We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
297
119
44
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
119
44
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar rural hotel dirt road large grounds huge potential old mill olive farm honor bar navigation system large suite busy cities living room follow the signs fruit trees main building gorgeous hotel nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 487 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2008

This gorgeous hotel is converted from an old olive oil mill and has so much character.

We had a beautiful room (room 18) with two sets of double doors and little wrought iron balconies. Each morning, we opened the doors next to the bed to watch to sunrise over the countryside.

Bed was huge, room comfortably furnished and great bathroom with double sink and nice toiletries.

The lounge area is nice, with sofas, books and a relaxed atmosphere. The honesty bar is a nice touch as it lends to the relaxed, informal air of the place.

The hotel is about three miles outside Ronda, so you have to drive or take a taxi into town. However, the views and ambience of the hotel are the selling point and worth sacrificing the convenience of staying in town.

We ate at the hotel one night and food wasn't very good. I was served a starter that I didn't order and both of our main courses were burnt and had to be sent back to the kitchen. Breakfast was pretty mediocre too, so I certainly couldn't recommend the food. However, as you would expect, there are loads of great restaurants in Ronda.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

With our wedding, the busy preperations and a long trip behind us, we really looked forward to our stay in hotel Molino del Arco. We had planned our 2 week honeymoon carefully, but to be quite honest... at first glance and the first days we were a bit dissappointed in the hotel. The road to get to the hotel is terrible and indeed a bit far from Ronda. Still, we knew that (sort of;-)) when we booked. But the way the hotel presents itself on their website - sleek, modern, high end of the market - we could not really see it, due to the fact that the grounds were not maintained well. The hotel wants to be at least a 4 star and if you look at the beautiful decorated rooms and the building, it is worth it. The potentially beautiful garden, with a stunning view and good layout however is being terribly neglected. Therefor the whole place feels a bit 'run down' and not even a 3 star. Which is sad, because all personnel is very friendly, breakfast is good and again... the old olive mill is a stunning building in a beautiful landscape.
After having been there for a few days, we didn't notice the negative points so much any more. As Andalusia has a lot to offer, Ronda was really nice and our rooms were really nice, we didn't feel we were being 'let down' by the hotel. Plus: the gardeners came in and started cleaning up the garden and grounds, hopefully to their former glory...
What we didn't like: the maintenance of the garden/grounds, which let's the whole place down. A shame. We had dinner twice in the restaurant, both times we felt it was quite pricy for what you get. The bad road to get there, we didn't feel too bad about... it has it's charm although it took about 15 minutes to get to the main road.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much, due to the very friendly staff, the nice rooms we had, the fireplace in our livingroom, the enormous bed in our bedroom, the layout of the garden, the use of the terrace, pool and courtyard area next to our rooms, good breakfast and the proximity to Ronda and a stunning countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 13ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

This has the potential to be a great boutique hotel - the location is great, the buildings have real character and our room was fantastic. Unfortunately the attention to detail let it down - I wanted to love the place but left feeling rather luke warm about it.

The most important criticism is of the restaurant - given that it costs €35 to taxi into Ronda and back, you'd expect to eat in most evenings despite the prices being quite high. But the quality of the cooking was variable and one evening we were presented with an extremely limited and still expensive menu, due to there being a group eating in that evening. Based on this, it really doesn't seem to live up to its billing as a 'Hotel and Restaurant'.

Other points are smaller...

- there was no fridge in our room (a junior suite) - surely an essential given the climate here

- the honesty bar was very badly stocked - who needs a choice of 6 gins when there are no mixers?

- the main pool was very small, despite being in the middle of a walled garden almost the size of a football pitch. they should make much more of this area - double the size of the pool and put in much more seating and canopies providing shade and this would be spectacular...

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We've just returned from 9 nights in Andalucia, having spent 4 nights at the Molino Del Arco, just outside Ronda.

We were expecting a complicated drive to try and find the property, having read others' reports on Trip Advisor, but it was really easy to find! Yes, it takes you onto very small unmade roads, but there are easy to follow signs the whole route.

Our room was lovely and beautifully decorated, with a fabulous bathroom we'd like to replicate at home! This is a country hotel and is beautifully peaceful location, particularly after a day out driving around the lovely countryside and visiting stunning, busy Ronda close by.

We did eat in the hotel on all 4 nights and were really impressed by the quality and presentation of the food. Prices were on a par compared to local quality restaurants. We'd happily go back!

We loved our time and particularly enjoyed some lazy late afternoons enjoying the sunshine by the pool - we did venture into the pool once, but it was shockingly cold!

The staff couldn't do enough to help and were extremely friendly and helpful.

We nearly booked La Fuente de la Higuera just 2 minutes drive from here, but do think Molino Del Arco pips this hotel - particularly the stunning, vaulted ceiling restaurant, with surrounding countryside views.

We loved the area so much, we'd now like to go to Seville next time and are thinking about stopping off at this hotel en route. Book it, enjoy the tranquil location, relaxation and delicious food. By the way, breakfast is most definitely worth it - fabulous!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

We booked the flights in Jan but didn't get around to organising hotels until days before we left for Spain - what luck then it was to find such a great place to stay.

For those who like grand entrances, the access is terrible. For those who like neat gardens, there's work to be done.

For those who like peace, quiet, tasteful decor, plenty of space, an honesty bar, views, great(?) food, and have the chance to stop and enjoy it all, this could be for you.

It was definitely for us!!

We stayed in room 2, which was a ‘Contemporary Deluxe Junior Suite’. It had a vast amount of space, huge bed, excellent bathroom (no bath though, just shower), French doors out to a semi-private terrace. We had breakfast in the room each day, which was a huge couple of trays full.

The only issue was that it rained almost non-stop.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Crustyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews