We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montelirio
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

No question you should opt for a room with a view, it's hard to come away from the window! Apart from that, the hotel has great character, the staff are very helpful and pleasant and it is situated in an ideal spot to explore Ronda, old town and new. Once you have managed to park the car in a car park you can wander at will along the atmospheric, narrow streets of the old town and take it all in.

Room Tip: Malaga room has fantastic view and is reasonable size with good bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulyn_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montelirio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 526 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We initially had a regular room and decided a room with a view was worth the upgrade - it was! The hotel only had a room with a view available for one of the nights we planned to stay there and they were helpful to give us some options to try to meet our request. We ended up taking the upgrade to the junior suite.

The room was beautiful - hardwood and wrought-iron fixtures and the lookout over the bridge and the gorge was absolutely stunning. What we hadn't expected was that we would hear the rush of the waterfall so we left the window open and fell asleep to the sound that night.

The staff was friendly and helpful and they switched into English as soon as they realized it was stronger than our Spanish. It was very welcoming.

The location was great with respect to getting to the train station / bus station / downtown / walking down the gorge. It was absolutely worth every penny and we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gorge
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goingawaynow l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A fantastic location perched on the top of a cliff with views across to the other side of the gorge. The hotel is located a short walk across the bridge from the main town and is close to a number of attractions including the Museum in Mondragon's Palace (well worth a visit)

We had originally booked a cheaper room on the street side with no view - but upgraded on arrival to a lovely room. Parking was a bit a distance, but not a big deal unless you have a large car – some of the streets were very narrow.

The room and view turned a good stay into a great stay. This hotel has a lot of character

In summary, go for a room with a view, be prepared to pay extra for it and yes, it is worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - views are only on one side of the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

From start to finish, our stay at Montelirio was a delight. Our car was parked for us as we checked in, and collected as we checked out. We had nothing but pleasant dealings with staff who were very attentive but discreet. The property is beautiful and has been kept in immaculate condition. Views from our 'Malaga' room and from the restaurant are stunning. We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary, and a complementary gourmet fruit platter was provided on our second day - a nice touch.
Montelirio is highly recommended and maybe we'll think about making the trip back from Australia for our 10th anniversary!

Room Tip: Our 'Malaga' room was very private and separate from the other rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Probably the nicest property for the price ever visited! Lovely antique furniture and fittings, cosy corners, helpful staff, good restaurant and convientant to everything! Get a view room - worth every penny!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a view room and try the dinning room - very good service and food! Fish is always g...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a great find! Right on the edge of the gorge, 2 minutes from the bridge down a quiet side street. Front desk staffed by Angela who couldn't have been more helpful - giving us driving directions, bringing us free pastries with our afternoon tea. Nice breakfast (might get busy if the hotel is full) with the best chocolate muffins I've ever eaten (and I've eaten a lot of chocolate muffins!)

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room with a view of the gorge - we had room 101 which was very qui...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkinnycatYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely old hotel beautifully renovated. Close by the famous gorge so central for a walk around Ronda. Restaurant has views across the gorge. Car parking is done by hotel staff who will drive your car to a nearby garage once you have unloaded your bags. Very narrow street so you do block traffic while loading/unloading but this is the norm and not really an issue. Staff very helpful and everything about the hotel is done with taste and style.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinrouge63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 40 in Ronda
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 40 in Ronda
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#6 Family Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: $110 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing