We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal, superb service!”
Review of Meson El Sacristan

Meson El Sacristan
Ranked #14 of 294 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located at the very heart of the historic center of ronda next to the real colegiata de santa maria la mayor. Our speciality is meats grilled in a wood burning oven. Non stop cooking. Our day off is on wednesday. In winter we close also tuesday night.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Cantabrian anchovies, Iberian Ham, Rare beef cooked in a Wood Smoke Oven, Glazed Pig cheeks in a sweet sauce with Chestnut mash... what's not to like? The owner and staff very very attentive without being overbearing, very friendly and helpful with the wines and menu. Wonderful location and even though we were there in late October, there were still a good few well heeled locals dining there. Very good value and not expensive. We will return when next in Ronda.

1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Jesús M, Propietario at Meson El Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you very much to take time to write what you think about our restaurant. Everything you say is petrol tol carry on working happy. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 301 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very nice and personalised service. You can get things that are not on the menu (they composed a taster of tapas for us, for example). Great meats from the stone-oven (I never tried goat before - it was great). Both the owner and the waiter had time to explain things, we felt very welcome and spent a nice romantic evening here. Imaginative choice of foods, just on the desserts they could do a bit better. There is a digestive on the house - nice gesture. And extra advice: Try the wines from the Ronda region. You can't get them anywhere else, because the vineyards are still small. They are well worth a try, and if you - like us - take some home with you, compare prices, we found differences of up to 5 Euro per bottle in different shops, and some give discounts if you buy a whole box of six.
Unlike many other restaurants, this one was also nicely lit, and one did not have to watch a TV in the corner... good place for a romantic celebration.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MK1Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Jesús M, Propietario at Meson El Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your coments and your constructive critic about dessert. I will improve them. Thanks again for your time and I hope to see you again in our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were in ronda for a couple of nights and checked out FB for restaurants near to our hotel. This one came up so thought it was worth a look, we were not disappointed Andres( i think) made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for him, an asset to the restaurant. Eva the owner was also very nice, with the same friendly attitude and good advice about the food.
The meat is cooked in a wood burning oven and is perfect, great flavour and unpretentious food.
After wondering around the restaurants in ronda the next night we decided to go back, it was great again. Had a great bottle of Red and lovely food. Spilled coffee on my trousers and Andres whiped out some cleaning stuff and went to work.... Nothing too much trouble.
Take the trouble to find this place if you don't like the tourist haunts with pictures of food around the bullring and surrounding streets.
Set just off the square of Plaza de Duquesa, on the way to the San Francisco area of ronda.
I will return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank northwesthombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Jesús M, Propietario at Meson El Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Eva, Andrés and the rest of staff, thank you to take time to write such a beautiful words. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This restaurant is a very good option in Ronda.

We dined it in the late evening in mid-September and by that time of the year there is a slight nipple-stiffening chill in the air by 11pm.

We ordered the Embutidos (generous serving and well sourced) and Calamares (well cooked and fresh) to start with.

Mains were even better with a very good oxtail (Rabo de Toro) and pork cheek (Carrillada) with a rich Pedro Ximenez based sauce and chestnut stuffing.

This is a good, reliable restaurant located in one of the most tranquil plaza’s in Ronda. Don’t come here thinking it is ‘exceptional’ but it is good and competitively priced. In a town with very few reasonable eating options (the wonderful ‘de locos tapas’ aside) it should be commended for standing out from the touristy crowd without being ridiculously expensive.

Staff were welcoming and service was as faultless as their English.

Regarding one of the other reviews: -

“I felt it was below my dignity to haggle with the waiter, but at least I can vent my frustration writing this review. If you want an honest place, and not be treated like a sucker, go elsewhere.” – this is one of the problems with Tripadvisor. If you have an issue with a service provided by a hotel / restaurant then you should take it up with the staff / management personally and give them the opportunity to deal with the problem. If you are unwilling to do this then you should not deduct ‘marks’ without the business having the right to remedy the situation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Thuram T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Jesús M, Propietario at Meson El Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you very much first because your coments about meal and staff, and second to think like you think about how to do things better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stunning historical location, the owner Antonio is helpful and advised us to try meats cooked using his wood burning oven. The chicken and pork were superb the flavour enhanced by the method of cooking the vegetables were beautifully cooked. Antonio also recommended potatoes and peppers cooked in olive oil absolutely delicious. I would definately return and found the prices reasonable. The service and staff were efficient and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gask1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson El Sacristan also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Meson El Sacristan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing