We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brown Horse Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveler rating
337
134
41
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
337
134
41
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswowcher dealthe pubboth nightsown micro brewerylake districtsticky toffee puddingminute drivefantastic foodbooked a tablebeer gardenbowness on windermeresunday lunchfish and chipsreal alepielittle gemnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 538 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely evening at the Brown Horse , must admit, have not been for several years and had completely forgotten about the place , my husband so an article in a magazine , so we thought we would give it a try . Had a lovely evening , nice atmosphere , pleasant staff and only to happy to help , food was tasty and presented well . we will definitely not forget you and be back soon with friends or family . Very impressed with the service and staff overall and I'm fussy !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RuthF940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Called in at the Brown Horse Inn on the way to Windermere last year and decided we had to go back to stay a night. I love the atmosphere and the decor, it is really relaxing.... The room was large and clean and the bathroom the same. The evening meal was excellent. Our guest said it was the best meal he had had for a long time. The staff were excellent and the weather was on our side as well. All in all was a good visit and will definitely be returning. No signal on my O2 or my friends Orange so you just need to do without for a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jes40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My BFF and I came for some walking, serenity and girl time and this was fabulous! A lovely room with a view over the fields, incredible food, great wine and a lovely outdoor patio. All the staff were amazing, but especially Chelsea! We loved her! This is an amazing find, but PLEASE do not go here for a hen night! It is too wonderful to be spoiled but drunken revellers!!
Close to Bowness on Windemere so we were able to jump in a cab and catch a ferry for a lake tour. And the weather, well we were incredibly lucky with sunshine and glorious warm temps. This is an idyllic spot.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having become regular visitors to the Brown Horse,we now expect and receive a warm welcome which starts our break in the right way.Our room was as usual very comfortable and spotlessly clean.The food choice was from a new and interesting menu.On our three night stay all our meals were cooked as requested and tasted wonderful.We are going for another break in September indicating our complete satisfaction with the Brown Horse.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My partner and I have just arrived back from here, we bought the wowcher deal for a 2 night stay. The inn is located about a 10 minute drive from the centre of Windermere. It's very quiet and family and couple friendly. The rooms are gorgeous and cleaned daily. The food is lovely although a little pricey for us. It is a family run business and all staff are friendly. Would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: There are rooms located just outside of the inn, beside the reception. They are lovely and feel more like appartments. Very spacious and well decorated.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizz_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews