We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very festive.”
Review of KOCO

KOCO
Ranked #17 of 42 Restaurants in Isla Verde
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very festive.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Went for my daughter's birthday. The waiter paid special attention to the children, making them giggle throughout the evening. The food was delicious especially the fish taco. Fun atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    52
    21
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Fine Place To Grab A Meal”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Located in the beautiful El San Juan Resort, KOCO is billed as a modern Carribean restaurant, rum bar, and lounge. Brightly decorated, modern, and staffed with people who provided impeccable service, KOCO provided a menu of favorites plus those with a little twist. An example would be their signature mojitos, served with nearly every type of fruit mixer under the sun. My guest had a seared tuna that was delicious, but my paella ended up being too salty for my taste. However, I will still recommend you try out this culinary experience for yourself.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EricKristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a truly terrible experience at Koco on New Years Eve, probably the worst restaurant experience we've ever had. Something was clearly wrong at Koco - it was understaffed, they had clearly double booked reservations, there was no identifiable manager in sight at any time, and the hostess made a bad situation much worse by not informing anyone waiting about the situation or when they might hope to be seated, and acting downright rude when would-be patrons asked. We witnessed a waiter punching a wall at the bar and storming out, people walking out, and a table who'd been seated for over an hour being informed that the dishes they'd ordered had run out and they would have to start all over again and order something else. Our reservation for 4 was at 9pm; we stuck it out and managed to be eating food by midnight. Our waiter was nice and my coconut risotto was tasty, but my daughter's steak was tough and steak fries were uncooked in the middle. Since we selected this restaurant in part because of the reviews on Tripadvisor, we thought we should post our experience. We go to Puerto Rico during the holidays and usually stay in Isla Verde but we will definitely NOT be back to Koco.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M&CMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We ate here for dinner while staying in the El San Juan Hotel and it was delicious! Although we had a reservation, it was not needed for the (relatively) early time when we were eating. The service was wonderful and our waiter even gave my husband a small rum tasting at the bar so he could decide which rum he wanted to order with our meal. We had the fish tacos as an appetizer which were fantastic. I had a vegetarian plantain dish and my husband had the seared mero as entrees and both were great and very flavorful. We left no room for dessert but I suspect those were good as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mafels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food - expensive”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We ate a bit later and it was open a bit later, which I liked. The food was good but not fabulous. However, the fruit vinaigrette dressing was very good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOCO also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to KOCO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing