We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“australian visitors”
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montelirio
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A fantastic location excellent resturarant . Food is of 5 star quality.so far best in southern Spain . Even if you are not lucky enough to have good night sleep in this beautiful hotel you must have meal here . Excellent

Stayed: May 2013
Thank vivvy848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 558 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you fancy a bit of peace and quiet then this is the place for you. Benajoan is a small village about five miles out of Ronda. Not much in the village apart from a few great bars and restaurants. Some great walks around the hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LondonPieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our two teeneagers in early April. I originally had booked another lovely hotel but when a friend who stayed here recommended Hotel Montelirio, I switched and I am so glad that I did. I am sure the other hotel is wonderful but we fell in love with this hotel based on the beautiful rooms with absolutely gorgeous views and the staff who were all wonderful. We also changed our dinner plans and ate at the hotel to enjoy the views and had a great dinner based on the food and our waiter who was so nice. We could only stay one night, unfortunately, and when we checked out the next day, we had missed the breakfast time but the woman at the front desk told us not to worry and she personally made us a full breakfast including omelets before getting our car for us in pouring rain...unbelievable! We truly hope to return to Ronda sometime soon and we will absolutely stay at Hotel Montelirio!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room overlooking the gorge. It is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTravelTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked three days in this hotel. We requested a quiet room and got a room facing the street. The rooms facing the river gorge are much more scenic, but that wasn't a big issue for us. The room was lovely, quiet, luxurious and clean with a very nice bathroom with a good powerful shower. We had a lovely time and a good rest.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night and had a very good evening (see separate review).
The only issue we had was at reception when we were checking in, we got a very frosty 'welcome' and a very cursory and curt tour of our room and its facilities. Maybe it was because we were carrying rucksacks (we had planned to go trekking in the Saharan desert, but because of the atrocity committed at the oil well in the south of Algeria, the government closed the national parks and our trek was off, hence plan B - Andalucia in Spain and the need to carry around redundant packs). But, hey, there is no need for that. The receptionist is in the hospitality industry and a hospitable welcome would have been nice. We were real live paying customers We are polite and expect others to be polite in turn. The other two receptionists we encountered during our stay were very nice as was the cleaning lady.

Despite the slightly off putting welcome, this hotel is lovely, luxe, quiet, clean and restful. We like it, a lot - recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a stunning view, ask for a room facing the river gorge (apparently you have to pay more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janev_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A delightful hotel set in the older part of the town on one of the narrow streets of that area. The restaurant has excellent views over the gorge and surrounding countryside. We ate at a nearby restaurant and witnessed a stunning sunset that would have been seen from most of the hotel aswell. The staff were excellent and the whole place felt relaxing. The room was a good size, very comfortable with good en-suite bathroom. There is no room for parking at the hotel but they have spaces in a local car park, It was easy to walk from the hotel to each side of the gorge and to the former bullring tourist attraction. We would definitely return when in Ronda.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dichorionic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

An excellent choice for a stay in Ronda. A 1.3km walk from the train station, mostly gently downhill on the way to the hotel. Lovely rooms, wonderful views, helpful and friendly staff and great food.
No complaints at all about my stay as a solo traveller, although I probably wouldn't stay here if I had my young children in tow - the hotel's not really suited for families.
Would I stay again? YES, if it was just the wife and I!

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms with a view if they're available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkabout59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

No question you should opt for a room with a view, it's hard to come away from the window! Apart from that, the hotel has great character, the staff are very helpful and pleasant and it is situated in an ideal spot to explore Ronda, old town and new. Once you have managed to park the car in a car park you can wander at will along the atmospheric, narrow streets of the old town and take it all in.

Room Tip: Malaga room has fantastic view and is reasonable size with good bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulyn_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,374 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: $109 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing