We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country pub with good food”

The George and Dragon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub with good food”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here twice now. One lunch and one Sunday lunch. Both were very enjoyable. A lovely setting for a drink too, either inside or on the benches at the front on a sunny day. Staff are friendly and eager to help. A pleasure to visit. Only negative is that the music is sometimes a little strange!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    56
    36
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely. But as Columbo would say "...just one more thing".”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great Budworth is undeniabably charming and certainly one of England's most splendid little villages. So it's always rather nice to find an old pub like the George and Dragon at the centre - a bit like thinking you've got five numbers on lotto and realising you've got the bonus ball.

I recently visited the place with some family members we were in Cheshire to see (including a relative of my wife who is soon to have a life-saving op and wants to enjoy himself a little before the big day). The great news is that everyone had a super meal in well kept surroundings.

A big plus. And especially for a thoroughly nice man contemplating his mortality.

The demeanour of the staff, however, was more mixed. The young lady who said she had two young children and served us when we arrived was thoroughly lovely. I'd employ her tomorrow. The couple of young women of above-average pulchritude behind the bar were ok but could have tried smiling more, while a third (a newbie, it seemed) who was also pulling pints and serving glasses of quality plonk to locals was altogether jolly nice.

Alas, a slightly older blonde woman (and I say "older" not to do her a disservice but merely for point of reference) could do with a bit more humility. I might be wrong or have caught her on a bad day (though I seriously doubt either) but there was more than a whiff of arrogance about her general approach. I hope in future that when someone compliments the quality of the fare so unreservedly in future, she tries a more appreciative tone rather than a "Yes, I know it's the bees-knees. And you're lucky that I've just let you spend so much money in my pub, you ghastly little serf" one.

Still, assuming she is the big cheese, then she's still running a good gig. Smug or otherwise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank absenteethoughtlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Cheshire Inn”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Set in the beautiful Cheshire village of Great Budworth, the George and Dragon is the quintessential English country pub. The inside is warm and welcoming and decorated to a high standard. We had come intending to eat one of the reduced lunch meals as advertised on their website. Unfortunately we discovered that these prices were no longer applicable and everything was full price! Undeterred we plumped for the warm baguettes and were not disappointed. They were of generous size with delicious fillings and came accompanied by salad, potato salad and coleslaw. The beer was good but on the expensive side although this is a class establishment. We were disappointed that there was no soap in either the gents or ladies - this shouldn't be the case from a health and safety point of view!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JMyersWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good ambience with ok food and mediocre wine”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went there on a very sunny Saturday. The pub locates in an idyllic English village and has been nicely redecorated. Though the ambience was great, the food and wine was less impressive. The wine and ale they had was rather mediocre. Food was not fresh - I thought they put vinegar in the boiling water for the veg so that it tasted sour. But it turned out that it was the veg or the butter they served was bad. The dessert did not taste fresh either - likely out of a pack sold in supermarkets. Wouldn't recommend to dine but definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuwei42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A haven in a barren county.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I have now been four times although have known the pub. for forty years. The food has never been as good as it is now, contrary to some preceding reports I find the staff to be charming, interested and efficient.
The menu is very comprehensive and I have not found failures. The wine list is far reaching and the wine suggestions on the bar have proved to be good value for money.
In a county which does breed good eating houses the George and Dragon is a reliable haven with a very good warm atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnDSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George and Dragon also viewed

Great Budworth, Northwich
Northwich, Cheshire
 
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing