We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

La Playita Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #10 of 42 Restaurants in Isla Verde
Price range: $7 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
flowood, ms
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband had skirt steak that was very good and I had shrimp. They tasted like they came out of a grocery store frozen food bag with no seasoning. His steak was good but my dish was bad. Manager compensated me for half the cost of my entree. The restaurant sits on the water so the view is good but basically it is a bar...plastic chairs type restaurant...definitely had better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    222
    102
    24
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We would go back!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

After reading alot of mixed reviews about La Playita we were on the fence, but decided to go anyway. Like some have already said the service is a lil spotty. We had to wait an unusually long length of time for someone to come over after we sat down. I ended up flagging down a waiter, but from that point on he was on his game and took good care of us!
And for the reviews that said they got a free Speciality drink? Im not sure when they went or if it was for a limited time, but we arrived for dinner at 7 and asked about the Coco Loco and he told us we could order one but it wasnt on the house?? So i dunno!
I ordered the Churrasco Mofongo and enjoyed it ALOT. I would go back there and I would probably order this same dish. All in all it was a nice dinner experience. I've been to alot of restaurants in PR and while this wasnt the "most authentic Puerto Rican experience" its on the water, they have Puerto Rican cuisine and the vibe was good. I will recommend La Playita to friends!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicol572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It's not easy to get to, but worth the effort. Great food, great hospitality, and a beautiful view.

Five of us showed up on Christmas night, hungry, at 700pm with no reservation. We were taken to a table immediately, and drinks came fast.

We ordered the mofongo, which was delicious. The wings were fine- not great, not bad. The giant coconut drink was sweet, delicious and strong. The service, up to the main course, was great.

Then there was a fire in the kitchen. Not sure there really was a fire or that it was disorganized, but quick refills (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) for free made everyone happy. Ultimately, all but one dish came out. The burger was great, and the mahi mahi was excellent. the shrimp carbonara was a little more of a alfredo sauce and only okay. One dish long delayed, came out when we were ready to leave- they offered to wrap it to go and took it off the bill.

The service was off, but with five free drinks, a free dinner item, we were well attended to.

It's a fun, low key, inexpensive- even if we paid for the drinks and additional menu item.

I enjoyed it a great deal. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sgwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great view”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Service was mildly slow but if you accept your on island time you will be fine. Food was good all the way around and the restaurant was clean and kept up. Prices were moderate. I would go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTheWorld-MemTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We walked out after an hour after not getting our food.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is an adorable restaurant with a fab view of the ocean. That's where it ends. We waited 15 minutes to get a menu and when we tried to order a drink when he dropped off the menu, we were told "wait a minute". They basically got angry with us and chose to ignore us. We walked out after an hour.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playita Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to La Playita Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing