We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, quiet rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Montelirio
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, quiet rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

A friend and I stayed here for 1 night and loved it--I wish we could've stayed longer. The location is perfect--right next to the Puente Nuevo, overlooking the gorge. Our room was small but cute. It was also quiet, despite the fact that it faced the street and not the gorge. There are several terraces and a small pool (it's very cold and great for cooling off). We spent many happy hours on the lower terrace, sitting on lounge chairs, drinking tinto de verano and gazing at the gorge. The view at sunset was particularly spectacular. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    128
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
66
319
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I couldn't decide- pay the extra for the view or not. I did it! And I suggest you do too! This was definitely the most expensive hotel we stayed at during our three weeks but it was worth it. The view was stunning...and a little scary for someone, like me, who has issues with heights. It was beautiful and an experience. So even though I had nightmares for both nights that I was falling off a cliff, I would definitely recommend it! The pool was chilly as were the coffees we ordered pool side. The service was great and the location was excellent. Book parking ahead if you require it and thankfully they even parked our car for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

First thing - Book Parking in advance - it would be a lot harder without it and I would also recommend sat-nav as I would not like to drive the narrow streets without it.
Onto the hotel, from the outside and even in the reception it is cute but nothing special - courtyard type set up with about 4 floors, small boutique feel. The staff on arrival were great and helped with parking the car in their lock up about 30 meters away - it's only when you walk through to the restaurant though that you get the full picture - amazing views, really incredible location for a hotel.
Our room wasn'nt ready but they sat us in the restaurant with a free drink whilst we waited (it should have been ready as we arrived 2pm on the dot, don't know if that was a perk as our room was late) and we had no complaints taking in the view. Room was great with cot for baby, nice bathroom, lots of character and that view again. Staff were helpful, location was perfect for wandering into Ronda - just a great hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

The hotel had a fabulous setting and the best service in every part of the hotel that I've ever encountered. The hotel had an air of tranquility and coolness, very welcome relief from the heat and bustle of Ronda. We ate in the restaurant - not cheap but with a view to die for and excellent food and wine. This is an experience not to be missed - book a room with a view and eat in the restaurant, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The rooms can be chosen individually from the hotel web-site. Pay the extra for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iain999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed in the Marrakesh room for 160 euro per night. What a deal! Unbelievable views! I was worried about the decor from the on line pics, but it was very nice. The hotel as a whole is lovely, very intimate but posh at an excellent price. If I had to criticize something it would be that the pool is small (tiny really), and that they didn't let us sit on the terraace for drinks. Otherwise the service was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Get the Marrakesh or any room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CALookingForParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manly
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We had a Tajo room which overlooked the bridge and the river it could not have been better. It was in the old part of town but just across the bridge was the newer part with even more bars restaurants and shopping. Staff were very helpful and generous when we had to wait for our train. -some free sangria and tapas. The pool was situated on the cliff edge and the view was even spectacular from here. Magical.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManlyGriswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We knew Ronda would be a great stop on our tour, but we were really blown away with Hotel Montelirio. ThIs hotel is perched on the edge of a very high cliff wall overlooking the countryside below and the old bridge Ronda is famous for. our Jr Suite room faced this incredible vista and was super clean, with bedroom loft, generous bathroom, full sized living room balcony situated in a 17th century Villa. The service was warm, friendly and truly helpful (dinner, sights recommendations) ask for the Jr suite, room service was a bit slow, so just go to the terrace dining area for a better spread and insane views. We will be back no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Property: Hotel Montelirio
Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#6 Family Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing