We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Operated Establishment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cortijo de Las Piletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo de Las Piletas
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Operated Establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I have stayed here two different years and found the accommodations and food to be excellent. The farm has been in Pablo's family for 200 years and the buildings have been converted to an 8 room hotel with lovely grounds and a delightful common area. Eli is a supremely gracious hostess who speaks several languages and Pablo is a top notch chef who will prepare dinner for you most nights with advance notice. The Cortijo is located several miles out of Ronda so you will enjoy the surrounding white hill towns more easily if you have a car. Eli can even arrange a day of bird watching for you with Peter Jones, who has forgotten more about the birds of Spain than most of us will ever know. You will not regret staying with Eli and Pablo at Cortijo de las Pilates.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaEdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
98
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orcas Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

When we think of B&B hospitality in Spain Cortijo Las Piletas, near the ‘white villages” and Ronda, tops the list. We had a perfect four night stay in a very comfortable room overlooking the pool and garden. Innkeepers Eli and Pablo are wonderful hosts. Eli made us feel so welcomed and was most helpful recommending things to see and do. Pablo cooks wonderful dinners most evenings served inside or outside in the beautiful courtyard. Each evening we were serenaded by the little flock of sheep changing pastures across the road; at first the belled sheep sounded faintly like a little marimba band, we looked forward to it each evening. Wonderful sitting areas can be found by the pool or in the garden. A lovely continental breakfast was served each morning and a large picnic lunch or dinner were also available.
Cortijo de Las Piletas is the Spain we were looking forward to!

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttersPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Arriving from New Zealand for a few days in Barcelona, we then flew down and enjoyed the sights of beautiful Seville and Cordoba before hiring our car and driving to Las Piletas. We stopped at the lovely village of Olvera for lunch before arriving late afternoon at Las Piletas. We knew the moment we drove into the drive that we had found a most amazingly peaceful place for our 6 days in this part of Andalucia. Elisenda immediately made us feel 'at home'. Our room was just as beautiful as it looked on their website. With an exquisite view over the surrounding countryside.

We looked forward to our breakfasts here every morning, either in their spacious homely breakfast room or, if you wanted, you could sit outside in a lovely patio area. There was an amazing selection available at breakfast, as other reviewers have mentioned. We especially loved the local melons and figs.

Each day we went to see different Pueblos Blancos, all very Spanish with their whitewashed houses and coloured flowers. Setenil with its houses built into the overhanging cliffs was very unique. We had wonderful weather for our 6 days and our drive to Zahara de la Sierra with the amazing turquoise waters of its reservoir made for beautiful photos. There are amazing cave paintings in the caves (Cueva de la Piletas) just above Benaojan, but the climb up to the entrance was steep.

We had a couple of evening meals in Ronda. However, to return home to Las Piletas of an afternoon to relax by the pool and then not have to think about driving anywhere else, but rather just walk over to the outside patio at night where the tables were set up with candles etc. and where we could enjoy Pablo's lovingly prepared and delicious food, for us, was the most relaxing way to end the day. Dinner was always finished with a nice liquor from the region and a chocolate or two.

Elisenda and Pablo are true professionals in everything they do. Nothing is too much trouble. We recognised Elisenda's love for nature and we later commented that Las Piletas was one of the few places of our travels where you could hear the birds sing! Our time here was the best!

Jacqui & Mike
New Zealand

Room Tip: All rooms here are well positioned and have their own special area for sitting and enjoying the coun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuscany08NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I have never felt so welcome in any other hotel in the world! Very clean, friendly, truly a one in a million place to stay. My partner and I were made to feel like one of the family. Beautiful scenery around the cortijo with plenty of lovely walks to take. Food was perfect with a brilliant selection at breakfast, Pablo is a fab chef!!....and only a 10-15minute drive from Ronda. The swimming pool was lovely too :-) Perfect to get away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara-and-jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-niklaas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We booked Cortijo Las Pilates for 2 nights during our trip through Andalucia to visit Ronda. We were surprised in a very positive way : warm and friendly hosts, nice rooms and great surroundngs, very nice food prepared by our hosts. Besides Ronda, the surroundings are also worth the visit. We regretted that we didn't book for a few days longer...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

My partner and I are from the UK but have been living in Granada, Spain for 2 years, and sadly we have had to become accustomed to average food and service in many places in Andalusia or pay a premium for good food and service, but our experience of Cortijo (country house) Las Piletas was an exception.
Cortijos are large country residences, some converted to hotels and offer an alternative to hotels. Las Piletas is a superb example of a cortijo with beautiful rooms and surroundings, but the hosts make your stay even more special as they are the most friendly, knowledgeable welcoming people you could wish to meet in hospitality. Elisenda and Pablo make a great team, and provide you with an embracing, efficient and delightful welcome. Elisenda speaks Spanish, Catalan, French and English and at the time of staying she also had a lovely Austrian girl on the team (Katharina) who spoke German, Spanish and English, so an excellent range of languages in which to inform guests. The house, grounds, rooms and pools are well maintained and offer a high standard alternative to hotels. The honesty bar is well stocked and there is free WiFi in the house itself. There is a TV room with satellite although for most the surrounding beauty of Ronda will keep you entertained and a good range of books for guests. We were provided with maps, and advised of the best areas. Ronda is approximately 20 mins away by car and there is ample to see there. Our room was large, comfortable and quite cool with the provided fan switched on ( there was no air con). The pool was fresh and clean with plenty of sunbeds, breakfast was buffet style but with a good mixture of breads, cheese, honey, jam, teas and coffee. Sadly we did not experience Pablo's cooking but other reviews say it is well worth giving up one evening to dine at the cortijo and Pablo stocks good Spanish wines. I would whole heartedly recommend Las Piletas and plan to return with friends to share the experience again. If you need any information do ask Elisenda by email as I am certain her warmth and knowledge would even be tangible by email.

Room Tip: All rooms good but room 1 is most requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisingranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

My husband and myself stayed here in October 2009 for 2 nights. A year and a half and some travels later we realise we use Tripadvisor mainly to read and research without contributing and writing much ourselves. Just want to change that and contribute more by giving our thumbs up (or down) to places we have visited/stayed at.

Cortijo de las Piletas definitely gets our thumbs up and it's nice to see that they are still making guests happy. Choosing a place to stay depends on so many factors, obviously you handle different criteria when you want a super romantic suite with a jaw dropping view coz you want to pop the "will you marry me" question or when you just want a decent and clean place near the airport so you can catch that early flight.

To us when choosing Piletas those criteria/expectations were: not too far away by car to nearby sights like Ronda but stlll secluded enough to be able to soak up the beautiful and tranquil surroundings, nice room, possibiltity to sit inside and outside, large/modern enough to offer some amenities yet small scale enough to have that personal feel... oh and the budget we had in mind of course! (my my aren't today's travellers picky ;o)

I rememember booking rather late, only a couple of days before our stay and already from the replies by e-mail it felt good from the start (eg "no need for your credit card details since your stay is already soon", "inform us on your likes/dislikes/allergies if you want to have dinner",... ).

Piletas delivered beyond our expectations, we slept like a rose, room and bathroom were great, wonderful outside and inside sitting area's - loved the large central living room with the many books, the separate tv room, the dining area where you could always make yourself a nice cup of coffee or tea, the take and write down what you had to drank/snack but most of all the wonderful hosts.

Hoping to stay here again sometime (and try the pool which is the only thing we didn't get a chance to due to heavy rains, first rain in 5 months or so when we were there - typical LOL - great stay still :)

¡Gracias y a la proxima!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spaceface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
5.5 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
5.3 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo de Las Piletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo de Las Piletas

Property: Cortijo de Las Piletas
Address: MA-8403 / A-374 (Ronda-Sevilla), 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Cortijo de Las Piletas 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortijo de las Piletas is a country hotel located in the heart of Andalucia. Only 12km. from the picturesque town of Ronda, in the Natural Park of Grazalema, the Cortijo allows visitors to explore a great variety of natural environments, both on the property grounds as well as the surrounding areas.Our guests will enjoy vacationing in a centuries-old building, a magnificent example of an authentic Andalusian farmhouse converted into a family run country hotel.The varying greens of Mediterranean woods, the brilliant white of the walls and the clear blue of the sky, exude both peace and an unmistakable andalusian flavor.Beautiful patios and gardens surround the house offering cozy nooks for our guests to relax in harmony with nature. Centenarian trees and a variety of aromatic plants provide cool shade, colours and aromas while we take walks, swim or sunbathe. In the evening, in the gardens near the threshing floor, we can enjoy spectacular sunsets beyond Grazalema. These are just a few of the special moments awaiting you during your stay at Cortijo de las Piletas.We look forward to welcoming you for an unforgettable stay with us ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cortijo de Las Piletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing