We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic with Stunning Views”
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montelirio
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic with Stunning Views”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Absolutely beautiful. From the moment you walk in the lobby to the rooms, this place is a gorgeous historical palace once owned by Spanish nobility. Wonderful service, lovely and spacious rooms with stunning views. It has everything a modern hotel has plus the historical factor makes this a truly marvelous place. A+!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and you will get the most amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrArroyo2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    135
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
75
335
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lecanto
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The views of the gorge are stunning form the room (208 jr suite) and the two terraces. They are very friendly and the food is good although not great. The night we dined everyone came for dinner at 8.30 and with only 3 people serving it was a bit of a challenge. Still with views like this who cares? Located just yards from the famous bridge and all the action in the plazas beyond. The hotel has valet parking which is a great option. Drive 50 yards past the hotel where there is room for cars two cars to pass park there and walk back they will park it for you. Small pool located 3 floors down ... Would stay here again in same room cool period furniture and modern bathroom!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legend1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a gorgeous, reasonably priced small hotel with with fine service and friendly personnel. Our beautifully appointed room was comfortable with a breathtaking view of the gorge. The restaurant (same view) is world class and has several vegegtarian options, essential for us. First rate all the way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

An excellent hotel in the heart of the old town. Our room had a spectacular view overlooking the gorge. Wow! Room was modern, plenty large and comfortable. There is a hidden pool two floors below the lobby that is very pleasant. I say "hidden" because we saw no information about the pool anywhere in the hotel. Fortunately, another TA reviewer had mentioned it. Ronda is a beautifully situated, charming, but very quiet town, and only worth one night in our opinion.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BunkyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Everyone at this hotel was very welcoming and very helpful. Our room had an awesome view. We ordered room service our entire stay because we just didn't want to leave our room. We absolutely loved it. It was very clean and ample. Bathroom was very modern. Outstanding stay.

Room Tip: Select a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We (57 y.o. married couple) stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Montelirio in mid-June 2014, and thought it was great. The hotel is located right on the gorge, on Calle Tenorio, the first side street in the moorish district after you cross the Ponte Nueva. It's a small hotel in an old building with a small central atrium/court. The rear of the building features a cascading set of gorge-facing levels: The street level has a quality restaurant with a fabulous view from it's dining deck (we ate there one night, good food); one level below the street contains their breakfast room with another fabulous view (and a good €11 breakfast buffet with eggs cooked to order); two levels down is a sun deck with small pool and phone for ordering drinks, again with stunning gorge views.

Upon arriving we were offered the opportunity to upgrade our room to a larger room on the gorge side at a discounted rate. The offer was made pleasantly and without pressure. We asked to see our original room and the upgrade room and decided to keep our cheaper street-side room. The gorge side room was hot due to its western exposure, and while it had a spectacular view, we thought we'd likely have to keep the curtains closed to help keep it cool. Our street-side room and bathroom (108) were quite large; the desk clerk mentioned that they usually give the larger rooms to people who stay more than one night (there's a tip). It was more than adequate, and we felt that with all the common area views, a gorge-side room just wasn't necessary.

The hotel's decor is not super chic, but with some nice touches and clean and in good repair. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the desk clerk reviewed the sights on a map with us at check-in and suggested tapas bars, the waitress made sure I had a drink when I used the pool, and the restaurant maitre d' and waiters were enthusiastic and attentive. The hotel also responded promptly via e-mail in the week before we traveled when I wrote to verify my Hotels.com reservation made three months prior at a very reasonable rate. I would recommend the Hotel Montelirio to Ronda tourists and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birminghan,Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We spent a week in Andalusia and this was our favorite hotel. The view from the terrace is beyond description-one of the most breath-taking views ever. The staff were so accommodating. It is in the old part of town so there isn't room to park there. However we were given very clear instructions about where to park just a few (scenic) blocks away near one of the most beautiful little squares behind the cathedral. Once parked we could walk everywhere. And the restaurant! We dined right on the terrace. The view breathtaking, the service attentive and professional and the food fabulous. Rooms and beds excellent, quiet and comfortable. If you can afford it go for the upgrade for the view. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
1,773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#9 of 39 in Ronda
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Property: Hotel Montelirio
Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#6 Family Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing