We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chena Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chena Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pleasant Valley
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We just spend a great weekend at Chena Hot Springs in the middle of April when the days get longer, the snow is melting and there are not that many people around. The rooms were good and clean, but showing there age a little. There was a TV, but we did not try it. There is not internet access or cell (depending on provider), but the two teenage girls we had with us adjusted very well and it was nice to not have them glued to their phone for a couple of days. The Rock lake is wonderful and I could spend a week lounging in the hot waters and steam. The showers/changing facilities are very nice and clean. The price seemed a little steep at first, but then we discovered that many of the activities were included with our stay and we took full advantage and enjoyed them tremendously. Be sure not to miss the geothermal energy tour, the dog lot tour and especially the Aurora Ice Museum, it was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosuke_Okada, Manager at Chena Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing Chena Hot Springs Resort. We appreciate your kind review.

With our new Housekeeping Manager on board, our focus going forward is to exceed guests' expectations. Our plans include updating our Signature rooms and Family Suites this summer. We are now pleased to offer wireless internet access in our Activity Center for $10 per day. We value each guest comment, and it will be used to enhance all visitors' experience.

Warmest Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    219
    140
    100
    64
See reviews for
142
270
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roaring Gap, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were in Alaska to see the Aurora Borealis, and the night we rode up the mountain in the Snow Coaches and stayed for a few hours (with Yurts available with heat and hot drinks) we were treated to a magnificent show. The Hot Springs are wonderful (We'd been there before in Summer, and it was great, but soooo good in the cold, with snow on the ground.) Meals and drinks were above average, even for this Vegan. Cocktails and wines were also exceptional. The Ice Museum is really something to see, with it's Wedding Chapel, Cocktail Lounge (Try an Appletini from a carved ice "glass"!), Bedrooms, etc, all made entirely out of ice. Great trails, dog sled rides, places to view the lights...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My review is not for the hotel, but for what we could actually do just driving in for the day. I had never been to Alaska and my husband was deploying from FWW, so we made a day of Chena. I couldn't get passed the sulphar smell to get in the springs, but we did go dog sledding, into the ice museum, and ate dinner (OMG good). My favorite part was actually the food and drinks. I had to drink to endure the cold! ;) I'm also an ice tea drinker (plain) and there's was the best I had in Fairbanks. Dog sledding was great, too. Would definitely recommend for those 2 things alone. The tour of the ice museum was informative, but kind of pushy and somewhat rude. He wouldn't discourage ME from going back, but might some.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
220 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The auroras were awesome. The hot spring is wonderful first thing in the AM, before the loud international folks and the 20-somethings showed up; OK from 10-12; dreadful after noon. Loved the reindeer, the sled dog kennel tour, the goats clumping around in the snow and did I mention the auroras were amazing? Food excellent. Accommodations so-so; really tiny rooms with paper-thin walls. My moderated enthusiasm is due to the extra cost for absolutely everything. For what I paid, they could have thrown in a free tour of the ice museum for crying out loud, or loaned a pair of snowshoes.The greediness really pissed me off. All the nickle-and-diming contrasts with the Bettles Lodge. Unless you live in Fairbanks and are driving in, or really, truly can't take an extra couple of days to fly above the Arctic Circle, go to Bettles Lodge instead.

Room Tip: Everyone I talked to had the same experience with noisy, tiny rooms, old accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

My family stayed at Chena over the Spring Equinox weekend, a busy time for the resort. We arrived late morning so could not check in until 3 p.m., but we were given pool passes that gave us immediate access to the pool and hot springs, which we used and appreciated.

We had booked a Signature Room, which was essentially a two double-bed dorm-style room with very basic amenities, in a two-story, eight room building. We were on the ground floor, which meant that it was very disruptive when anyone from one of the other seven rooms came in or exited the building. There were, between the hot springs staying open until midnight, and those heading out through the night to check on the aurora, dozens of instances of the main door banging shut and people tromping up the stairs beside our room. I wasn't expecting a full night's sleep (we, too, hoped to do some aurora-viewing), but the noise of the constant coming-and-going got annoying.

We got up to view the aurora at 3:30 a.m., having been awoken by a staff member who was knocking on our neighbor's door, saying "The lights are out, the lights are out!" This was a welcome interruption, and we headed out as well, walking up the dark hillside to the "aurorium" viewing area. The aurora was not dramatic that night, but we felt fortunate to see them at all, and none of the negativity in this review has anything to do with not getting a better "show". We had heard that the resort did wake-up calls for when the aurora was out but when I asked a staff member about this she thought that we couldn't rely on them as they sometimes "fell by the wayside."

We ate all three of our meals in the main dining room, and in a Groundhod Day-type moment ended up at the same table in a dark interior room all three times. The skinny on the meals: reasonably-priced, decent main courses, salads were as fresh as anything in Alaska (thanks to the greenhouse on site), the service was mediocre. Lots of waiting (for tables, even when there were empty ones), for someone to take our order, to get our check.

There are some things Chena Hot Springs Resort is to be commended upon, especially given its remote location, such as the thermal energy plant and the greenhouse production. But there are so many small touches that could truly set it apart that would cost next to nothing. The dining room often had heavy curtains drawn that unnecessarily blocked out a lot of natural light; extra chairs and tables were dumped just outside the restaurant in the restroom area that gave it the feeling of being a dead zone; historical photos of the area could have been much more prominently featured instead of hung in forgotten corners. And the poolhouse changerooms could have benefited from one of those spinning quick-dryers to get most of the moisture out of bathing suits that were about to be packed in luggage for the trip home. Sometimes, doing things the "Alaskan way" can be charming and quirky, at Chena this mainly means it is amateurish.

Another small but important improvement that would be so easy to make: the pool reception area also serves as a quasi-pharmacy, selling everything from disposable bathing suits to shampoo and toiletries. But seeing condoms and anti-diarrhea products on sale AT THE POOL did nothing to enhance the quality of my experience. Sure, we're 50 miles from the closest drug store, but for goodness sake, sell those items somewhere else on the property.

The rock pool outside (no kids under 18) was the main attraction for me, and it was glorious to stand in the sun, look at the surrounding peaks, and relax. Some areas of the pool have extremely hot water on the surface, and those with sensitive skin need to be careful about where they travel within the pool. At one point walking through a certain section I felt like I was scalding my stomach. Other areas do not suffer from this, but the heat can quickly get overwhelming.

The resort also needs more staff oversight of the hot springs. In several visits to the rock pool over two days, I never saw a staff person out there, and once when I walked past late at night (on an aurora-seeking mission), there were a bunch of younger yahoos in the springs with open liquor bottles. Glass (and alcohol, for that matter) in the pool is not cool. Guests should not have to be policing that.

Overall, I was glad to visit, Chena does have its natural beauty and location going for it, but on the service and accommodation front it falls well short of where many would place their expectations. Having been once, I do not expect to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AirCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pleasant Valley hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Follow Chena Hot Springs Road until it ends, there are no signs until just before the entrance to the resort (about 56miles).
Our accommodation was basic, but we weren't here for the accommodation. I had read this is one of the best locations to view the aurora and they weren't wrong.
Accommodation includes access to the hot springs which are amazing, lockers take a $0.25 and you don't get your money back so once you lock the locker you will need to pay another $0.25 if you forget to put something away. Towels are also included. skip the "spas" and just head straight for the giant hot springs, as you wonder around you will find reallly hot pockets of water, take care on the ramp as it is slipery in some spots.
Lots of activites at the resort but book early as most things are booked out by early morning.
The aurora tour is $75pp, the ride up is about 30mins and very bumpy. Up the top you can keep warm in the yurt which is toasty warm and they provide unlimited warm drinks and noodles.
We were lucky enough to witness the aurora on both nights we went up and the sight was just magical.
There is plenty of room up the top for people to spread out and take photos of the aurora.
Make sure to dress super warm, you can hire snow boots for $15 and other clothing.
The restaurant is ok, with nothing else around there is not much choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, NWT
Level Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and i drove up to the hot Springs in March. The drive was difficult, we stopped to push a local person out of the ditch. I can see how at times the road would be impassable.

We went on both the ice museum tour and the geothermal tour. Both were great, conducted by James who was very knowledgeable.

The hot springs themselves were great, with interesting temperature variations from place to place.Because the pool was 18 and over, it make the experience more relaxing that it might have been otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YKexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Valley
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
26.6 mi away
Arctic Lights Bed & Breakfast
Arctic Lights Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chena Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chena Hot Springs Resort

Property: Chena Hot Springs Resort
Address: 56.5 mile Chena Hot Springs Rd., Pleasant Valley, AK 99711
Location: United States > Alaska > Pleasant Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pleasant Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chena Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Chena Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chena Hot Springs Hotel Pleasant Valley
Chena Hot Springs Resort Alaska/Pleasant Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing