We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very atmospheric hotel”
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very atmospheric hotel”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Hi

Just back form a 2 night stay at the Ferrycarrick and have to say we had a very relaxing time. The hotel is located in a very picturesque location and is a few minutes drive from Wexford town and other nearby historic towns and sites.

Reception was professionaly efficient , friendly and passed on all necessary information that was required. The decor of the hotel is clean and I thought the restaurant and bars had a nice charm . The room we had was spacious , clean and had all the expected mod cons, and we were lucky enought to be in range ot the free WI-Fi, which Reception declared has a limited range from a central point of the hotel.

Upgrading to a balcony costs €10 per per person per night which we though was a bit over the top so we remained in our assigned room which was to be honest was quite comfortable. Bar music could be a problem if staying in a room nearer to the Lounge but it does stop at 2AM after which it was quiet.

The leisure centre is nice and well presented , except Children are requested to leave the pool at 6PM which for a family friendly hotel is a little bit too early, especially when check in is 4PM.

We only stayed B&B but the served breakfast was presented well and was very tasty indeed. The Dry Dock bar has lovely views and an outdoor deck if you prefer to socialise in the open air - really nice chill out area :-)

We had our evening meal in the hotel in the Dry dock bar and were impressed with the quality of the meals , especially the steak option which was delicious and no more priced than similar fare anywhere else.

There is a Kids club (high season / weekends) but we had our own itenary so my 9 yr old did'nt use it ,but from observations it look's ok .

lastly we found the Staff, from the barmen to the waiters, receptionists to the General manager , very friendly , approachable and came across no problems whatsoever during our stay.

In fact , the attention to small details by the Hotel staff impressed me as if small things are important within the administration it should follow that the more important things are being cared for too.

E.G. Kids Klub information sheets slid under the door in the morning.
Leisure club attendant offering a free cuppa while I was waiting ages for the Ladies
Helium filled baloon tied to the outside handle of the room door on day of dep.

We would definately return and our only gripe was that we wer'nt staying longer ;-)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinxleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    538
    196
    71
    41
See reviews for
602
746
37
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2009

A 2 night b&b deal with one dinner in the Feb. midterm was thoroughly enjoyed. Staff are very professional and can't do enough for you. Food was just fabulous and the menu changed each night we were there, as we dined there in preference to Wexford town on the second night, having had lunch in the bar and dinner at Reeds in the hotel the first day/evening. Breakfast was a buffet type with a choice of basically, all you could eat if you wanted, including an Irish fried breakfast. Filled us up for the best part of the day. Apart from the presence of a large number of children it was great. A baby was allowed to cry in the lobby during the night which kept us awake for a good while, but otherwise all was a fab experience.
I find it difficult to find a hotel in Ireland which provides level-access showering etc for wheelchair users and this was pretty good. Decor in room lovely. Advise disabled people to request separate iron and hairdryer, as the ones provided are not moveable. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the Slaney, which was just gorgeous. For disabled guest, be aware there is a lip on sliding patio door which can be a bit of a problem; I needed pushing out and in. I did recommend to the hotel staff that a small wedge either side of door would enable easy access and egress, so perhaps that might be rectified in future.
Feedback was good, included a phone call to my home in U.K. and a manager who was very much guest aware.
Would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonduzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Stayed over and what a location, what a view from restaurant. I really enjoyed the food, the room was very quiet and had a great sleep. Leisure centre is really good and the pool is top class. Staff brilliant, I left something behind and they called me very shortly afterwards to let me know.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celbridge
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2009

The breakfast was good. Continental on the buffet and hot food was ordered. The meal in the Reeds restaurant was lovely. and the service from the staff was very good. The only complaint I would have about the restaurant is that the seating areas were slightly cramped for space having being seted in the booth and regular seating areas. The bar had a lot of kids running around and thtat really took the pressure off us as our kids are a bit hyper (particularly the 3 year old) as it appeared that a lot of people were in the same boat (like the bar of a holiday complex but a lot more sophisticated) - dont get me wrong not a Trabolgan or anything like that. There was an adults only bar area for those without kids to relax. The bar food was excellent and the service was very good also. The only negative about the bar was €4.60 for a pint.

On the entertainment side of things the kiddies pool was brilliant and the adult pool is grand for those who wanted some exercise. There was also a gym that we didn't get to use. There was a kids club from the age of 4-10 and it was free of charge to drop the kids into. As ours were under 4 they could still avail as long as one of us supervised - the kids loved it. There was also a creche facility for the kids for which there was a charge 5 or 6 euro per hour for the under 4 year old kids but we did not avail of it.

The rooms were nice - flat screen tv and failrly spacious. Although we did upgrade from a family room to a deluxe for 10 xtra pp per night. This gave much needed extra space and they didn't charge for the kids. It also gave us a balconcy with a stunning view of the bay. Convenient for those of you who smoke I would recommend paying the bit extra for the deluxe.

All in all I would recommend for anyone with young kids looking for a family break.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Myself, Hubby & kids (6 & 8) stayed here for Easter weekend (3 nights) in 2 communicating standard rooms. Unfortunately we hadn't read the reviews here first (very unusual for me - but had heard so many great things about this hotel from others that felt didn't need to!). Had booked their standard Easter weekend package: 3 nights B&B + 2 dinners for adults @ €295 pp + 3 nights B&B for kids @ €120 per night: Total €950. Added costs: All kids meals excl brekky, adults lunches and dinner on one night, and drinks, obviously. Not cheap - but we had booked it before we reluctantly acknowledged the recession and were very confident that it would be a great weekend.

First impressions: WELL SHABBY!!
Girl on reception was very friendly, as were all the reception staff throughout our stay. Journey to our rooms was very disappointing - corridors very badly marked - paint and plaster scraped off walls in areas, and many of the doors very badly scratched. Carpets in hallway badly in need of a hoover and didn't appear to get hoovered throughout our entire stay. I realise that this hotel attracts lots of children and therefore wear and tear is very high, but as this is totally to be expected, the adequate level of maintenance arrangements should be in place to suit this extra wear and tear. Otherwise I believe it should not maintain its class as 4 star.

Inside the rooms was lovely and clean and cleaning staff were very good (in the rooms) each day. However, a few things were missing from the rooms: No face cloths (kids needed these), lack of toiletries - all there was was liquid soap in dispensers fixed to wall, which was fine for sink, but if you wanted a bath, it was a complete pain in the proverbial because the dispenser was fixed to the wall so high up that you had to actually syand up in the bath to access the soap, which totally defeats the whole purpose of having a relaxing bath. Same problem with the shampoo dispenser. No conditioner. No hooks anywhere in bathroom (of room 213 anyway), hairdryer was an unbelievably rubbish contraption attached to the wall of the bathroom: Like one of those archaic feeble air blowers - I can't believe a relatively newly built hotel actaully wasted money on these. They are TOTALLY ineffective. Complete RUBBISH. Oh, and no bikkies in the tea/coffee tray!

We were very unfortunate in our allocation of room also, from a view perspective: It seemed that about 90% of the rooms faced the amazing view of the estuary, which rolls right up to the gardens of the hotel, but we were placed around the corner of the semi-circular building, so were actually facing the balconies of all the rooms that had the amazing view. What a tease! This also created some privacy issues, as they seemed very close to us. We had no balcony, but presumably we would have had to pay even more for that (mind you, it would have been nice if we were offered the option at time of booking). No mini-bar, as described on website.

Other BIG problem in rooms was the "satellite TV" that the website declares is available in the rooms. Being big rugby fans we were horrified to find that the "satellite TV" in the rooms was extremely limited (if at all available - we didn't recognise any satellite channels) and as the rugby was to be a HUGE part of our schedule at Easter weekend (4 quarter-final matches of Heinekin Cup, including 2 Irish teams) this was a complete disaster. So down to the bar we went where the soccer was showing and they wouldn't change it (understandable if soccer fans wanted to watch and they were there first). So up to reception to find out what other options there were in the hotel for watching rugby. Answer: None. NONE!! DISASTER. We were distraught (I know any non-sports fans probably think we are over-reacting, but compare it to something, anything, that you were very much looking forward to that was whipped away in an instant).

Anyway, enough about that. Staff in bar not particularly friendly. Definitely seemed to show a preference to locals who were abundant there at all times. Food not brill there either. Restaurant was lovely the first night - much better staff and very accommodating to kids. Lovely varied kids menu with many healthy options. Food was very good. Our second night we ate in Wexford, and then back to the hotel for dinner in the restaurant on our third night. The Table d'Hote menu was the same as it had been our first night. This wasn't very impressive. Waiter said they swap it every second day - not very clever really, when they are offering 3 night packages over a bank holiday weekend. Anyway, we managed. Food didn't seem as good this time (maybe our attitude was getting a bit negative by now).

Full Irish breakfast was good (apart from the large piece of shell I found in my fried egg), but on the second morning I ordered the eggs mornay and the slop that came from the kitchen looked like someone had already eaten it. I have never seen such lumpy disgusting-looking cheese sauce. And it looked like about a pint of the stuff had been poured all over the eggs (which AGAIN had shell in them).

Good points:
1. Kids club: Our kids LOVED it and wanted to spend all day there. Staff were very friendly and interested in the kids. This is free of charge which was also a bonus.

2. Leisure centre: Very clean, good large pool and attractive pool area. Yes it was full of kids, but that's the type of hotel this is, so totally to be expected. Steam room rubbish. Changing rooms very good, clean and spacious (have been in some really bad ones in other hotels). No shampoo in showers, but showers good and hot.

3. Grounds are beautiful (though quite a lot of litter in the bushes and flower beds) and estuary fantastic to look at.

Some fairly simple measures would bring this hotel back up to what would be expected for 4 star, but at the moment, we don't think its good enough.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinyLittleFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Just returned from a weekend break at Ferrybank, staffwere friendly at reception but the Bar staff did not appreciate being busy during the ireland/Wales rugby and complained a lot.
On both mornings the breakfast was dreadful, sausages`and rashers which had been cooked for hours and kept warm in an oven and eggs cooked to oblivion. On the second morning I ordered a Poached Egg hoping for better however the Chef cannot cook an egg as it had been boiled for at least 10 minutes.
the Dinner Menu lacked any imagination and the wine list so over priced they have not heard of the recession.
leisure centre is clean, well run with friendly staff.
Room clean, book a room with a balcony as its strictly non smoking.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinMartinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

we stayed at Ferrycarrig for 2 nights recently. The hotel does not look as pretty on the outside as the website shows but does have a beautiful location on the river slaney in wexford. We were checked in immediately and made our way to our room. Check in was 4pm which we felt was a little late but we were allowed to our room on arrival at 3pm. When we got to our room we thought there was a problem with the heating as the room was ice cold. When we rang to reception (remember this is January in Ireland and Very cold) we were told the heating goes off in the hotel from 10am - 4.30pm or so....we were shocked. So we asked for a plug in heater which was brought to our room and we huddled around it. The bar and restaurant in the hotel are lovely but I certainly wouldn't rate this a 4 star hotel. Its lacking the quality you expect in a 4 star. On the plus side all of the staff we dealt with were really lovely. We really felt the hotel was too cold and the swimming pool could do with less kids.Its open to the public so we gave up after ten minutes as we counted 15 kids in the centre of the pool where we could swim and it was impossible to get past them. Hotel just wasn't what we were hoping. there were things which another lady mentioned which bothered us and overall does not live up to the picture painted on the hotel website. we certainly enjoyed the visit thanks to the staff but wouldn't return.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — temperature and pool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrycarrig
2.1 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.0 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,511 reviews
2.4 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
836 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Property: Ferrycarrig Hotel
Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing