We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't be staying here again”
Review of Don Javier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Don Javier
Ranked #18 of 23 Ronda B&B and Inns
SF Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“We won't be staying here again”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We arrived at this hotel after a very long day of biking from Ardales to Ronda. The hotel is centrally located but difficult to find. The entrance is off a small alley which is closed to cars. There is also a street entrance but it is rarely used because there is no parking on the street. It took us at least a half hour to find the entrance even though we had detailed instructions so if you plan to stay here, schedule in some time to find the entrance!

We were exhausted and anxious to check in, take a shower and rest. The staff was friendly and checked us in quickly (we had a reservation).

The room was traditionally decorated with a double bed, a small frig (a welcome change from most places in Spain), air conditioning and a small bathroom. The air conditioning didn't work well, as with most places we stayed in Spain. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. There were only two towels in the room, and the shower while having sufficient pressure was set up to spray water all over the bathroom because of the configuration of the shower door.

The restaurant opens for breakfast at 7 AM, which is a nice change for Spain (8 or 9 AM is the norm). The breakfast includes rolls, chocolate and plain croissants, toast, cereal, ham, cheese, yogurt and fruit. Milk, juice, coffee, cocoa, and tea are also available. The coffee was the worst we have had in Spain. The croissants were soggy, eat toast instead.

Once in awhile you have an experience at a restaurant or hotel that impacts how you view not only the business but the town or region. We had one such negative experience here and we will not be staying at this hotel again.

On the night before we left Ronda, we walked to the Renfe station (the high speed train) to buy tickets for the next day. We estimated it to be less than a kilometer from the hotel. On the morning of our departure, we inquired at the front desk about a ride to the Renfe and were told to find a taxi (parked outside the hotel). When we were unable to find one, the hotel staff called a taxi which arrived to pick us up. It was raining and we had luggage to bring.

In most towns we visited in Spain the taxis have meters. This particular taxi did not have a meter, and we were going such a short distance that we simply loaded our bags and asked the driver to take us to Renfe. When we arrived, I handed him a 10 euro note and he handed me 3 euros back. Before I could express my dismay (and shock) he had jumped in the car and left.

My husband and I were appalled that we would charge 7 euros for a less than 1 km ride to Renfe. We were warned several times by expats in Spain about the lack of accountability in the Spanish culture. While we assume that the hotel would take no responsibility for the taxi overcharging us, they did
in fact call that particular taxi company.

Given the proximity of the hotel to the Renfe, why doesn't the hotel have a shuttle service to keep customers from getting ripped off? Unfortunately, we were overcharged several times while we were in Ronda, the taxi to the Renfe being the most blatant example. Much of Ronda depends on the tourist trade and the local authorities need to crack down on businesses that rip off tourists.

There are many beautiful and more tourist friendly towns in Spain to visit than Ronda. If you must go and do need a taxi or plan to make a purchase for which no prices are posted be sure to ask up front what you will be charged. Don't make the same mistake we did. Better yet, skip Ronda all together. We didn't find it as genuine as other small towns, since it had a such a "touristy" flavor associated with its bullring and Roman ruins - its in all the guidebooks, and the locals take full advantage.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicharone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Poor advice given re expensive parking recommended. €25 overnight was recommended whilst it is free on the street! You have to look around for 5 mins for a space but...
Other than that it is pretty good. my first hotel in spain. i miss mugs of tea, dont like frosties and bread like cotton wool. No eggs but probably not free range anyway. you get fed though.
Amazing city!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for a weekend at this hotel with my parents. The location was excellent, adjacent to the bullring. Rooms were clean, tidy and nicely decorated. Breakfast was a buffet style, & was sufficient. We didn´t eat in the hotel as there were so many restaurants nearby. The Pony & trap ride around Ronda was excellent, highly recommended. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Ronda is a beautiful town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night with my family of 4 in August. We had 2 twin rooms that were near each other. The rooms were a decent size and the bathrooms were nice. The only problem with the hotel was the air conditioning. No matter what, the rooms would not cool down. However, the location can't be beat. It is right next to the bridge that leads into Old Town. The views are amazing. It is on a cute pedestrian steet, but you can pull your car up about 30 yards away in front of the Paradour and the tourist information to unload your luggage.The parking was a couple of blocks away, right up the hill from the bull ring. The breakfast that they served was not a hot meal, but it was just fine for a morning snack. When i return to Rhonda, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel is located close to the New Bridge and to the Arena. The personnel is friendly and speaking English. The breakfast is included/

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aklyuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The hotel is in a little sidestreet, so it's fairly quiet, until they start rolling up the canopies late at night. Forunately, this didn't take too long, and didn't matter too much as we were only there 1 night.
It's a very quaint hotel with the smallest reception/entrance I've come across! Our room was very ornately decorated, with very pretty lights, but there was no main light, so I left the bathroom light on all the time for extra light. It was the prettiest bathroom I've ever had in an hotel - all peach and white, clean and cosy. The bath was a bit difficult to step into, but that maybe because my mobility isn't what it used to be. The bed and pillow were heavenly comfortable.
For a 3* hotel, the breakfast was a rather poor offering with not much choice.
Overall, this was a delightful hotel well placed in the more interesting part of the town, and handy for everything. The staff were helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel for a short 1-2-3-night stay, or single traveller. For a longer stay, the compact size of everything may be a little much.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reinalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Booked this hotel with Booking.com. Previously e-mailed the hotel as I was worried about car parking. They gave 2 addresses and we google earthed the road which proved very useful.

The hotel has it's own web site and the pictures are very accurate. The rooms were full of character and well presented. The staff were excellent and welcoming.

We ate in one night there and the quality and service was very good.

When heading for the hotel best to go straight to the bull ring - restricted parking - however just nip into reception and they will provide a short parking permit to avoid and parking fines. The car park we were directed to was underground and we were charged Euro 14 for 2 nights - well worth the peace of mind.

We loved Ronda, staying 2 days which was just about right as the City is compact.

Room Tip: Head for the bull ring
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#12 of 40 in Ronda
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Miguel
Hotel Don Miguel
#32 of 40 in Ronda
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.0 mi away
Plaza de Toros
Plaza de Toros
#34 of 40 in Ronda
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#6 of 40 in Ronda
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Javier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Javier

Property: Don Javier
Address: Calle Jose Aparicio 6 | 7, Virgen de la Paz Av, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Javier 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Don Javier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Javier Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing