We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and sympatic hosts, pleasant surroundings”
Review of Quamby Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quamby Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolsthorpe B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The room is spotlessly clean, looks brand new, but a bit without atmosphere. The main building makes up for the atmosphere: a place where you can touch history. We made a nice stroll in the surrounding field, we saw a lot of cockatoos. The hosts welcome you as a relative and we had a good dinner for a very attractive price. Also their wines are reasonably priced, we had a very good shiraz. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 76 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here as a one night stopover between Coonawarra and Apollo Bay. It is a lovely late nineteenth century Homestead which includes a nice period lounge and dining room, which are available to guests.

We arrived around 17:30 and were greeted by the hosts, who showed us around and provided us some info. We had two interconnecting rooms, and our cot was already set up in our room to put our 9 month old daughter down which was nice. The fridge in our room wasn't on though, which was slightly annoying as we needed to store yoghurt and baby food and it took a while to refrigerate but our other room (for my father in law) was on so not a major drama. The rooms were clean, pleasant and nicely furnished, but not large, although there were a couple of small leather leather chairs which were nice. Next door there were two singles, with the same room setup. LCD TV's on the wall, and new bathrooms but with no bench space for toothbrushes, shavers etc. The rooms are cosy, comfortable and easily big enough, if you don't have a cot.

We ate out in Koroit so can't comment on the dinner, but the breakfast was very nice. You order the night before, and give a rough time, then its cooked when you arrive. I had bacon, poached eggs, sausage and mushrooms, wife had a vegetarian option which was taken care of nicely. The food was good and fresh, with cereal, toast, milk and juice also available. Plunger coffee or tea, no 'proper' coffee which is fine for me but my wife is a coffee snob.

Overall it is very good value and a lovely place to stay. Staff were good, gardens are lovely, downside is if you want wifi, its not really available in the guest rooms, although it should be, you have to go outside near the water tank, but then the passwords I were given didn't work anyway, but if you're staying here chances are you don't want wifi. Also, there's limited mobile reception too. I think it would be good to stay for a couple for a couple of relaxing nights, but maybe not ideal for a quick stopover, its a bit far from.... stuff.

Room Tip: The school looks nice and is by itself, the Carriage House is a self contained apartment, we had two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leemondthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Well what can we say but we had a magnificent stay at Quamby Homestead over the two days that we stayed, from the time we drove down the beautiful driveway to when we sadly had to leave. The tranquility of the lovely 3 acres of stunning manicured lawns and English country gardens was very refreshing. The cooked breakfast and light evening meals we recommend.
The warmth of the hostpitality of Ailsa and William Jarrold was just outstanding we couldn't have been more than welcomed to their Homestead.
We will definitely be returning for the warm hospitality, tastefully decorated clean rooms, privacy, relaxation and good food.
Denis and Christine

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

As I lay on my back toasting marshmallows and drinking shiraz in front of the roaring log fire on the polished wooden floors of the Victorian high-ceilinged lounge complete with ceiling roses, marble fire place, polished brass rimmed mirror and floor to ceiling curtains, I wondered why there weren't more places like Quamby. They even have a piano and you're allowed to play it. You're also allowed to walk round the property, check out the alpacas, chooks and cows and savour the lavish gardens, designed by Guilfoyle, the guy who laid out the Melbourne Botanical Gardens. The feel is the same - lush, green, tasteful, expansive and very beautiful. The service and accommodation were exceptional with breakfast on the terrace overlooking the gardens being a highlight. I've travelled and lived all over the world - there aren't many places that combine this level of quality and beauty with such personalised, warm, caring service. There's nothing to do here but relax and enjoy the nature, beauty and tranquility. Visit Quamby before the waiting list is so long you won't be able to get in! Stella Woods, St Kilda, Melbourne

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We did not expect to find such a pleasant place where to spend two nights. The hospitality of the two owners makes you feel at home, and they are ready to help you for whatever you need. The garden is lovely in every detail, and the walk we had around the property allowed us to see a wallaby. Amazing experience. The room was perfect, modern furnished with style and with a lot of facilities. Breakfast is excellent and if you decide to stay at the property for dinner you'll enjoy a light dinner. A corner of paradise worth visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gioshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We only had one night here , after driving the Great Ocean Road from Apolo.
This place was built in 1880 and has so much history. It has a southern feel to it. The main building has the original porch and the entrance into the dinning room has high ceilings, there is a fireplace. When we came back up for dinner the fire was on, it gave it a very warm feeling. The food was very tasty and the price was very reasonable.
The grounds and garden area are beautiful. It's a quite stay. Take a walk in the morning around the pone it only takes about 20 mins. If you like the country this is the place to stay.
William and his wife are great host. They made us feel very welcome. They have some lovely little cottages pass the gardens. Our room was very clean and quite. The bed was very comfortable with a heat pad. That was a nice touch.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms would be great! All are away from the main building where the family live.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Quamby homestead, a historical place, has been beautifully restored and renovated over the last years. The botanical gardens, the ponds, fields, meadows and views are fantastic, you can take a nicely maintained 2 km walk on the grounds, watch all sorts of animals at dusk or dawn, sit in luxurious lounge and dining rooms inside the house and spend a quiet night in immaculate guest rooms spread around the gardens.
The 20 min drive away from the coast brings you into a pleasant South Victoria farming area. For dinner you do not have to leave as there is a choice of meals, which you should acompany by their delicious local red wine.

Room Tip: Old schoolhouse, if you are just two, or the carriage house, if you are four. Both have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Profigast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ailsa J, Owner at Quamby Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Quamby Homestead may no longer stand on the 70,000 acres it once did but the Homestead is still a reminder of the beauty and grandeur of the late 19th Century. And with the 70 acres we do have we try to give guests an experience of both the native landscape and the local farming tradition. Our accommodation - The School House, The Mews Rooms and the Carriage House - and the Homestead, each have a history and a story which we love sharing with our guests too. And we hope that we have brought these historical buildings back to life by sharing them with so many wonderful visitors. Quamby's history is full of colour and life and that is what we hope you can take with you when you have stayed here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quamby Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quamby Homestead

Address: 3223 Warrnambool-Caramut Rd, Woolsthorpe, Victoria 3276, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Woolsthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolsthorpe
Price Range: $118 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quamby Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quamby Homestead, located just 25mins from Warrnambool and Port Fairy, is an idyllic stopover between the Great Ocean Road and the Grampians and en route to Adelaide. This historic (built in 1888) 4 Star homestead offers the opportunity to soak up some history whilst enjoying fine accommodation in the serenity of a 3-acre garden setting. Guest rooms are set within the botanic gardens, separate from the Homestead and all with private entrances. For a short visit, stay in one of the five Mews Rooms with Queen or twin single beds, and our family suite for 4 people. Or for a longer break the original School House and the converted 2 bedroom Carriage House offer the space to relax and unwind. The rooms, all located within the garden, have different outlooks - garden, farmland or the dams and farmland. Soak up the ambiance, relax and enjoy, or spot kangaroo, echidna, possums, and study the historic plantings in a relaxed, private atmosphere. So visit Quamby Homestead to stop and draw a breath or explore the unique volcanic coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quamby Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing