realize that your bed has been turned down, chocolates on your pillow, soft music playing, coffee supply replenished, ice bucket filled, and a note card on your nightstand quoting something like "you can never have too many pillows" you will remeber why staying at the Ritz is so cool - it's the memories you will cherish long after you depart

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJG1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have been at this resort several times. In 1998, it was fabulous - 5 star. Now, totally a two star. You might have two excellent restaurants but everything else has become disgraceful for a Ritz Carlton property. Believe me, others are complaining even to corporate. Your "common/public" areas need upgrading which means sitting on the chairs and sofas. Get new ones. They look worn and dirty. Your paid staff does not even clean up regularly - are they lazy? Where is management? Look under the tables in the main lounge -- under the glass. As for the pool and outdoor dining staff - when was the last time they used the washing machine or iron for their clothes? Some even came to work with soiled clothing. Do you care? What about the chaise lounges on the beach --- look at them without a cover. They even have mildew on them. As for your "breakfast" restaurant .... your servers are never focused on the customer and what they ordered. It is a disgrace. Must say, love BLT and the casino. As you can see, these two areas do not have the same employees as the hotel does. As for the rooms .... need to upgrade since you charge so much. Have a field trip to your sister property in Orlando, etc. Pay attention to details and their service model. They are an A and you are a D- in the staff and service area. The pool staff .... I guess this was my personal favorite. All they wanted was a tip to set-up your chair and then, once tipped, they could care less about you. What kind of service is this? Where is management? I heard all about their weekends while I was trying to read. They should be focusing on the customers, not yapping.

Room Tip: Maybe concierge except people tell me the rooms are just o.k. and they serve baloney in the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank I5678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just got back from Puerto Rico last night and I could not wait to write a review. This was the first time we visited the Ritz and are planning to make it an annual trip with our family. The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms, pool, beach, restaurants & staff are all top notch.


We spent every day by the pool with my 8 month old son. One of the staff, Pablo Santiago, really went out of his way to make the experience enjoyable for my family. He was there every afternoon to greet us with a friendly smile and get our family situated by the pool. By the last day my sister in law went out to the pool to see our chairs waiting for us with Pablo ready to greet her on his way to get a pack & play for my soon to play in at the pool.

This was just one of the many reasons that we're already planning a trip for next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

What can you say about a bar that won't open until 5pm and no craps until 6pm. This casino is small, needs more staff and focus on the needs of their players. The games are limited, it's not too comfortable sitting down. The dealers are fine as is the waitstaff like Arturo Cuevas, the best bartender. It's a shame they don't do more to make your play a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Based uppn our stay this week, Ritz Carlton deserves their excellent reputation for exceptional service. The staff was terrific and so was the food. Especially loved BLT steakhouse.
The $86/day "resort fee" was an unexpected (and exorbitant) surprise at checkout after paying $600/day for a regular room...
Food and drinks were also wonderful though quite expensive. $14 for a mojito for example.
Would love to come back here but would have to find a way to lower the total cost.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Well. The problem with the Ritz San Juan is that it happens to be located in PUERTO RICO. Haha. I've stayed here several times as a business requirement and it's a nice resort.
Nice, clean casino with a fantastic beach and pool area.

Two superb restaurants at this location. Il Mulino is a wonderful place to have dinner.
With all this said, the problem is that outside any of the hotel gates, the entire island is unappealing. Dirty, congested......

If you must go to San Juan, this is the place to stay. But if you're vacationing in the Caribbean.....go to St. Maarten or better yet, St. Barths.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clyons24542001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
3.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
26.0 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing