We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately slow service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Head

Kings Head
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bawburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Norfolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Desperately slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Lunchtime sandwiches for two people couldn't be ordered at the bar (one barmaid on duty) so waited 10 minutes for the waitress service (one waitress on duty). Waited another 30 minutes for sandwiches when there was a total of 10 other people dining in the whole pub. Grudging apology justified by the presence of 'a table of 8' and 'a lot of the staff being off with a bug' .... Better customer focused staff training needed I feel ... A pity as the food was good and the weekends do a great roast and level of service when better staffed

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    63
    31
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Really great country pub with a modern twist on some classics. Whilst not to everybody's tastes they have some great cask beers. Really friendly staff and good all round. Went there on business but would equally go with friends and family.

Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Family Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

For one reason or another I had not been to the King's Head, a former favourite, for @ 5years. We called in midweek for a light lunch, which was very impressive, the highlight being a dish of slow roasted pork with scallops. So, as we had a family occasion coming up, we booked for Sunday lunch- four adults, a teenager, a toddler and a dog. The space in the bar we asked for was all prepared, including the requested high chair, for our arrival. The warmth of the greeting and the subsequent service was all that I remembered from a team of lovely young women. OK, after a very prompt drinks service, we had to wait 40 minutes or so for the food to appear- in large portions! The beef, chicken and pork were all correctly cooked, but I was less impressed with the overcooked roast potatoes and hard Yorkshire puds. The desserts were fine including a light bread and butter pudding, lacking fruit however. It was an enjoyable meal, brightened by the smiley service, but we are blessed with so many good places to eat around here, and at £17 for 2 courses and £21 for three it was well overpriced for food that I could cook better myself. So,there is no pressing reason to return for Sunday lunch, although I would return midweek just for the sensational pork and scallop dish!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dunnitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“One of the very best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have often popped in for a drink and always promised we would try the cuisine one day since we really liked the ambiance of this lovely pub and the staff always seemed very friendly. So I'm glad to say we were truly delighted last night with the food and service we received. A party of five, we were all in agreement that this is one of the very best pub restaurants we have visited. The food was excellent, complients to the chef, and the service was great. Friendly, happy looking staff makes all the difference these days. Never pushy or curt. But professional and attentive. We will be definitely visiting again. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisleefm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visited here recently after reading a few of the reviews. Pleased to say I found it fantastic from start too finish.
The service was friendly and attentive. The food was equally as good. There are a few flys around but this did not spoil our experience. Would defiantly recommend and will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob0367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Head also viewed

 
Little Melton, Norwich
Hethersett, Norwich
 

Been to Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing