We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were directed to a different hotel by the owners, seems to have closed for winter...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Morales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Morales
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We were directed to a different hotel by the owners, seems to have closed for winter...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I intended to stay one night in Hotel Morales with my wife in January 2012. Upon arrival to the hotel, there was a sign in the front door indicating us to go to Hotel San Cayetano a few blocks down the same street. Apparently Hotel Morales was closed (I don't know if just for the winter season or definitively) and all guests were being redirected. Hotel San Cayetano turned out to be very good (check my review of it in tripadvisor) and they kept the price as it was stated in the original booking. Hence, if you book a room in this hotel, bear in mind you might be forwarded to a different place.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daniel_osorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    53
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
61
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Brunswick
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel Morales isn't going to win any awards for luxury, but considering it's one of the lowest priced hotels in Ronda, that's a given. What this place lacks in space or amenities, however, it makes up in style and charm.

Walking into Hotel Morales, you will quickly be surprised at the tasteful design of the lobby and the impressive (yes, impressive) lighting achieved by the hotel's skylit spiral staircase. The staff is friendly and helpful, and a large selection of maps, brochures, and decorations line the walls of the reception area.

Morales' rooms are small, perhaps cloister-like, but for such a low price they're astonishingly comfortable. The A/C runs very cold, and the stall shower, while unimpressive visually, doesn't leak water all over the floor like the 1/2 windowed showers of so many other Spanish hotels.

Hotel Morales is within a 12 minute walk of many attractions, including the Puente Nueve bridge, and a 5 minute walk to huge rows of eateries, bars, and shops. It's also only a few blocks from Ronda's train and bus stations, making transit in and out of the town easy. If you're looking for a deal and don't mind having a little less space, Morales is for you.

Room Tip: Many rooms have two twin beds; reserve early if you want a double or queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiNG_Vacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The family running the hotel were very helpful and friendly. We got wireless access without any trouble. The rooms were great. The location is good. It was quiet and easy to sleep. Ronda was great and so was this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

The building inside is very beautiful and it's not far from the old town (less than 10 minutes of walk). My room was very small (single) and the window faced the inside patio, so I had to go outside the hotel to check what the weather was like. Also, the hotel has actually 1 star only, not 2 as per in booking.com. The guy who greeted me on the arrival, Juan, was great - he gave me a map and showed the best places to go for eating out and sighseeing. But the guy who was in the reception the next day when I checked out was hopeless - not a single word in English or any other foreign language and my Spanish wasn't good enough to explain the problem (there was an issue with the online payment and I wasted 30 min trying to solve it), so my mood was spoiled in the end.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_123654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

We enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. We had a room with ensuite facing the street. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station and close to all the sights of Ronda. Yes, it is a basic, no frills hotel, but it is excellent value, and more than adequate to provide a safe and comfortable stay. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roaming24
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

There was a convention in town when we arrived, so all the nice places were booked. The very nice lady at hotel Ronda (which I really wished we had stayed at) called everywhere for us! This was the only place and I can see why. Rooms are muggy, service at the front is cold and unfriendly.
It was pouring rain out and when I asked to borrow an umbrella to get the luggage from the car she said no!
Bad place, stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roaming24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

My room had A/C, TV, private bath, phone, lift to the 3rd floor and plenty of space. As a budget solo traveler this was barely more than I would pay in a shared dorm-style hostel. The only downside to the rooms is that they don't have exterior windows, but they do have windows that open into an interior courtyard, so you don't feel like you are in a cave or anything! The location is a very short walk from the train station, it is quiet and only a few blocks to all the Ronda sights.

To clarify directions: Exit the bus station through the main doors onto the roundabout and turn right down Calle San Jose. There is a sign for the hotel that indicates you go to the left but that is only for cars who have to follow the one-way streets. Down Calle San Jose, your first left is Calle Sevilla and the hotel is on the right.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgrabyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#17 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Virgen de los Reyes
0.1 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#13 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermanos Macias
Hotel Hermanos Macias
#38 of 39 in Ronda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arunda I
Hotel Arunda I
#28 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Ronda
Royal Hotel Ronda
#25 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales

Property: Hotel Morales
Address: Calle Sevilla 51, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Morales 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Morales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morales Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing