We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveler rating
294
116
44
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
116
44
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barrural hoteldirt roadlarge groundshuge potentialold millolive farmhonor barnavigation systemlarge suitebusy citiesliving roomfollow the signsmain buildingfruit treesgorgeous hotelnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 481 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed here for over a week recently, so had plenty of time to make a realistic assessment. We ate in the restaurant on the first two nights, once from the fixed-price menu and once from the a la carte. On both occasions the food was poor and overpriced given the cheap ingredients. The breakfast was also disappointing: the hotel makes great play of using organic produce from its garden, but the tomatoes served at breakfast had absolutely no taste. The doughnuts were stale and hard, and the “homemade” cakes looked as if they had been made by children in a playgroup - extremely unappetising. Furthermore, the coffee with milk was served in tiny espresso cups, and when we asked for normal-sized cups we were told that they didn’t have any, despite there being several dirty cups on other tables that could surely have been taken into the kitchen to be washed.

As a result we chose not eat in the hotel again and mainly went to Ronda, a 25-minute drive away (as opposed to the ten minutes stated on the hotel website). This was not much fun for the driver, given Spain’s strict drink-drive limits and the horrific nature of the road leading to the hotel, untarmaced, unlit and with occasional half-metre-deep gulleys at the side. (In fact, during our stay one couple driving to the hotel in broad daylight had the misfortune to end up with their hire car stuck in one of these and had to order a pick-up truck to rescue it.)

There is no room service whatsoever, not so much as a cup of coffee. In fact, there is very little service at all, although it must be said that the staff are friendly and do their best. There are just not enough of them. The self-service honesty bar is very expensive, and was frequently littered with dirty cups and glasses. Likewise, no service at the swimming pool which was at the far end of the garden which meant we had to trek up to the honesty bar if we wanted a drink, not so good particularly if you are over a certain age. Furthermore, the pool area was not well looked after - we had rain one day and nobody bothered to take in the loungers, so when the sun came out and we went down to the pool the following day, the mattresses were still soaking wet. Ashtrays full of cigarette ends were also left littering the area from the day before.

The website is misleading. Apart from stating that Ronda is ten minutes drive away, the hotel also claims to have a cafeteria and library. The former is non-existent and the latter is a bookcase mainly comprising books you would not want to read on holiday, such as legal and medical books in Spanish.

The only positive feature was that both the public areas and bedrooms were comfortable and well decorated .

How this hotel has four stars is a complete mystery. Avoid it. There is no manager on-site, so nobody to deal with complaints. We came away feeling completely ripped-off.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizzie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Huge potential, but poor maintenance, almost no staff and a lack of attention to detail let it down terribly and make you feel you’ve paid too much for the average experience. I would love to seethe owners take control and bring this property back to where it should be.

After about ten minutes drive from Ronda, through the valley of ‘la cruz’ you see the sign to the hotel. The narrow lane takes you past ‘La Fuente de las Higuera’, and further into the olive groves. The road deteriorates a little, into a dirt track, and before long, one arrives at the Mill, a large building with walled gardens, and vineyards behind. The journey was easy and not complicated. Old iron bath tubes filled with flowering geraniums line the outside the property.
The greeting when we entered was a little half-hearted. The receptionist remained facing her PC screen, just moving her eyes up to see us, said hello and then returned to the screen. This was to really set the tone of limited number of staff.
The property is great; lots of interesting corners, paths, terraces and courtyards, with some charming Andalucían style architecture. However the place is not that well maintained and this is a great pity. Rustic charm is one thing; lazy upkeep is another. The pool area was disorganised and in need of an update – the pool is in a secluded walled garden, so could be spectacular – but when we used it on a very hot September weekend, the sun loungers were still soaking from the irrigation system. You arrived and had to find a lounger and drag it over to the pool – it would have taken just a few moments for a staff member that morning to wipe down the beds, position them and instantly the place would have been more welcoming – but the reality is that guests are left to do thing themselves – almost like we’ve rented a villa, not staying in a hotel. The place does have an undeniable charm and I enjoyed photographing the place, but this charm is sadly not reflected in the staff.
The weekend we were there, all the guests seemed to be left to their own devices. The receptionist lacked personality and warmth; the only time I saw her smile was when she was huddled around the PC screen with a cleaner, laughing at a website. The hotel has an honesty bar, but its drinks are full price, despite having to prepare them oneself, with old, clumped together ice, no lemon and no snacks and very little choice of mixers – just tonic the weekend we were there.
I ordered a sandwich; the opportunity to showcase the wealth of tasty organic produce from the Ronda was missed. Instead for 5 or 6 euros I was served two pieces of square, factory made unbuttered bread with a filling of square, processed turkey slices, and iceberg lettuce – no seasoning, no mayo, no butter, no tomato; nada. Needless to say we dined out in Ronda that night so can’t comment on the service or food in the dining room but I wouldn’t have high expectations.
Our room was fine, with access to large shared terrace and it was peaceful – just needed some maintenance and ‘TLC’. The potential here is amazing. The room had a high ceiling, a very comfortable bed, some interesting rustic details, but was tired and not that clean. (there is no excuse to leave cobwebs, not descaling the loo, etc.)
Each room is named after a different olive variety, with quirky designed signs. There are plenty of these details around the property that make it so interesting and unique.
Overall the hotel is charming, but without any representation of the owner or management and just one receptionist, the place lacked a welcoming atmosphere. Fellow guests sipped glasses of wine in near silence on the terrace; peaceful yes, but the property lacking atmosphere that could take this property from average to amazing – it seemed empty despite being full of guests. Hard to explain - ‘soulless’ I think is the word.
The positioning of the hotel on it website is upscale, boutique – this is very misleading - the reality is not. However, it could so easily be upscale, boutique. It just needs investment in maintenance and some visible staff that are genuinely happy to have guests sharing this lovely property.
There was a new receptionist at front desk on the morning of check out that invited feedback and asked us to fill in a questionnaire that she assured us was reviewed by the owner. The staff member was very receptive to our constructive comments and invited us to come back again and give it a second chance. We will – but at off season rates!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We knew nothing about this hotel! We couldn''t find a place for only one night in Ronda. Leaving Seville, we found a sign pointing to the hotel on a rain-washed road. Arriving, we discovered a beautiful 18th century villa that produced olives. The interior was completely modern with a dedication to serving organic, locally grown food. The terraces were beautifully landscaped with century old water fountains. The trickling water, incredible sound of birds and distant views of Ronda were so peaceful. I could have stopped my vacation right there. The dining room was on the second floor so there was a gorgeous view. It was memorable. Had I to do it over again, I would have stayed longer to hike in the area. A wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

What a paradise!
Hotel Molino del Arco was a little hard to find, but we were trying to use the TomTom...using the map was easier!
Following the winding dirt road up to the property took us further away from our normal lives. It's like "Stealing Beauty" but in the Spanish countryside.
The hotel is very well presented. It's not perfect (it's close though), and I think that adds to it's charm.
The staff are friendly and down-to-earth. Our room was huge and lovely decorated.
We chilled out by the pool down the back, which was so relaxing and peaceful even when all the deck chairs were taken by other guests.
Breakfast was delicious and simple! Fresh eggs, tomatoes and olive oil from the property - delicious!
We had dinner there too, which was again, simple, but charming.
This is a special place that should be enjoyed with someone special. It's not as expensive as other places, but offers an unpretentious charm that's worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

It was a little tired, but I love shabby chic and felt like I'd stepped back in time. The staff were friendly but nor overbearing. We did get a small room first and then asked for another, and finally asked a third time and got the lovely room with great views and the four poster bed - so it's worth checking. Breakfast was fine, the pool was lovely - although some loungers were broken. Loved the honesty bar system at the pool and house and the cake each day!
WOuld recommend it - espec if you can get a deal as we did online.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PendyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews