We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Hato Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Hato Verde
Bristol
Level Contributor
244 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The room and bed was comfortable, and bathroom more than adequate. The house is interesting, and we were made to feel very much at home by the owners. The food was very good; we ate in the hacienda all three nights of our stay and had good, varied food each evening. Nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors, even a 6 30 am breakfast. Handy for Cotopaxi national park and Quilatoa. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hacienda Hato Verde is located a short distance from the Pan American Highway. It is a little oasis for the region, with a beautiful old building surrounded by a fence enclosing many cows. The interior is beautiful, the building being partially built of volcanic pumice (very interesting!). The hospitality was top notch, and the dinner delicious. We very much enjoyed our visit to the Hacienda!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank car001RockvilleMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

The proprietor, Maria de Rosario, takes excellent care of her guests. Rooms are nicely renovated with log fires and plenty of space. Food is generally good (they produce their own dairy products) and eaten with the other guests at a group table which we found a very sociable way to meet people and compare experiences. The buildings themselves are nice with good views of the Cotopaxi volcano when weather permits. You may be woken early by the cows!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Segaria226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Hacienda Hato Verde is a wonderful place to stay - and has been certainly one of the highlights of our trip to Ecador. The owners and our hosts Maria del Rosario and Cesar gave us a warm welcome and we felt like beeing at home right from the very first minute. Rooms, food and service are excellent and were above our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

What a treat to find this wonderful hacienda that made us feel so at home! Maria and Cesar could not have been more gracious hosts and the hacienda was warm, cozy, and felt like home from the moment that we arrived. Our room looked out over the pastures with horses and new calves. We had a fabulous day with Cesar riding horses in Cotopoxi National Park. The views, wild horses, great weather were all just perfect , only to be concluded by a great meal at the hacienda. Our tour of the market town ( make sure you are there for a Thursday market) and the volcano crater lake was also very nice. Great thanks to Maria and Cesar for opening their wonderful home to us and making us feel so welcome. Penny and Bill, Conifer, CO

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancelessons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Having stayed at some wonderful haciendas in Mexico we were really looking forward to this. However, despite a warm enough welcome from Maria, this does not warrant a "luxury" label. The house is interesting in a hacienda way but the rooms and en suite were basic. The evening meal was served at the family table and the food was good home cooking. The immediate surroundings are a working farm, rose growing glass houses and a very large factory nearby. We had been in Cotopaxi National Park during the day and wished we had stayed in the lodge at Tambopaxi, where we had had lunch and which was in a wonderful setting.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jaw43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Although the owners were very friendly (especially the landlady), there were some disappointments. We did some laundry and had to pay 72 dollars for that, which is far too much. Second: it has been extremely cold in the house. There was a fireplace, but we've been freezing all the time. The good news is that the bedrooms were excellent and the beds warm. Food was okay, but not great. Sorry to say, we will not recommend this Hacienda.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HardyApeldoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mulalo
9.9 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 3 in Latacunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
17.0 mi away
Rumipamba de las Rosas
Rumipamba de las Rosas
#1 of 1 in Salcedo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 24 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 24 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Hato Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hato Verde

Property: Hacienda Hato Verde
Address: Panamericana Sur Km. 331 | 8 minutes from Cotopaxi National Park, Mulalo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Mulalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mulalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Hato Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Hato Verde is part of an antique big dairy farm. Its elegant farm house, 140 years old, was reconstructed in 2004 preserving its rustic materials such as pumice-stone, decorations and style. The country-house serves as home of the owner and his family and also has ten(10) thoughtfully decorated bedrooms, each with fireplace, bathroom, beds with white duck feather duvets and a beautiful view of the farm. We can accommodate up to 20 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Hato Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hato Verde Cotopaxi, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing