We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz - Nov, 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel
----------
My girlfriend and I (NYC residents) visited San Juan Nov 9-14 2012. We landed at the airport , easily got a CAB $21+TIP (FLAT RATE) to the Ritz Hotel. (10 mins). Was greated by the bell hop and checked in immediately. Got no champagne, but we were not long enough in lobby (which I like). Got a good rate $190/night .. room was very nice, view faced the front of hotel.(did not care, only used the room to sleep). Service was great. Got desert at night .. Loved it

Beach
---------
Beach was great. We got 2 chairs and plenty of towels every day. Swam in ocean .. Fantastic.

Food
-------
Everything in hotel is expensive, so we walked to Walgreens and got beers and snacks for the day. Plenty of resturants , bars within walking distance (500 yrads) that are less expensive. (Metropol, Dennys, Chilli's, plus alot of other places).

Activities
------------
Took the local bus one day to Old San Juan. Great time seeing the sites on the ride and getting to know the locals. $0.75 (cant beat that). (30 mins) Old San Juan was nice place to walk around , take pictures, have lunch and a few drinks.
Did not go to Barcardi factory .. Heard it was not worth the time.
San Juan Dance club was closed,(Thurs-Sun Only). We did hang out at bar and gambled in its casino.. lots of fun.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hangle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,253)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,989 - 1,995 of 3,253 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went for a quick weekend getaway. Location near the airport was convenient for meeting others in our group who were flying in from other cities. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Windows are sound proof so the rooms are quiet, but the hotel entrance is just yards from the main runway. When a plane takes off it's seriously loud out there!

Hotel is large with a big casino downstairs which makes it feel very impersonal. Different from most Caribbean properties by offering no beach activities despite the $60 resort fee--no sailing, wind surfing, paddle boarding or snorkeling here--which was a big disappointment.

The lowpoint was definitely the food at the beach and pool restaurants which was poor. And the frozen drinks were bad enough that we were only ordering beer by the 3rd day.

Booked through Amex FHR and received room upgrade from poolview to junior suite which was much appreciated. In general, I'm happy to have stayed here once but would probably not return. If the sign outside had said Marriott, I would have believed it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandMNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our 5 day stay was made special by the extra services,The hotel is clean and very near the airport,Our check in was good even had even a gift that was provided by the jewelry shop,truly nice touch.
Had mention to the hotel my husband BBD date and our celebrating again our honeymoon,So we were surprise coming back to our suite from having dinner to find heart shape rose petals in our bed and everywhere in the room ,soft music in the background chocolates by the bed a surprise Birthday card and birthday present = was a very nice large beach bag +.
Good service in all the restaurants and even the poolside service was excellent.
Free bottle water was provided this is extra nice It's hot and humid in Puerto Rico You need the water!There is also unlimited fruit flavor water,orange,watermelon etc,not bad.
The only disappointment was the charge of the pavilion by the pool this was,$250.00 we wanted a quiet place in the shade. but we could only enjoy a couple of hours of this & it was not quiet because of the many kids & it also stared to rain.
We also enjoy special dinners at the Mulino Restaurant,The BLT Restaurant and great breakfast at The Mares Restaurant,All of this inside the Hotel.
A block away from the Hotel there is a Walgreen's and across the street from this The Metropol Restaurant 1/2 Puerto Rican 1/2 Cuban pack with locals,not fancy but good food.
We also enjoy coffee and pastries @ the Canarias restaurant 1/2 block from the Hotel.There is a strong police presence we felt safe walking around.
The beach side is beautiful and has also very good service.
Driving to the hotel and going to the historic sites was a bit tricky,no signs on some of the hwys,if you take the wrong turn it's not easy to come back
to the same expressway.you also need a prepay toll sticker to navigate.
Overall it was a nice stay,great hotel good casino and memorable good service.

Room Tip: Higher floor have nice balconys and best oceanfront & poolside views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckys111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have been to Puerto Rico on several occasions; however this was our first trip to the Ritz Carlton. We will be back and can't believe it took us this long to try this property.
The Ritz is a very short drive from the airport, so your vacation begins right away. We have stayed in other hotels in the same area and I must commend the Ritz as we never heard noise from the airport. The bellmen were very good. They were friendly and helpful with luggage and taxi service. The front desk was great and the welcome drink and interaction with the staff as soon as we arrived was a great touch. The concierge was helpful and friendly. The property appears to be a little bit older, but well maintained. Our room was clean and well stocked. We were upgraded to an ocean front room that had a great view. The service at the beach and pool were good. My only complaint was some unsupervised children in the pool (not a fault of the hotel). Since the pool area is large possibly consider an adult only area.
Overall we really liked the property. We will return. We love Ritz Carlton properties in general. Our only disappointment is that they have discontinued the Bvlgari products.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheetah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you are looking for an easy trip to the sunshine, this is a great place. The hotel is nice enough, definitely not fancy...if you can go for a cheap rate, is a perfect spot for a quick weekend away. Located five minutes from the airport, the hotel is right on the beach, has a nice tennis court, very busy pool scene, and is an easy trip to town. Would stay here for 3-4 days max.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyBren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here November 7th through the 11th, 2012.
We chose the Ritz because we have good friends who have stayed here for the past 5 years in a row. This was our first time visiting and we will be back.
This is a beautiful property. They have recently renovated a lot of the resort and it is really a wonderful place to stay! The beds are very comfortable, with quiet rooms that have good working air conditioners. The grounds are lush and well kept. The pool has plenty of chairs, tables and umbrellas and is staffed well to help with all that. The beach area also is well run with plenty of loungers, umbrellas and staff. This beach has the softest sand I've ever stepped on! And the water was clear, warm and perfect! There is beach service with a staff coming around taking drink & food orders as well.
There's a pool bar conveniently located to the pool and beach.
FREE bottled water at the resort is a nice touch, as well as fruit flavored ice water that you can fill up your glass or bottle all day long as many times as you like!

Spa is newly renovated and is really lovely inside. Didn't get any services this time but it is lovely.
Nice, well equipped newly renovated gym with plenty of exercise machines.

15 minute cab ride to Old San Juan. 5 minutes from the airport. Restaurants in walking distance, including Ruth's Chris 2 blocks away.

I want to say that the people here really make this place special! Very kind, service oriented happy staff!

When we checked in and were getting settled into our room a manager came up with a gift bag for my boyfriend that had a personalized happy birthday card and a Ritz Carlton San Juan hat inside! What a nice gesture! I wish I knew her name so that I could mention it in my review!

Jeremy makes omelets in Mares, which is the restaurant that serves the breakfast buffet. He made everything so much fun and special! I told him that it was my boyfriend's birthday and he had the chef make a plate of chocolate covered strawberries, with a happy birthday message on the plate, as well as two mimosas! He is a lot of fun and we had a great time seeing him there! Thanks Jeremy! See you next time!

Robert at OBG pool bar was an awesome bartender with a smile and a laugh for us each time he saw us!

Omar was also at OBG pool bar! Very funny guy with a great personality!

To sum it up, this is a fabulous place to stay! We were also told that it is the only hotel in this area with beach service, which is nice!

Can't wait to go back next year!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean front room on the 5th floor! Loved our room but if we had chosen a higher flo...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cupcake0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were guests at a wedding that was being held at the hotel and stayed for 3 nights. Jeannie at the front desk was incredibly welcoming and warm and even helped us to upgrade our room for a very reasonable rate.

My wife used the spa once and was very impressed. The food at the restaurant by the pool was all very good, and all drinks were expensive, but stiff.

The Mares restaurant breakfast was also worth the money. Everything was on the pricey side, but that's to be expected and in most cases was worth the money.

Every single member of the hotel staff that we talked to from the bellmen to the beach attendants were some of the nicest people we've ever met.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aceholeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
3.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $288 - $1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing