We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's winter - so where's the hot water and heater?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco - Ronda
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's winter - so where's the hot water and heater?”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Overlook Hotel's got nothing on this place. A bubbly Norweigian greeted us at the desk but neglected to inform us that the hot water didn't work and neither did the air heater, two very important facts when staying in a hotel in WINTER!!! The bed was even made without a duvet, instead there was one blanket in the cupboard!!! In the meatime jovial Mr Norway had disappeared and locked up leaving us to ring the emergency number to get hold of more blankets. After a terrible night's sleep the water was still not working the following morning after a promise to fix it. I hear they're making The Shining 2 - why not set it in Ronda? All blankets and no hot water makes Jack a sleep deprived boy. Ronda's beautiful, just stay somewhere else, if you like basic human necessities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyFlags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    170
    58
    7
    6
See reviews for
63
186
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I visited Ronda for a few days back in June 2009. It was a pleasant stay, while there i found that the service was great, no problems in trying to get information on where to go in Ronda and how to get to other places in the Malaga area. I would visit again and I know it would suit my budget. I would highly recommend those who are visiting Ronda to book with Hotel San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YusufUkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a night while we were in Ronda. It's about ten minutes walking from the bus station and right next to the commercial street. It was very conveniently-located for all the sightseeing that we wanted to do. The hotel receptionists were all very professional and courteous and when we arrived at the hotel at noon (two hours before check-in), they were able to show us to our room. The room we stayed in was lovely and both the room and the bathroom had a balcony overlooking the street below. They do provide towels and bath soaps but not shampoo. Also, the beds were two single beds pushed together (as other reviewers have noted). We got an excellent deal over the internet so the price was definitely right for what we got. I can't comment on the breakfast because we decided to eat at a bar very close to the hotel called Café-Bar Forum, where they were serving a typical Andalusian breakfast for 2,50 Euros. All in all, I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay while in Ronda.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetest_strawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

An excellent location, just a few minutes walk away from the centre of Ronda (and therefore not noisy). Very good value for money. I just wish that they had some rooms with genuine double beds, but this doesn't seem to be a common feature of Spanish hotels. All the same, we'd stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is a budget gem... clean, fun decorations, huge bath, balcony (including one just for the bathroom) an easy walk to all that Ronda has to offer, good free wifi, and free breakfast (limited to coffee, OJ and toast, but still appreciated)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiebugstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a beautiful and charming hotel, built in a rustic style, but new and modern at the same time. The blonde male receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Very romantic room! Incredibly cheap for such a high standard, could easily have been a four-star.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinaapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booking early seems to be advisable in Ronda. The San Francisco is a great base for the budget conscious. It is dated, but clean and friendly and an easy walk to whatever takes your fancy. I am not sure that the heating worked in my room very well but there were plenty of spare blankets. Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful with where to go for meals etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.2 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#12 of 40 in Ronda
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#18 of 40 in Ronda
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Tajo
Hotel El Tajo
#17 of 40 in Ronda
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco - Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco - Ronda

Property: Hotel San Francisco - Ronda
Address: Calle Maria Cabrera 18-20, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Francisco - Ronda 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Francisco - Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Francisco Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing