We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money hotel in great location”
Review of Polo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Polo Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2009

We were very pleased when we arrived at the Polo Hotel, it is in an excellent location with underground parking just steps away. The receptionist was friendly and helpful.

Our room was large and airy and more importantly spotlessly clean. As it was the end of January it was very much 'out of season' and so the area at night was very quiet.

Breakfast in the morning was very nice with a selection of cereals, ham, cheeses, fruit and fresh bread.

I can really recommend this hotel as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mercury50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for Polo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 518 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Polo for two nights (Dec 3 & Dec 4). Overall, it was a good experience. The hotel was an easy walk from the town’s train and bus stations, and it was in easy walking distance to views of the bull ring, the bridge (the main reason to go to Ronda) and other sights.

The hotel room (204) was clean with fresh towels in the large bathroom and clean sheets. The walls are pretty thin, and if I hadn’t had ear plugs, I would have heard the neighbors snoring. I have two complaints about the room’s accommodations. The bed was hard. It was a queen sized bed, but it felt more like a cot. Secondly, the carpet was really dirty. Horribly dirty. It had so many stains on it that you felt uncomfortable walking around without your shoes on. The bathroom’s floors were fine. It was the carpet in the room itself that was gross. The room had a safe for your belongings, which was convenient.

The area around the hotel is pretty quiet too, so there wasn’t a lot of street noise, even though we were situated on the corner room and would have heard it from two streets.

The hotel has a restaurant for breakfast, and we would imagine Friday and Saturday night meals. The breakfasts were all you could eat, and there was a cost, something they could have made clearer. But we expected to pay, and we did with the final bill. It was a good value for the food we got.

They also have a lounge on the ground floor. We went down for coffee and cards and were entertained by the locals having a good time. It was fun, if not horribly smoky. It’s Europe, after all.

Last note, they had internet in the lounge. It was free, which was a bonus. It was a little difficult signing on with the staff not really knowing how to do it. With a little finagling, we worked through the problem.

Hotel Polo was definitely a value stop on our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WorldTravel1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

This a very nice hotel in the middle of a very cute town. The room was very clean, and the breakfast (included) was very nice. You can walk everywhere in this small twon from this hotel. The only drawback is the parking, which is pretty expensive. Thre are plenty of restaurants close by.
There is a lounge where you can relax, and also use the internet (free).

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LovestotravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We staied in Polo hotel for one night. It has convenient location and clean, large room. The bathroom is also wonderful.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We spent 2 nights here. This is a typical old fashioned Spanish hotel near to everything. Spotlessly clean. Bar/lounge was a lovely place to relax in the evening. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bedding clean, lashings of hot water and joy of joys a bath. I hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank heblady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

We stayed for three nights at this Hotel in November 2008 and found this centrally located Hotel convenient for visiting the town and in a location where it was fairly easy to get the hire car in and out of the town when we visited the White Villages.
The only criticism we have of this Hotel is that the room fittings and the bedding were fairly shabby and were in serious need of undating and replacement.
We would recommend eating at Dona Pepa in Plaza del Socorro just round the corner from the Hotel, the food was particularly good and reasonably priced, we were given a glass of Madiera and Tapas when we arrived and a selection of local liquers after we had finished our meal.
We had a delicious selection of Tapas at Bar Faustino which is in Calle Santa Cecilia off Plaza de Carmen Abuela.
Try and visit the Palacio de Mondragon, it is a beautiful building with outstanding views and been set up as a very interesting Museum which puts the history of Ronda and the surrounding area into context.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank di947red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

My wife and I booked four nights at the Hotel Polo for a Half Term break. We hired a car at Malaga Airport and so we wanted somewhere that had provision for car parking. The hotel is in the new town but only a few minutes walk from the New Bridge (Puente Nuevo) and the Old Town. Our Sat Nav took us straight to the door where there is reserved parking for unloading. Cars are parked around the back of the hotel in the underground public car park. The hotel has an agreement for discounted rates. Take the ticket to reception, they will stamp it and when you leave the car park there is no charge. The hotel bills you instead at their cheaper rate.

Driving in Ronda is ok. The roads are very narrow but most are one way and traffic moves very slowly.

Our room was on the third floor. It was excellent - roomy, clean and with a large bathroom that had a bidet as well as over the bath shower. It was quiet in spite of fronting onto the street. The beds were hard to our tastes but I find that most hotel beds are.

Reception staff were helpful and polite and spoke sufficient English for all our needs. The lounge/bar was modern and spacious but smelt of smoke. Spain does not yet have a no smoking policy in public places.

The hotel restaurant was closed during our stay but there are a multiutude of reasonably priced places to eat in the Plaza de Socorro just behind the hotel (this is the location of the car park)

The location of the hotel is excellent. All the places you would want to see in Ronda are within easy walking distance and the Old Town is delightful. We had a day and a half in Ronda and then drove out into the surrounding mountains for day visits.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen2853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#19 of 40 in Ronda
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 40 in Ronda
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Francisco - Ronda
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polo Hotel

Address: Calle Padre Mariano Soubiron 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: $46 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Este agradable hotel de gestion familiar esta situado en pleno centro de Ronda lo que te permitira conocer andando todo lo que este precioso pueblo ofrece; monumentos, callejones, gastronomia, vistas espectaculares... Todas nuestras habitaciones guardan el mismo ambiente y decoracion, el blanco y el azul destacan en el Hotel Polo, pero su distribucion y sus diferentes tamanos nos permiten ofrecer distintos tipos de habitacion con distintos tamanos de cama y diferente capacidad. El hotel dispone de wifi gratuito en habitaciones y en zonas comunes, un estupendo salon y una moderna cafeteria donde se ofrece desayuno tipo buffet que puedes incluir en tu reserva o degustar nuestra magnifica pasteleria. Para los que vienen en coche: delante del hotel disponemos de una zona de uso exclusivo para nuestros clientes donde podeis aparcar mientras os registrais y dejais vuestro equipaje. En recepcion os explicaremos como llegar al Parking Publico con el que tenemos un acuerdo y donde podeis estacionar vuestro vehiculo muy cerca y a muy buen precio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polo Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing