We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spice Route - CLOSED

The Spice Route
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sedella
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We visited this restaurant while on a trip to Ronda. We had read previous reviews and we were not disappointed by the service or the standard of the food. Everything was lovely and freshly cooked with generous portions and reasonable prices. We wish them well and would highly recommend The Spice Route to anyone who fancies a meat free meal. We will certainly visit again when in th area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 942sunnysedella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    34
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy to find vegetables!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

After week in Spain, we were a little weary of meat and fish heavy tapas menus. We were delighted to stumble upon this stylish restaurant for lunch. Everything was fresh and so good. When we inquired, the owner was kind enough to share how he came to open a vegetarian restaurant! We wish him success!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalomo, Zambia
1 review
“Nice find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a week and a half in Spain, this made-from-scratch, all veg restuarant was a great change of pace. Excellent food, with everything (including tortilla chips, pita bread, etc.) made when you order. For that level of freshness, you end up waiting a bit longer than you may want, but its worth it. The owner started the place in August of 2013, and he was born in Mexico and traveled a lot, learning how to cook local dishes as he went.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service made the experience very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We visited the beautiful town of Ronda while vacationing in southern Spain. This restaurant is clean, the one server tried his best, and the food is delicious. However, we arrived at 1:30 PM., placed our order (nothing difficult) and were not served our main course for lunch until 3:00 PM. Unfortunately, only my husband and daughter received their meal. Mine finally arrived at 3:30 PM., too late to enjoy. The restaurant subtracted the price of my meal from the bill, but the experience was very disappointing, as we were only visiting Ronda for the afternoon. Afterwards, we rushed through a couple attractions in order to leave the town by 5:00 PM. Those who have visited Ronda will understand, for driving down the steep mountain roads wasn't a task my husband wanted to navigate at night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jpianoshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotogrande, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful veggie food and fab service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

On a recent family trip to Ronda we stumbled across this gem of a restaurant. My step-mum is a vegetarian so it seemed like the best option for her in the area. Despite the rest of us being meat eaters, the food was an overwhelming success with us all. It was beautifully executed and presented, and the flavors were fantastic. Their moussaka was the best I've ever had!
To compliment the great food, was a friendly and sweet waiter who spoke perfect English and was happy to do so (not always the case in this area!). His service was impeccable.
Highly recommended - definitely the best vegetarian food I've ever eaten. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpiceRoute, Propietario at The Spice Route, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience. Im sure this will help others not to be afraid of veggie food (vegetables dont bite humans, ha ha). Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Route also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing