We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at Ritz Carlton San Juan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Boston,MA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Time at Ritz Carlton San Juan!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I've learned to take some reviews and understand not everyone is easy to please. I came to the Ritz on a Business/Pleasure trip and I was pleasantly surprised. I come to PR every year and stay at other resorts but this was the best in terms of in San Juan.

Pros:
-Excellent Location - $20 cab ride to Old San Juan, nearby restaurants, etc. Right next to the airport yet you rarely hear a plane.
-Newly Renovated Rooms - More modern/Art Deco..I stayed in a Ocean Front Balcony and I highly recommend it. Some of my co-workers stayed in regular rooms with no views at all. I'd recommend Pool or Ocean View/Front rooms
-Food - The restaurant on the beach has the best fish taco's I've ever had. BLT is always a great time. We ate twice at the hotel but mostly went to Old San Juan for dinners
-Overall service was Okay- Certainly not a true Ritz Carlton experience
-Beach is great - Excellent service and waiters certainly worked for their money. Tipping helps!

Cons:
-As any high end resort, prices are sky high but you know what your signing up for when booking the Ritz Carlton.
-As mentioned in Pros, Service was okay. What would make this property that much better is reorganizing the service aspect of their business. Waiters to be more attentive, front desk to be more willing to help rather than look like they are going out of their way to help. When your paying $600+ a night, this is unacceptable. Now don't get me wrong, everyone was very nice but again, with brands like St. Regis and Ritz Carlton you expect a certain level of service that nears over the tops. I'd pay a $1,000 a night if the bellman called me by my last name every time they saw me (Yes, this actually happens at places like Four Seasons, St.Regis etc.)

Overall I had such a great time I am headed back there in May with my wife. We love San Juan and have a new hotel on our list to continue to stay in. Just hope they implement more training to their staff to recognize their guest. Otherwise, stay at the Ritz!

Room Tip: Pool view or Ocean view or Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GottisEgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,552
    869
    469
    181
    134
See reviews for
795
1,219
74
355
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by Yarisa who was fabulous, amazing, sweet and delightful. She was so apologetic when our room request couldn't not be accommodated until the following night, she was the best.
The hotel was luxurious, clean, and very accommodating. The food was great. Our beach lunches were delicious, but the best meal was at Il Mulino. It was stellar. Great relaxing trip. I would go back in a second.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojozapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ritz-Carlton in San Juan and have to say that visiting over 10 Ritz-Carltons, this one does not live up to its name. Their service is terrible. I pulled up and there were no bellman to help with my luggage or the door, the maid walked in on me without knocking, the poolboys were nowhere to be found and the waitstaff was too busy chatting with each other rather than attending to me. This property needs some serious help service-wise and does not live up to Ritz-Carlton standards.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hazzy724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

After reading a few negative reviews about this hotel on Trip Advisor, I have to admit that my wife and I were concerned about our upcoming stay. We recently returned from a 5 day stay here and have nothing but amazing things to say about our experience!

The room was beautiful, clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet. We called in advance to request a feather free room, an extra fridge and early check-in. All of our requests were graciously met. I felt that throughout our stay, the staff went the extra mile to make sure we were always comfortable and taken care of. Our two daughters, ages 4 and 6, were thrilled with the Ritz kids program and all of the restaurants offered a very reasonably priced kids menu.

The beach was clean and beautiful. There was absolutely no seaweed on the beach (as someone previously commented) and the pool area staff were very friendly and accommodating.

In addition, the location of the hotel is fantastic. 5 minutes away from the airport and not noisy at all, 15 minutes from beautiful Old San Juan (20.00 cab ride) and short walking distance from a Walgreens and 24-Hour large grocery store.

My wife and I highly recommend this hotel and are looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have stayed at this property at this point almost ten times.

I have not once had a negative experience. One of the things I enjoy most about this Ritz is the staff. They always take the time to say hello and make the experience as enjoyable as possible for you. Additionally I have always enjoyed the patio breakfasts, and of course, sitting by the beautiful pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

On our vacation to puerto rico we were caught in hurricane Irene! So going from a powerless, humid, and unorganized hotel that apparently did not know how to address guest after a storm we were so happy to walk into the Ritz! They greeted us at the door, walked us up to the counter to check- in, and brought us more water and coffee as soon as we asked! The hotel was also hit just not as bad as ours in fajardo so we couldn't go to the beach or swim in the pool for a day or so. The restaurants were nice and food was good everyone was so nice! I know I would come back here if we ever decide to go back! You never know when a vacation will go bad, but I am glad we came to the Ritz to try an salvage what was left of our crazy vacation!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommy2aprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The only thing I'd add besides the BLT steak was awesome and the hotel is sweet etc is that we went down to the El San Juan (Hilton?) and that place was 1/2 the price and just about as nice. It was very cool like Vice City Miami with a Niger casino and nice bars, swanky. I'd consider staying there for 1/2 the money next time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheRockffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
3.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
26.1 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing