We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience is everything!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

As with anything, personal experience is everything. So I write this review based solely on my personal experience. From arrival to departure, the service was par excellent! I suprised my girlfriend with a stay there before our holiday/birthday cruise. Although we normally stay at nice hotels, her reaction was are we really staying here? Lol. We never opened a single door, and were greated by name with champagne at checkin. The decor of the lobby was very classy and the beach was georgeous. There was a wedding party on the premises but it didn't intrude on anyone elses experience. The room we had was not huge but fine enough for the 2 of us. Our bathroom was beautiful. We enjoyed a fantastic breakfast at Mares in the morning. The omelet station was phenomenomal! I highly recommend and will gladely return upon our next trip to San Juan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rome_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,953 - 1,959 of 3,263 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our second trip back to this property. It was just as great as we had remembered. The convenience and service are what make this place tops for us. As other reviewers said...it is a 5 minute cab ride from the airport, which is tremendously helpful. You can be off the plane and on the beach immediately and there is no airport noise at all at the resort. The resort is also walkable to Walgreens, El San Juan Resort, Metropol - a favorite lunch spot, Las Canarias Bakery - a next door local restaurant with awesome coffee and breakfast sandwiches.
The service at this hotel was tops - from restaurant to beach to casino to housekeeping - everyone was friendly and helpful. Out trip was for 5 nights between Christmas and New Years and we were treated to "gifts" every night in our room during turn-down service - bottles of wine, souvenir mugs, fresh baked cookies, etc. Also...the concierge gave really good recommendations for restaurants. We enjoyed Pikaya, Kokos, BLT...but certainly don't miss Pamela's - our FAVORITE spot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cincygal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz over New Years with 2 children and our experience was mixed. The service outside of check in was what you would expect from a Ritz property (we did not get into our room until 6:30p after arriving around 2p, but they did compensate us).

The rooms are small with NO balconies. We did look to upgrade to a room with a balcony, but the price was extremely high and the room was no larger than the basic room.

The food and restaurants are very good with prices to match. There are no complaints in this category.

I found the hotel to be lacking for kids. We paid for one morning kids club session for our two children (at a cost of $110). However, the program consisted of two very nice women babysitting. There was nothing organized so we did not do this again. There is a basic game room, and I would suggest to the hotel to keep it open past 7p.

The pool was nice but very cold. The beach was nice and clean and compensated for not being able to stay long in the pool.

The area is lacking for local restaurants, so expect to take a taxi if you are not eating at the hotel.

Bottom line, nice San Juan hotel for adults, but I will not return with my kids.

Room Tip: There are no balconies for the vast majority of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gjv12474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hotel with superb service. Beach can get a bit crowded (get their early in the morning to secure a spot), but is beautiful. Location to the airport is a huge plus (we arrived at 12:30 the day after Christmas and were on the beach before 1:30). Can't say enough about the service...top flight in all respects.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank thecitadel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This Hotel, is located 5 min from airport, don’t worry, you won’t hear planes. Was there from Dec 23 to De 30th 2012. Very busy time, it’s hard to fine chairs at the pool. We paid 1000$ per night for one of the worst room I had at the Ritz up to now. But still room was nice, bed was too soft. Restaurants are good, but no experience from any Sommelier. Eliot at the pool area will do anything for you, give him a couple of $$$ his service is great. Also dont expect frech fruits. One bummer, my wife order a LOUIS 13 Cognac at 265$ a shot, I ask the waiter to bring the bottle to table to pour in front of us, he did not, and my wife did not recognize the taste, so i order another one but specify strongly to bring the bottle, the fist one had different color, and it was surly not the same taste. Very disappointing coming from the Ritz. BUT WILL COME BACK

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPN65Montreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 5 night stay. I have have stayed at this property in 2002 and 2006. There has been a significant improvement in service since my earlier stays. From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly by the bellman out front and by the person at check in. I upgraded our room on arrival to an ocean view room from the pool view room but it wasn't worth it. Without a balcony the ocean view room means nothing IMO. The hotel room was very nice and clean. The staff at the pool were great and always set up chairs for us and giot us food and drinks with no problem. The beach is very nice...no seaweed. There is a calm area and area you can surf if you like. We ate at BLT and iMulino (twice)...both were excellent. Resort fees are high and the room rates can be as well. Fitness area is small and not a lot of machines or benches. Think they had about 6 treadmills and 4 eliptical machines. However we really liked this hotel and would definitely return. Its an easy 5 minute ride from the airport and with 6 non-stops a day from Jetblue its an easy get away.

Room Tip: avoid paying for ocean view room unless you get a balcony...pool view is just as nice and cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent service from everyone at the hotel, but everything else seemed on the decline. Disappointed in the very high room rates with decline in amenities( which I guess is because of the new Ritz Dorado)--just not worth it - small rooms, exorbitant resort few, yet no longer offering free non-motorized beach rides as in the past. Annoying magnetic cards to get to your floor in the elevator.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Audree10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
19 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $369 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing