We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant ranch style hotel in rural location”
Review of Cortijo Salinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cortijo Salinas
Ranked #6 of 24 Ronda B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night as we meandered through the Peublo Blancos by car. We initially had trouble finding the place until we thought it might be off the Zahara road, which it was but there were no signs on the main road to guide us in. The hotel is styled like an estancia (ranch). The room was very nice with a great view out over the lower reaches of the Parque naturale. We had trouble getting the curiosity programmed TV working, but eventually sorted that out. The room is sizeable with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was neat and everything worked well. The estancia theme carried through into the decor in the room. Wifi worked well. The hotel is remote and only really an option if you have a car. There is a small town (Montecorto) nearby but you cannot really walk there. So you are constrained to eating at the hotel which we found to be tasty and well cooked. If you after a more atmospheric location to stay in near here, then Grazeluma or Zahara up in the mountains are better bets. The road from Grazeluma to Zahara is a cracker - hold onto your hat!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 188 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

A hit again based on tripadvisor reviews. If you are looking for a rural place with peace and quiet this could very well be the place. Spacious rooms with a huge balcony with a view of the dam/lake in the distance. The dinner at the hotel was good and the breakfast suits the basic needs. The setting is lovely, reminds of a farmhouse.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sniff112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Get room 6 , it couldn't have been nicer. What a view!! Got a bit lost finding the place but it was such a beautiful drive it didn't matter.

Perfect ending to a month long Spain road trip, mostly in cities. This area was a an excellent place to chill out, relax and enjoy the extraordinary small "white towns" in the area. I think we hit them all.

I would rate the food a 3 out of 5 if I could separate the restaurant from the hotel. Mediocre food.

The hotel, rooms, view and staff make it what it is. We would come back.

The caves, cork trees, lake, Zahara and all the other small towns are very beautiful and worth visiting. 4 days would be perfect for seeing it all without rushing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. A four-star spa and country inn. Come on guys!!! It was fine but we found so many other superior (and less expensive) inns in the area. The front desk was fine. The room was ok but the air conditioner was either on full blast or off. The pool was small and quite shady. The verandah at dinner was spectacular. The food- poor to mediocre. Dessert selections came on a laminated Nestle menu. My husband thought that the rum cake was likely fresh. No, it was frozen in the container. Not great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

this is probably (after years of touring through andalucia) the best quality-price we've encountered : very good cuisine with respect for the local produce, very nice and big rooms (super bathroom and dito terrace), very friendly young staff (who speak english), beautifull cortijo with it's own bullfight arena, very nice pool

we really love the place and will certainly go back

the nearby villages of MONTECORTO and ZAHARA de la frontera are really nice, quiet and extremely cheap (to eat and drink)

thanks again to KARIN from LAS PERLAS DE ANDALUCIA for the tip

fred & gudrun hamerlinck - raemdonck

Room Tip: of the 30 hotels we've stayed in untill now this is the best quality-price rapport and what a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was one of the locations that was booked for us by Andalucian Cycling Experience and it was a delightful surprise. All of the hotels they booked were very nice but this place was outstanding. The bike ride here was beautiful around Lake Zahara but the final climb at the end of a long day was a killer! Once I arrived I forgot about the ride. From the beautiful ride up the lane to walking around the extremely quiet grounds this place was fantastic.
From the service at the front desk to the servers - everything was excellent.
We enjoyed snacks on the patio, a beautiful dinner and then a healthy breakfast.
We didn't make use of the spa (not sure what I was thinking with all our biking!) but it seemed very nice and I overheard other guest's positive comments.
This would be a beautiful place for a wedding as they have a huge patio that overlooks the lake. When looking around we found that they even have a bull ring with balcony seating!
The bedroom was spacious, bed comfortable and the bathroom was a huge marble/terrazo/granite heaven!
If you are in the area I can't imagine that there is a nicer place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyluvshockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We could not recommend this hotel more highly...wonderful and helpful ladies at reception..get a room overloking the lake, well worth the small amount extra, large terrace...we had a wondeerful dinner with local wines and thought it excellent value for money..an enormous buffet breakfast. Two thinkgs to look into...go left out the gate and a short distance away is a bodega Jorge Bouet..we liked our visit there and the wines..and a little further is the centre which explains all about corks and the cork harvest..both well worth visiting..we had lunch at the venta on the main road before the turn off to the hotel...excellent 10 euro menu del dia.

Room Tip: pick one at the front with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronda
9.9 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,995 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
158 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 40 in Ronda
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
247 reviews
9.8 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#13 of 40 in Ronda
545 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Molino del Arco
Hotel Molino del Arco
#14 of 40 in Ronda
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Salinas

Address: Carretera Ronda Campillos Km 19.5, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range: $88 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortijo Salinas 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Hotel Spa Cortijo Salinas is located in a privileged location in the heart of the Natural park “Sierra de Grazalema”. Hotel Cortijo Salinas perfectly combines the traditional Spanish style with modern comfort. An idyllic place surrounded by beautiful nature and quietness that invites you to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cortijo Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing