We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food & atmosphere”
Review of Brown Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brown Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pub food & atmosphere”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a family lunch & really enjoyed it; quick service & great food - this is what modern pub food should be about - thank you. Planning to stay shortly hope that lives up to the lunch - I sure it will.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    119
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
59
294
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ROTHERHAM, ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for Easter bank holiday...
I was worries when I booked this with it being a pub, that we would be above the pub and hear everything from downstairs, as I am aware that this is a very busy and popular country pub for all the right reasons..
On our arrival we were met by a lovely young chap who was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us..
We were shown to our room, which to our delight was actually to the side of the pub in a tastefully built extension..
Our room had its own access in or out via a little patio area to the front. This meant that you could return home at any hour and not have to go through the pub.
The room had large one way privacy glass, this was delightful as I could lay on the bed in our room (number 8) and look out over the rolling countryside without anyone being able to look in.. BIG thumbs up from me..
The room itself was decorated very tastefully in a Provence shabby chic look..
Care had be taken to ensure that everything complimented each other.. The bed, dressing area and bathroom were all of good sizes..
The room had tea and coffee facilities and a free view tv..
We had breakfast both days, help yourself to cereal and toast and then order for a hearty breakfast of your choice from the menu..
We have been to Windermere several times a year for the last 10 years. We always stay in Bowness or Windermere.. This place is a couple of miles outside of Windermere so off the beaten track a little.. However because of that you get the peace and tranquility of what you would want from the lakes..
I would highly recommend this place to any friend or family member..
We will be retuning again soon..
A lovely relaxing visit..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PADMIESTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Can't comment on the food. I stopped here for a swift pint and was pleasantly surprised to see that they brew their own beer. The ale selection was excellent and the beer I had was really nice. The person who served me (might have been owner or manager) was knowledgeable about the beer and friendly. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Do sample the ales!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

£12 for a lack of seafood starter!!!!!
Delivered without cuttelry or place mats for ten minutes ( not busy!)
Overcooked steak
Cold spinich riccota,
No check from staff!
Double charged for drinks!
Taking the @ iss out of tourists, this really is the kind of overpriced hole that despite being in various pub and michelin tyers guides really should go bust!!!!!!
Rude idiot staff and overpriced poor food!!!!
Seriously dissapointed and annoyed!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isrm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Haven't stayed at this establishment but had an absolutely fantastic meal here. Unlike other travellers we had no problems at all finding it despite not having a sat nav. The bar area is quirky with large farmhouse style tables and chairs but with candelabra on the tables. Very relaxed atmosphere although they don't start serving food in the evening until 6pm. We therefore took full advantage of a great bottle of sauvignon and a newspaper left on the table. The barman was very knowledgeable about the wine and we ended up with a superb bottle for around £22, think it was called Mud Hut. The restaurant is very nice, relaxing and the food was superb. We didn't intend to have desserts but after a reasonable pause between courses (our choice) we couldn't resist and we were very pleased that we had decided to try them. The only downside to the whole evening was the fact that when we arrived the guy on reception (we came in from the car park) ignored us and he was later to be found in the bar taking bookings and speaking to the staff in a very officious way. i think he was probably the owner but thank goodness his staff knew how to deal with customers as I would imagine he would put people off with his lack of manners. I would definitely return to the Brown Horse as the food is superb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We recently stayed here after booking through Wowcher, and we were not disappointed. The staff were all very friendly and polite. Our room was in an outside area which was an added bonus, as we had a gorgeous view, and could just step outside where there was a table and chairs, which will be ideal in summer! The room was really comfy, and the en-suite was spotless. The breakfast was lovely and varied. The area itself was very peaceful and quiet. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay, and we would definitely return here in the future.

Room Tip: We were not given a choice of room, but ours was outside of the inn, which I preferred, as it felt m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here recently having booked through Wowcher.
Lovely and peaceful surroundings and only a short drive to Windereme and Bowness.
It was lovely and clean, and the food can only be described as EXCELLENT.
We ate in the restaurant both nights.
The staff were very friendly.
Definitely would stay there again and would recommend to others.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
3.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#8 of 20 in Windermere
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Horse Inn

Property: Brown Horse Inn
Address: A5074, Winster LA23 3NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brown Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Brown Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Horse Hotel Winster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing