We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but dated rooms!!!”
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but dated rooms!!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Recently attended a family wedding at this hotel. The food served at the wedding was very good as was the service. The hotel is set on the banks of the Slaney with beautifull views. The hotel is only let down by it's dated rooms and general decor.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Thor8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Thor8888,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We were delighted to read of your experience at Ferrycarrig and I greatly look forward to sharing your comments with all of my colleagues. We sincerely appreciate your compliments along with your point of view on the décor of the hotel. On an Annual bases we re- invest in upgrading the property to which a refurbishment is scheduled in our public areas and a number of bathrooms in bedrooms.
Thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Jeanette O’Keeffe,
General Manager
___________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    524
    192
    70
    40
See reviews for
568
722
35
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Christmas at Ferrycarraig Hotel was absolutely fabulous. Our stay was 3 nights. We started with a very generous reception which was to be sherry but port, mulled wine, 3 different sherry’s, tea/coffee, mince pies and shortcake biscuits were provided. We missed the carols around the tree but from all accounts that was fabulous also. Our room was fantastic with lovely views of the river Slaney and a balcony. A leaflet providing information on church services was in our room. A gift of chocolate was also provided. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. All the staff were so helpful, cheerful, informative and united as a team. The menu was fantastic, consisting of at least 7 starters, 8 main courses and 6 desserts. The buffet on Christmas night was fit for a king and had a selection of hot and cold food and desserts. Although it was scheduled to be available for one hour it went on long after that. Staff even came around to each person individually to ensure they wanted nothing more as the buffet was closing. We had requested a particular table in September although not promised we were not disappointed. Entertainment was provided each evening but for me the best entertainment was Giggles the clown. He was so funny and included everyone in his wit. He could make anything and everything out of balloons from teddy bears clinging to umbrellas to airplanes, cars etc. The children loved him. I could go on and on with my praises so a big Thank You Ferrycarrig Hotel. Well done to one and all. You certainly know to make your guests stay so memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Joan E,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review on our hotel and share your experience with others. I am delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us over the Christmas period. I have passed your comments on to the team who were so thrilled to read that they helped make your break a thoroughly memorable stay.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the near future

Kind Regards,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Ferrycarrig at the end of September en route to Cornwall. We booked dinner in the restaurant. It was a Sunday night and we were amazed at how busy it was. The food was delicious. Everything was cooked to perfection. The staff was really friendly and helpful. We were delighted with the food and the service and would highly recommend having a meal there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Graniag,

I welcome your kind feedback which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated. Your complimentary comments regarding our facilities and value provided to you by the team here at Ferrycarrig Hotel are delightful to read. I shall convey your feedback to the Kitchen team whom take great pride in using locally produced with attention given to the preparation, cooking and presentation of each dish.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back in the near future,
Kind Regards
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
___________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Fabulous room. Stunning views off balcony running 2 sides of our suite. All services excellent. Clean and luxurious. Very close to Wexford town and lots of stunning scenery. Would definitely very highly recommend for anyone of any age. We went in Autumn, and it was quiet and relaxing, exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiebel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Pixiebel7,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete your most kind review regarding your recent stay at Ferrycarrig Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We not only pride ourselves in making your stay a comfortable one but also to offer you excellent service with friendly, efficient staff.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Ferrycarrig Hotel on your next visit to Wexford.


Kind Regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe,
General Manager
___________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Fantastic hotel, beautiful setting, and such friendly and helpful staff. We stayed for four days over Christmas whilst visiting family in Wexford and had a wonderful time. Great food and service for breakfast and lunch in the bar. our room was very clean, spacious, modern and in excellent condition. We have stayed at the Talbot and Whites before but would come back to the Ferrycarrig with no hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WaughCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear WaughCE,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to Ferrycarrig. We are truly delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments in relation to the staff being so friendly and helpful.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

news years deal was well too expensive would have been better if food was nicer, room wasn't so hot and maybe a bottle of wine was included with the meal not a glass of champagne.
Room service was very slow. Apart from all that the trip was okay. There are better hotels out there. Don't think I would pay the money I paid to say in ferrycarrig again.

Room Tip: don't choose a ferrycarrig hotel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Ed H,

I would like to thank you having taken the time to complete your trip advisor review regarding your recent visit to Ferrycarrig. We very much appreciate all feedback which assists with reviewing and improving hotel services. I have noted your comment in relation to our price for New Years Eve. Please be assured that our price structure of that time is of similarity of other 4 star properties within the area itself with the added bonus of having Fire Works to ring in the New Year.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you with regards the food as you have not outlined in your review what the issue was. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience to discuss further.

I look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe,
General Manager
___________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over New Year with a group of friends and had a great time. The hotel is lovely as are the staff. We had superior rooms which had a balconys overlooking the River Slaney and the views were beautiful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and really had everything you needed. They were very comfortable and nice and warm which in December is important! The food in the Dry Dock bar is good and reasonably priced. The breakfasts are also excellent. This is the second time we have stayed here and could definitely recommend it to anyone. There is also a pool complex which is great too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with either double doors or a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ardnavalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Ardnavalley,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of us here at Ferrycarrig. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind Regard,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.


____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrycarrig
2.1 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,615 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
800 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Property: Ferrycarrig Hotel
Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing